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State of California 

BOARD OF EQUALIZATION 

PROPERTY TAX RULES 

Chapter 1. State Board of Equalization - Property Tax 
Subchapter 3. Local Equalization 
Article 1. Hearing by County Board 

Rule 301. DEFINITIONS AND GENERAL PROVISIONS. 

Authority Cited: Section 15606(c), Government Code. 

Reference: Sections 110, 110.1, 110.5, 1601, 1603 et seq., Revenue and Taxation Code; Section 31000.6, Government Code. 

The provisions set forth in this regulation govern the construction of this subchapter. 

(a) "County" is the county or city and county wherein the property is located that is the subject of the 
proceedings under this subchapter. 

(b) "Assessor" is the assessor of the county. 

(c) "Auditor'' is the auditor of the county. 

(d) "Board" is the board of equalization or assessment appeals board of the county. 

(e) "Chair'' is the chair of the county board of equalization or assessment appeals board. 

(f) "Clerk" is the clerk of the county board of equalization or assessment appeals board. 

(g) "Person affected" or "party affected" is any person or entity having a direct economic interest in the 
payment of property taxes on the property for the valuation date that is the subject of the proceedings 
under this subchapter, including the property owner, a lessee required by the property lease to pay the 
property taxes, and a property owner who acquires an ownership interest after the lien date if the new 
owner is also responsible for payment of property taxes for the lien date that is the subject of the applica­
tion. 

(h) "Full cash value" or "fair market value" is the value provided in sections 110 and 110.1 of the Revenue 
and Taxation Code. 

(i) "Restricted value" is a value standard other than full cash value prescribed by the Constitution or by 
statute authorized by the Constitution. 

(j) "Full value" is either the full cash value or the restricted value. 

(k) "Equalization" is the determination by the board of the correct full value for the property that is the 
subject of the hearing. 

(I) "County legal advisor'' is the county counsel of the county, or the district attorney of the county if there 
is no county counsel, and the City Attorney of the City and County of San Francisco, or outside counsel 
specifically retained to advise the county board of equalization or assessment appeals board. 

(m) "Authorized agent" is one who is directly authorized by the applicant to represent the applicant in an 
assessment appeals proceeding. 

History: Adopted May 11, 1967, effective June 11, 1967. 

Amended July 27, 1982, effective December 30, 1982. 

Amended January 5 2000 effective April 22 2000. 



State of California 

BOARD OF EQUALIZATION 

PROPERTY TAX RULES 

Chapter 1. State Board of Equalization - Property Tax 
Subchapter 3. Local Equalization 
Article 1. Hearing by County Board 

Rule 305.1. EXCHANGE OF INFORMATION. 

Authority Cited: Section 15606(c), Government Code. 

Reference: Sections 408, 441, 1606, 1609.4, Revenue and Taxation Code. 

(a) REQUEST FOR INFORMATION. When the assessed value of the property involved, before deduction of 
any exemption accorded the property, is $100,000 or less, the applicant may file a written request for an exchange 
of information with the assessor; and when the assessed value before deduction of any exemption exceeds 
$100,000, either the applicant or the assessor may request such an exchange. The request may be filed with the 
clerk at the time an application for hearing is filed or may be submitted to the other party and the clerk at any time 
prior to 20 days before the commencement of the hearing. The clerk shall, at the earliest opportunity, forward any 
request filed with the application or a copy thereof to the other party. The request shall contain the basis of the 
requesting party's opinion of value for each valuation date at issue and the following data: 

(1) COMPARABLE SALES DATA. If the opinion of value is to be supported with evidence of comparable 
sales, the properties sold shall be described by the assessor's parcel number, street address or legal description 
sufficient to identify them. With regard to each property sold there shall be presented the approximate date of sale, 
the price paid, the terms of sale (if known), and the zoning of the property. 

(2) INCOME DATA. If the opinion of value is to be supported with evidence based on an income study, there 
shall be presented: the gross income, the allowable expenses, the capitalization method (direct capitalization or 
discounted cash flow analysis), and rate or rates employed. 

(3) COST DATA. If the opinion of value is to be supported with evidence of replacement cost, there shall be 
presented: 

(A) With regard to improvements to real property: the date of construction, type of construction, and 
replacement cost of construction. 

(B) With regard to machinery and equipment: the date of installation, replacement cost, and any history 
of extraordinary use. 

(C) With regard to both improvements and machinery and equipment: facts relating to depreciation, 
including any functional or economic obsolescence, and remaining economic life. 

The information exchanged shall provide reasonable notice to the other party concerning the subject matter of 
the evidence or testimony to be presented at the hearing. There is no requirement that the details of the evidence 
or testimony to be introduced must be exchanged. 

(b} TRANSMITTAL OF DATA TO OTHER PARTY. If the party requesting an exchange of data under the 
preceding subsection has submitted the data required therein within the specified time, the other party shall 
submit a response to the initiating party and to the clerk at least 10 days prior to the hearing. The response shall 
be supported with the same type of data required of the requesting party. When the assessor is the respondent, 
he or she shall submit the response to the address shown on the application or on the request for exchange of 
information, whichever is filed later. 



RULE 305.1. (Continued) 

(c) PROHIBITED EVIDENCE; NEW MATERIAL; CONTINUANCE. Whenever information has been ex­
changed pursuant to this regulation, the parties may introduce evidence only on matters pertaining to the 
information so exchanged unless the other party consents to introduction of other evidence. However, at the 
hearing, each party may introduce new material relating to the information received from the other party. If a party 
introduces such new material at the hearing, the other party, upon request, shall be granted a continuance for 
a reasonable period of time. 

(d} NONRESPONSE TO REQUEST FOR INFORMATION. If one party initiates a request for information and 
the other party does not comply within the time specified in subsection (b), the board may grant a postponement 
for a reasonable period of time. The postponement shall extend the time for responding to the request. If the board 
finds willful noncompliance on the part of the noncomplying party, the hearing will be convened as originally 
scheduled and the noncomplying party may comment on evidence presented by the other party but shall not be 
permitted to introduce other evidence unless the other party consents to such introduction. 

History: Adopted May 6, 1970, effective June 6, 1970. 

Amended May 5, 1971, effective June 10, 1971. 

Amended June 13, 1974, effective June 14, 1974. 

Amended July 27, 1982, effective February 10, 1983. 

Amended January 5 2000 effective April 22 2000. 
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State of California 

BOARD OF EQUALIZATION 

PROPERTY TAX RULES 

Chapter 1. State Board of Equalization - Property Tax 
Subchapter 3. Local Equalization 
Article 1. Hearing by County Board 

Rule 309. HEARING. 

Authority Cited: Section 15606(c), Government Code. 

Reference: Sections 441, 1603, 1604, 1606, 1624.4, 1641.1, 1641.2, Revenue and Taxation Code. 

(a) In counties having a population in excess of 4,000,000, on the fourth Monday in September of each 
year, the board shall meet to equalize the assessment of property on the local roll and shall continue to 
meet for that purpose from time to time until the business of equalization is disposed of. In all other 
counties, the board shall meet on the third Monday in July and shall continue to meet until the business of 
equalization is disposed of. All hearings before the board shall be conducted in the manner provided in 
this subchapter. Nothing herein requires the board to conduct hearings prior to the final day for filing 
applications. 

(b) A hearing must be held and a final determination made on the application within two years of the 
timely filing of an application for reduction in assessment submitted pursuant to subdivision (a) of section 
1603 of the Revenue and Taxation Code, unless the applicant or the applicant's agent and the board 
mutually agree in writing or on the record to an extension of time. 

(c) If the hearing is not held and a determination is not made within the time specified in subsection (b) of 
this regulation, the applicant's opinion of value stated in the application shall be conclusively determined by 
the board to be the basis upon which property taxes are to be levied, except when: 

(1) The applicant has not filed a timely and complete application; or, 

(2) The applicant has not submitted a full and complete property statement as required by law with 
respect to the property which is the subject of the application; or, 

(3) The applicant has not complied fully with a request for the exchange of information under regula­
tion 305.1 of this subchapter or with the provisions of subdivision (d) of section 441 of the Revenue and 
Taxation Code; or 

(4) Controlling litigation is pending. "Controlling litigation" is litigation which is: 

(A) pending in a state or federal court whose jurisdiction includes the county in which the applica­
tion is filed; and 

(B) directly related to an issue involved in the application, the court resolution of which would 
control the resolution of such issue at the hearing; or, 

(5) The applicant has initiated proceedings to disqualify a board member pursuant to Revenue and 
Taxation Code section 1624.4 within 90 days of the expiration of the two-year period required by Revenue 
and Taxation Code section 1604; or, 

(6) The applicant has requested that the hearing officer's recommendation be heard by the board 
pursuant to Revenue and Taxation Code section 1641.1, in those counties in which the board of supervi­
sors has adopted a resolution implementing section 1641.1, within 90 days of the expiration of the two-year 
period required by Revenue and Taxation Code section 1604. 



RULE 309. (Continued) 

For applications involving base year value appeals that have not been heard and decided by the end of the two­
year period provided in section 1604 of the Revenue and Taxation Code and where the two-year period has not 
been extended pursuant to subsections (b) or (c) of this regulation, the applicant's opinion of value will be entered 
on the assessment roll for the tax year or years covered by the pending application, and will remain on the roll 
until the fiscal year in which the board makes a final determination on the application. No increased or escape 
taxes other than those required by a change in ownership or new construction, or resulting from application of 
the inflation factor to the applicant's opinion of value shall be levied for the tax years during which the board fails 
to act. 

For applications appealing decline in value and personal property assessments that have not been heard and 
decided by the end of the two-year period provided in section 1604, the applicant's opinion of value will be enrolled 
on the assessment roll for the tax year or years covered by the pending application. 

(d) If the applicant has initiated proceedings pursuant to subsection (c)(5), or made a request pursuant to 
subsection (c)(6) of this regulation, the two-year time period described in subsection (b) shall be extended 90 
days. 

(e) The applicant shall not be denied a timely hearing and determination pursuant to subsection (b) of this 
regulation, by reason of any of the exceptions enumerated in subsection (c) herein, unless, within two 
years of the date of the application, the board, or the clerk at the direction of the board, gives the applicant 
and/or the applicant's agent written notice of such denial. The notice shall indicate the basis for the denial 
and inform the applicant of his or her right to protest the denial. If requested by the applicant or the 
applicant's agent, the clerk shall schedule a hearing on the validity of the application and shall so notify the 
applicant, the applicant's agent, and the assessor. 

When a hearing is postponed or not scheduled because controlling litigation is pending, the notice to the 
applicant shall identify the controlling litigation by the name of the case, the court number or the docket 
number of the case, and the court in which the litigation is pending. If a hearing is postponed because 
controlling litigation is pending, the hearing must be held and a final determination made within a period of 
two years after the application is filed, excluding the period of time between the notice of pending litigation 
and the date that the litigation becomes final. 

History: Adopted May 11, 1967, effective June 11, 1967. 

Amended June 13, 1974, effective June 14, 1974. 

Amended April 4, 1984, effective June 30, 1984. 

Amended June 25, 1997, effective September 6, 1997. 

Amended January 5 2000 effective April 22 2000. 

2 



State of California 

BOARD OF EQUALIZATION 

PROPERTY TAX RULES 

Chapter 1. State Board of Equalization - Property Tax 
Subchapter 3. Local Equalization 
Article 1. Hearing by County Board 

Rule 313. HEARING PROCEDURE. 

Authority Cited: Section 15606(c), Government Code. 

References: Article XIII A, California Constitution. Sections 110, 167, 1605.4, 1607, 1609, 1609.4, 1637, 
Revenue and Taxation Code. Section 664, Evidence Code. 

Hearings on applications shall proceed as follows: 

{a) The chair or the clerk shall announce the number of the application and the name of the applicant. The chair 
shall then determine if the applicant or the applicant's agent is present. If neither is present, the chair shall ascertain 
whether the clerk has notified the applicant of the time and place of the hearing. If the notice has been given and 
neither the applicant nor the applicant's agent is present, the application shall be denied for lack of appearance, or, 
for good cause of which the board is timely informed prior to the hearing date, the board may postpone the hearing. 
If the notice has not been given, the hearing shall be postponed to a later date and the clerk directed to give proper 
notice thereof to the applicant. 

The denial of an application for lack of appearance by the applicant, or the applicant's agent, is not a decision on the 
merits of the application and is not subject to the provisions of regulation 326 of this subchapter. The board of 
supervisors may adopt a procedure which authorizes reconsideration of the denial where the applicant furnishes 
evidence of good cause for the failure to appear or to make a timely request for postponement and files a written 
request for reconsideration within a period set by the board, not to exceed 60 days from the date of mailing of the 
notification of denial due to lack of appearance. Applicants who fail to request reconsideration within the period set, 
or whose requests for reconsideration are denied, may refile an appeal of the base year value during the next 
regular filing period in accordance with Revenue and Taxation Code section 80. 

{b) If the applicant or the applicant's agent is present, the chair or the clerk shall announce the nature of the 
application, the assessed value as it appears on the local roll and the applicant's opinion of the value of the property. 
The chair may request that either or both parties briefly describe the subject property, the issues the board will be 
requested to determine, and any agreements or stipulations agreed to by the parties. 

{c) In applications where the applicant has the burden of proof, the board shall require the applicant or the 
applicant's agent to present his or her evidence first, and then the board shall determine whether the applicant has 
presented proper evidence supporting his or her position. This is sometimes referred to as the burden of production. 
In the event the applicant has met the burden of production, the board shall then require the assessor to present his 
or her evidence. The board shall not require the applicant to present evidence first when the hearing involves: 

(1) A penalty portion of an assessment. 

(2) The assessment of an owner-occupied single-family dwelling or the appeal of an escape assessment, and 
the applicant has filed an application that provides all of the information required in regulation 305(c) of this 
subchapter and has supplied all information as required by law to the assessor. In those instances, the chair shall 
require the assessor to present his or her case to the board first. With respect to escape assessments, the 
presumption in favor of the applicant provided in regulation 321(b) of this subchapter does not apply to appeals 
resulting from situations where an applicant failed to file a change in ownership statement, a business property 
statement, or to obtain a permit for new construction. 

(3) A change in ownership and the assessor has not enrolled the purchase price, and the applicant has 
provided the change of ownership statement required by law. The assessor bears the burden of proving by a 
preponderance of the evidence that the purchase price, whether paid in money or otherwise, is not the full cash 
value of the property. 



RULE 313. (Continued) 

{d) All testimony shall be taken under oath or affirmation. 

{e) The hearing need not be conducted according to technical rules relating to evidence and witnesses. Any 
relevant evidence may be admitted if it is the sort of evidence on which responsible persons are accustomed to rely 
in the conduct of serious affairs. Failure to enter timely objection to evidence constitutes a waiver of the objection. 
The board may act only upon the basis of proper evidence admitted into the record. Board members or hearing 
officers may not act or decide an application based upon consideration of prior knowledge of the subject property, 
information presented outside of the hearing, or personal research. A full and fair hearing shall be accorded the 
application. There shall be reasonable opportunity for the presentation of evidence, for cross-examination of all 
witnesses and materials proffered as evidence, for argument, and for rebuttal. The party having the burden of proof 
shall have the right to open and close the argument. 

{f) When the assessor requests the board find a higher assessed value than he or she placed on the roll and offers 
evidence to support the higher value, the chair shall determine whether or not the assessor gave notice in writing to 
the applicant or the applicant's agent by personal delivery or by deposit in the United States mail directed to the 
address given on the application. If notice and a copy of the evidence offered has been supplied at least 10 days 
prior to the hearing, the assessor may introduce such evidence at the hearing. When the assessor proposes to 
introduce evidence to support a higher assessed value than the value on the roll, the assessor no longer has the 
presumption accorded in regulation 321 (a) of this subchapter and the assessor shall present evidence first at the 
hearing, unless the applicant has failed to supply all the information required by law to the assessor. The foregoing 
notice requirement shall not prohibit the board from a finding of a higher assessed value when it has not been 
requested by the assessor. 

{g) Hearings by boards and hearing officers shall be open, accessible, and audible to the public except that: 

(1) Upon conclusion of the evidentiary portion of the hearing, the board or hearing officer may take the matter 
under submission and deliberate in private in reaching a decision, and 

(2) The board or hearing officer may grant a request by the applicant or the assessor to close to the public a 
portion of the hearing relating to trade secrets. For purposes of this regulation, a "trade secret" is that information 
defined by section 3426.1 of the Civil Code. Such a request may be made by filing with the clerk a declaration under 
penalty of perjury that evidence is to be presented by the assessor or the applicant that relates to trade secrets 
whose disclosure to the public will be detrimental to the business interests of the owner of the trade secrets. The 
declaration shall state the estimated time it will take to present the evidence. Only evidence relating to the trade 
secrets may be presented during the time the hearing is closed, and such evidence shall be confidential unless 
otherwise agreed by the party to whom it relates. 

History: Adopted May 11, 1967, effective June 11, 1967. 

Amended October 4, 1967, effective October 5, 1967. 

Amended May 21, 1968, effective June 26, 1968. 

Amended November 20, 1968, effective November 22, 1968. 

Amended June 4, 1969, effective June 6, 1969. 

Amended May 6, 1970, effective June 6, 1970. 

Amended April 14, 1972, effective May 14, 1972. 

Amended June 7, 1973, effective July 15, 1973. 

Amended June 13, 197 4, effective June 14, 197 4. 

Amended November 4, 1976, effective January 1, 1977. 

Amended April 7, 1977, effective May 22, 1977, applicable to 1977 assessment appeals. 

Amended December 7, 1982, effective March 16, 1983. 

Amended November 14, 1984, effective March 1, 1985. 

Amended January 5 2000 effective April 22 2000. 
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State of California 

BOARD OF EQUALIZATION 

PROPERTY TAX RULES 

Chapter 1. State Board of Equalization - Property Tax 
Subchapter 3. Local Equalization 
Article 1. Hearing by County Board 

Rule 317. PERSONAL APPEARANCE BY APPLICANT; APPEARANCE BY AGENT. 

Authority Cited: Section 15606(c), Government Code. 

Reference: Section 1601, 1607, 1608, Revenue and Taxation Code. 

(a) The applicant must appear personally at the hearing or be represented by an agent, unless the applicant's 
appearance has been waived by the board in accordance with regulation 316 of this subchapter. If the 
applicant is represented by an agent, the agent shall be thoroughly familiar with the facts pertaining to the 
matter before the board. 

(b) (1) If the application was filed by the applicant, any person (other than a California licensed attorney 
retained by the applicant or a person mentioned in subsections (c), (d) except an agent, or (e)) who appears 
at the hearing purporting to act as agent for the applicant shall first file with the clerk a written authorization, 
signed by the applicant, to represent the applicant at the hearing. 

(2) If at the hearing the applicant is represented by a person other than the person who was originally 
authorized by the applicant to appear at the hearing, that person shall present to the board a written 
authorization signed by the applicant indicating the applicant's consent to the change in representation. 

(3) The written authorization required pursuant to this regulation shall include the information required 
by regulation 305(a) of this subchapter and shall clearly state that the agent is authorized by the applicant to 
appear at hearings before the board. 

(c) If the property is held in joint or common ownership or in co-ownership, the presence of the applicant or 
any one of the owners shall constitute a sufficient appearance. 

(d) Where the applicant is a corporation, limited partnership, or a limited liability company, the business 
entity shall make an appearance by the presence of any officer, employee, or an authorized agent, thor­
oughly familiar with the facts pertaining to the matter before the board. 

(e) A husband may appear for his wife, or a wife for her husband, and sons or daughters for parents or vice versa. 

(f) If an agent is previously authorized by the applicant to file an application, no further authorization is required 
for that agent to represent the applicant at the subsequent hearing. 

History: Adopted May 11, 1967, effective June 11, 1967. 

Amended May 7, 1986, effective August 15, 1986. 

Amended January 5 2000 effective April 22 2000. 



State of California 

BOARD OF EQUALIZATION 

PROPERTY TAX RULES 

Chapter 1. State Board of Equalization - Property Tax 
Subchapter 3. Local Equalization 
Article 1. Hearing by County Board 

Rule 321. BURDEN OF PROOF. 

Authority Cited: Section 15606(c), Government Code. 

Reference: Sections 110, 167, 1601 et seq., Revenue and Taxation Code; 
Section 664, Evidence Code. 

(a) Subject to exceptions set by law, it is presumed that the assessor has properly performed his or her duties. 
The effect of this presumption is to impose upon the applicant the burden of proving that the value on the 
assessment roll is not correct, or, where applicable, the property in question has not been otherwise correctly 
assessed. The law requires that the applicant present independent evidence relevant to the full value of the 
property or other issue presented by the application. 

(b) If the applicant has presented evidence, and the assessor has also presented evidence, then the board must 
weigh all of the evidence to determine whether it has been established by a preponderance of the evidence that 
the assessor's determination is incorrect. The presumption that the assessor has properly performed his or her 
duties is not evidence and shall not be considered by the board in its deliberations. 

(c) The assessor has the burden of establishing the basis for imposition of a penalty assessment. 

(d) Exceptions to subsection (a) apply in any hearing involving the assessment of an owner-occupied single­
family dwelling or an escape assessment. In such instances, the presumption in section 167 of the Revenue and 
Taxation Code affecting the burden of proof in favor of the applicant who has supplied all information to the 
assessor as required by law imposes upon the assessor the duty of rebutting the presumption by the submission 
of evidence supporting the assessment. 

(e) In hearings involving change in ownership, except as provided in section 110 of the Revenue and Taxation 
Code, the purchase price is rebuttably presumed to be the full cash value. The party seeking to rebut the 
presumption bears the burden of proof by a preponderance of the evidence. 

(f) In weighing evidence, the board shall apply the same evidentiary standard to the testimony and documentary 
evidence presented by the applicant and the assessor. No greater relief may be granted than is justified by the 
evidence produced during the hearing. 

History: Adopted May 11, 1967, effective June 11, 1967. 

Amended October 4, 1967, effective October 5, 1967. 

Amended November 20, 1968, effective November 22, 1968. 

Amended April 14, 1972, effective May 14, 1972. 

Amended November 4, 1976, effective January 1, 1977. 

Amended July 27, 1982, effective February 10, 1983. 

Amended January 5 2000 effective April 22 2000. 



State of California 

BOARD OF EQUALIZATION 

PROPERTY TAX RULES 

Chapter 1. State Board of Equalization - Property Tax 
Subchapter 3. Local Equalization 
Article 1. Hearing by County Board 

Rule 305.2. PREHEARING CONFERENCE. 

Authority Cited: Section 15606(c), Government Code. 

Reference: Article XIII, Section 16, California Constitution; Section 1601 et seq., Revenue and Taxation Code. 

(a) A county board of supervisors may establish prehearing conferences. If prehearing conferences are 
established, the county board of supervisors shall adopt rules of procedure for prehearing conferences. A 
prehearing conference may be set by the clerk at the request of the applicant or the applicant's agent, the 
assessor, or at the direction of the appeals board. The purpose of a prehearing conference is to resolve 
issues such as, but not limited to, clarifying and defining the issues, determining the status of exchange of 
information requests, stipulating to matters on which agreement has been reached, combining applications 
into a single hearing, bifurcating the hearing issues, and scheduling a date for a hearing officer or the 
board to consider evidence on the merits of the application. 

(b) The clerk of the board shall set the matter for a prehearing conference and notify the applicant or the 
applicant's agent and the assessor of the time and date of the conference. Notice of the time, date, and 
place of the conference shall be given not less than 30 days prior to the conference, unless the assessor 
and the applicant stipulate orally or in writing to a shorter notice period. 

History: Adopted January 5 2000 effective April 22 2000. 



State of California 

BOARD OF EQUALIZATION 

PROPERTY TAX RULES 

Chapter 1. State Board of Equalization - Property Tax 
Subchapter 3. Local Equalization 
Article 1. Hearing by County Board 

Rule 302. THE BOARD'S FUNCTION AND JURISDICTION. 

Authority Cited: Section 15606, Government Code. 

Reference: Sections 531.1, 1603, 1604, 1605.5, 1613, Revenue and Taxation Code. 

(a) The functions of the board are: 

(1) To lower, sustain, or increase upon application, or to increase after giving notice when no applica­
tion has been filed, individual assessments in order to equalize assessments on the local tax assessment 
roll, 

(2) To determine the full value and, where appealed, the base year value of the property that is the 
subject of the hearing, 

(3) To hear and decide penalty assessments, and to review, equalize, and adjust escaped assess­
ments on that roll except escaped assessments made pursuant to Revenue and Taxation Code section 
531.1, 

(4) To determine the classification of the property that is the subject of the hearing, including classifi­
cations within the general classifications of real property, improvements, and personal property. Such 
classifications may result in the property so classified being exempt from property taxation. 

(5) To determine the allocation of value to property that is the subject of the hearing, and 

(6) To exercise the powers specified in sections 1605.5 and 1613 of the Revenue and Taxation Code. 

(b) Except as provided in subdivision (a)(4), the board has no jurisdiction to grant or deny exemptions or 
to consider allegations that claims for exemption from property taxes have been improperly denied. 

(c) The board acts in a quasi-judicial capacity and renders its decision only on the basis of proper 
evidence presented at the hearing. 

History: Adopted May 11, 1967, effective June 11, 1967. 

Amended May 21, 1968, effective June 26, 1968. 

Amended June 4, 1969, effective June 6, 1969. 

Amended May 5, 1971, effective June 10, 1971. 

Amended December 17, 1975, effective January 25, 1976. 

Amended January 6 2000 effective April 22 2000. 



State of California 

BOARD OF EQUALIZATION 

PROPERTY TAX RULES 

Chapter 1. State Board of Equalization - Property Tax 
Subchapter 3. Local Equalization 
Article 1. Hearing by County Board 

Rule 305.5. BASE YEAR VALUE PRESUMPTION. 

Authority Cited: Section 15606, Government Code. 

Reference: Sections 80, 81, 110.1, 1603, 1605, Revenue and Taxation Code. 

(a) The appeals board decision that the full cash value, as defined in section 110 of the Revenue and 
Taxation Code, is lower than the adjusted base year value (the base year value adjusted to reflect inflation 
as prescribed by section 110.1, subdivision (f), of the Revenue and Taxation Code) will not establish a new 
base year value, unless the base year value is the subject of the appeal. 

(b) Any base year value determined by a local board of equalization, an assessment appeals board, or by 
a court for any 1975 assessment shall be conclusively presumed to be the base year value for the property 
assessed. 

(c) The full cash value determined for property that is purchased, is newly constructed, or changes 
ownership after the 1975 lien date, shall be conclusively presumed to be the base year value, unless an 
application for equalization is filed: 

(1) Within the time period specified in section 1605 of the Revenue and Taxation Code following a 
determination of new construction or change in ownership; 

(2) During the regular equalization period provided for in section 1603 of the Revenue and Taxation Code 
for the year in which the assessment is placed on the assessment roll, or is filed during the regular equalization 
period in any of the three succeeding years. Any determination of full cash value by a local board of equalization, 
an assessment appeals board, or by a court of law resulting from such filing shall be conclusively presumed to 
be the base year value beginning with the lien date of the assessment year in which the appeal is filed; or 

(3) At any time after the time period specified in (1) or (2) if the applicant claims that an erroneous change 
in ownership determination occurred. 

(d) Any base year value determined pursuant to section 51.5 of the Revenue and Taxation Code shall be 
conclusively presumed to be the base year value unless an application is filed during the regular equalization 
period in the year in which the error was corrected or during the regular equalization period in any of the three 
succeeding years. Once an application is filed, the base year value determined pursuant to that application shall 
be conclusively presumed to be the base year value for that assessment event. 

(e) An application for equalization made pursuant to sections 1603 or 1605 of the Revenue and Taxation Code, 
when determined, shall be conclusively presumed to be the base year value for that assessment event. 

History: Adopted November 20, 1968, effective November 22, 1968. 

Amended June 4, 1969, effective June 6, 1969. 

Amended May 6, 1970, effective June 6, 1970. 

Amended May 5, 1971, effective June 10, 1971. 

Amended April 14, 1972, effective May 14, 1972. 

Amended December 17, 1975, effective January 25, 1976. 

Amended July 31, 1980, effective November 19, 1980. 

Amended October 6 1999 effective April 22 2000. 



State of California 

BOARD OF EQUALIZATION 

PROPERTY TAX RULES 

Chapter 1. State Board of Equalization - Property Tax 
Subchapter 3. Local Equalization 
Article 1. Hearing by County Board 

Rule 307. NOTICE OF HEARING. 

Authority Cited: Section 15606, Government Code. 

Reference: Sections 50, 51, 1601, 1603, 1604, 1605, 1605.6, 1606, 1610.8, 1620, Revenue and Taxation Code. 

(a) After the filing of an application for reduction of an assessment, the clerk shall set the matter for 
hearing and notify the applicant or the applicant's agent in writing by personal delivery or by depositing the 
notice in the United States mail directed to the address given in the application. If requested by the 
assessor or the applicant, the clerk of the board may electronically transmit the notice to the requesting 
party. The notice shall designate the time and place of the hearing. It shall also include a statement that the 
board is required to find the full value of the property from the evidence presented at the hearing and that 
the board can raise, under certain circumstances, as well as lower or confirm the assessment being 
appealed. The notice shall include a statement that an application for a reduction in the assessment of a 
portion of an improved real property (e.g., land only or improvements only) or a portion of installations 
which are partly real property and partly personal property (e.g., only the improvement portion or only the 
personal property portion of machinery and equipment) may result in a reappraisal of all property of the 
applicant at the site which may result in an increase in the unprotested assessment of the other portion or 
portions of the property, which increase will offset, in whole or in part, any reduction in the protested 
assessment. 

(b) The notice shall be given no less than forty-five days prior to the hearing unless a shorter notice period 
has been stipulated to by the assessor and the applicant or the applicant's agent pursuant to section 
1605.6 of the Revenue and Taxation Code. 

(c) The clerk shall notify the assessor of the time and place of the hearing. 

(d) When proposing to raise an assessment on its own motion without an application for reduction pend­
ing before it, the board shall give notice of the hearing in the manner provided herein below not less than 
20 days prior to the hearing unless notice is waived by the assessee or the assessee's agent in writing in 
advance of the hearing or orally at the time of the hearing or a shorter notice period is stipulated to by the 
assessor and assessee or the assessee's agent. The notice shall be given to the assessee as shown on 
the latest assessment roll by depositing the notice in the United States mail directed to the assessee at the 
latest address of the assessee available to the assessor on file in the records in the assessor's office. It 
shall contain: 

(1) A statement that a hearing will be held before the local board to determine whether or not the 
assessment shall be raised; 

(2) The time and place of the hearing; 

(3) The assessor's parcel number or numbers of the property as shown on the local roll; 

(4) A statement that the board is required to find the full value of the property from the evidence 
presented at the hearing; 

(5) The amount by which it is proposed to raise the assessment. 



RULE 307. (Continued) 

History: Adopted May 11, 1967, effective June 11, 1967. 

Amended October 4, 1967, effective October 5, 1967. 

Amended May 21, 1968, effective June 26, 1968. 

Amended November 20, 1968, effective November 22, 1968. 

Amended June 4, 1969, effective June 6, 1969. 

Amended May 6, 1970, effective June 6, 1970. 

Amended April 14, 1972, effective May 14, 1972. 

Amended March 1, 1984, effective June 8, 1984. 

Amended and effective December 13, 1995. Amended subdivision (b) to substitute "forty-five" days for "thirty days" in the first 

sentence to reflect the change in time for notice mandated by the 1993 addition of Section 1605.6 of the Rev. & Tax. Code. 

Amended and effective August 1, 1996. 

Amended October 6 1999 effective April 22 2000. 
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State of California 

BOARD OF EQUALIZATION 

PROPERTY TAX RULES 

Chapter 1. State Board of Equalization - Property Tax 
Subchapter 3. Local Equalization 
Article 1. Hearing by County Board 

Rule 308. REQUEST FOR FINDINGS. 

Authority Cited: Section 15606, Government Code. 

Reference: Section 1603, 1611.5, 1611.6, Revenue and Taxation Code. 

(a) If an applicant or the assessor desires written findings of fact, the request must be in writing and submitted 
to the clerk before commencement of the hearing. The requesting party may abandon the request and waive 
findings at the conclusion of the hearing. If the requesting party abandons the request at this time, the other party 
may orally or in writing renew the request at the conclusion of the hearing and accompany the request with 
payment of the required fee or deposit. The county may impose a reasonable fee, as determined by the board 
of supervisors, to cover the expense of preparing the findings and conclusions and may require a deposit to 
be paid prior to the end of the hearing. If, at the conclusion of the hearing, a party requesting written findings 
has failed to pay the required fee or deposit, the board need not prepare written findings. The board may deny 
a request made after the conclusion of the hearing that seeks to waive written findings. 

(b) The written findings of fact shall fairly disclose the board's findings on all material points raised in the 
application and at the hearing. The findings shall also include a statement of the methods of valuation used in 
determining the full value of the property. The county shall provide findings within 45 days after the final 
determination of the board is entered into the record pursuant to regulation 325 of this subchapter, and shall 
accompany them with a notice that a request for a transcript of the hearing must be made within 60 days after 
the final determination. 

(c) If the county board fails to make findings upon request, or if findings made are found by a reviewing court 
to be so deficient that a remand to the county board is ordered to secure reasonable compliance with the 
elements offindings required by section 1611.5 of the Revenue and Taxation Code, the action of the county 
board shall be deemed to be arbitrary and capricious within the meaning of section 800 of the Government 
Code, so as to support an allowance of reasonable attorney's fees against the county for the services necessary 
to obtain proper findings. The dollar limitation set forth in section 800 of the Government Code shall not apply 
to an allowance of attorney's fees pursuant to this section. 

History: Adopted May 11, 1967, effective June 11, 1967. 

Amended November 20, 1968, effective November 22, 1968. 

Amended April 14, 1972, effective May 14, 1972. 

Amended June 23, 1981, effective September 19, 1981. 

Amended November 18, 1987, effective January 28, 1988. 

Amended October 6 1999 effective April 22 2000. 



State of California 

BOARD OF EQUALIZATION 

PROPERTY TAX RULES 

Chapter 1. State Board of Equalization - Property Tax 
Subchapter 3. Local Equalization 
Article 1. Hearing by County Board 

Rule 308.5. DISQUALIFICATION OF A BOARD MEMBER OR HEARING OFFICER. 

Authority Cited: Section 15606, Government Code. 

Reference: Section 1624.4, 1641.2, Revenue and Taxation Code. 

(a) In those counties having assessment appeals boards or hearing officers, the party affected or the 
party's agent, or the assessor, may file with the clerk a written statement objecting to the hearing of a 
matter before a member of the board or a hearing officer. The statement shall set forth the facts constitut­
ing the ground of the disqualification of the member or hearing officer and shall be signed by the party 
affected or the party's agent, or by the assessor, and shall be filed with the clerk at the earliest practicable 
opportunity after discovery of the facts constituting the ground of the member's or hearing officer's disquali­
fication, and in any event before the commencement of the hearing of any issue of fact in the proceeding 
before such member or hearing officer. Copies of the statement shall be served by the presenting party on 
each party to the proceeding and on the board member or hearing officer alleged to be disqualified. Within 
10 days after filing of the statement or 10 days after service of it on him or her, whichever is later, the board 
member or hearing officer may file with the clerk a written answer: 

(1) Consenting to the proceeding being heard by another member or hearing officer, in which event 
the clerk shall appoint a replacement member or hearing officer, or 

(2) Denying his or her disqualification, which answer may admit or deny any or all of the facts alleged 
in the statement and set forth any additional facts relevant to his or her disqualifications. 

The clerk shall forthwith transmit a copy of such answer to each party. 

Every statement and answer shall be verified by oath in the manner prescribed by section 446 of the Code 
of Civil Procedure. 

(b) The question of the member's or hearing officer's disqualification shall be heard and determined by a 
board member, other than the member subject to the disqualification challenge, agreed upon by the parties 
who have appeared in the proceeding, or, in the event of their failing to agree, by a member assigned to act 
by the clerk. Within five days after the expiration of the time allowed by this regulation for the member to 
answer, the clerk shall assign a member to hear and determine the matter of the disqualification. 

Once the member has been selected pursuant to subsection (b), that member shall determine the qualifica­
tion of the challenged member or hearing officer. 

(c) In a county whose board of supervisors has adopted a resolution implementing the provisions of sections 
1640.1 and 1641.1 of the Revenue and Taxation Code, the board may elect to schedule the application before 
the board in lieu of following the procedures prescribed above. 

History: Adopted May 6, 1970, effective June 6, 1970. 

Amended June 13, 1974, effective June 14, 1974. 

Amended October 6 1999 effective April 22 2000. 



State of California 

BOARD OF EQUALIZATION 

PROPERTY TAX RULES 

Chapter 1. State Board of Equalization - Property Tax 
Subchapter 3. Local Equalization 
Article 1. Hearing by County Board 

Rule 308.6. APPLICATION FOR EQUALIZATION BY MEMBER, ALTERNATE 
MEMBER, OR HEARING OFFICER. 

Authority Cited: Section 15606, Government Code. 

Reference: Section 1622.6, Revenue and Taxation Code. 

(a) An application for equalization filed pursuant to sections 1603 or 1605 of the Revenue and Taxation 
Code by a member or alternate member of an assessment appeals board or an appointed hearing officer 
shall be heard before an assessment appeals board panel consisting of three special alternate assessment 
appeals board members appointed by order of the presiding judge of the superior court in the county in 
which the application is filed. 

(b) A special alternate assessment appeals board member may hear only the application or applications 
for equalization set forth in the superior court order appointing such member. 

(c) Any person shall be eligible for appointment as a special alternate assessment appeals board member 
who is a resident of the county in which the application is filed and who is a person the presiding judge of 
the superior court has reason to believe is possessed of competent knowledge of property appraisal and 
taxation. 

(d) Sections 1624.1 and 1624.2 of the Revenue and Taxation Code shall be applicable to the appointment 
of a special assessment appeals board member. 

History: Adopted June 13, 1974, effective June 14, 1974. 

Amended December 17, 1975, effective January 25, 1976. 

Amended October 6 1999 effective April 22 2000. 



State of California 

BOARD OF EQUALIZATION 

PROPERTY TAX RULES 

Chapter 1. State Board of Equalization - Property Tax 
Subchapter 3. Local Equalization 
Article 1. Hearing by County Board 

Rule 310. SELECTION OF BOARD CHAIR. 

Authority Cited: Section 15606, Government Code. 

Reference: Section 1609, Revenue and Taxation Code. 

The board shall select one of its members to act as chair and preside over all hearings. This function may 
be rotated among board members. The chair shall exercise such control over the hearings as is reasonable 
and necessary. He or she shall make all rulings regarding procedural matters and regarding the admission 
or exclusion of evidence. 

History: Adopted May 11, 1967, effective June 11, 1967. 

Amended October 6 1999 effective April 22 2000. 



State of California 

BOARD OF EQUALIZATION 

PROPERTY TAX RULES 

Chapter 1. State Board of Equalization - Property Tax 
Subchapter 3. Local Equalization 
Article 1. Hearing by County Board 

Rule 311. QUORUM AND VOTE REQUIRED. 

Authority Cited: Section 15606, Government Code. 

Reference: Sections 1601, 1620, 1622.1, 1622.5, 1622.6, Revenue and Taxation Code. 

(a) No hearing before the board shall be held unless a quorum is present. Except as otherwise provided in 
regulation 310 of this subchapter, no decision, determination, or order shall be made by the board by less 
than a majority vote of all the members of the board who have been in attendance throughout the hearing. 

(b) If either party so demands, a hearing must be held before the full board or, for assessment appeals 
boards appointed pursuant to Revenue and Taxation Code section 1622.1, a full three member panel. In 
the event that only a quorum is present and the applicant demands a hearing before the full board, or full 
three member panel designated pursuant to Revenue and Taxation Code section 1622.1, the board may 
request that the applicant extend the two-year period provided in section 1604 of the Revenue and 
Taxation Code if the demand precludes the matter from being heard and decided before the expiration of 
the two-year period. If the applicant does not extend the two-year period as requested, the board may deny 
the applicant's demand for a hearing before a full board or a full three member panel. 

(c) If a hearing takes place before a board consisting of an even number of members and they are unable 
to reach a majority decision, the application shall be reheard before the full board. In any case wherein the 
hearing takes place before less than the full board, the parties may stipulate that the absent member or 
members may read or otherwise become familiar with the record and participate in the vote on the decision. 

History: Adopted May 11, 1967, effective June 11, 1967. 

Amended May 21, 1968, effective June 26, 1968. 

Amended July 27, 1982, effective February 10, 1983. 

Amended October 6 1999 effective April 22 2000. 



State of California 

BOARD OF EQUALIZATION 

PROPERTY TAX RULES 

Chapter 1. State Board of Equalization - Property Tax 
Subchapter 3. Local Equalization 
Article 1. Hearing by County Board 

Rule 312. HEARINGS RECORDED. 

Authority Cited: Section 15606, Government Code. 

Reference: Section 1611, Revenue and Taxation Code. 

(a) All hearings of the board shall be recorded or reported, or videotaped subject to the conditions set 
forth in Code of Civil Procedure section 2025, subsection (1)(2). 

(b) Any person may purchase a transcript of that portion of a hearings that is open to the public upon 
payment of a reasonable fee, provided the request to purchase has been made within 60 days after the 
final determination of the board. 

(c) In a county which does not regularly provide a stenographic reporter, the applicant, at the applicant's 
own expense, may have the hearing reported by a stenographer. 

(d) In a county which does provide a stenographic reporter, if the applicant desires the clerk to arrange for 
a stenographer, the applicant must make the request in writing at least 10 days before the hearing. 

(e) If a stenographic reporter is present, the county may designate the reporter's transcript as the official 
record upon being filed with the board. 

History: Adopted May 11, 1967, effective June 11, 1967. 

Amended April 14, 1972, effective May 14, 1972. 

Amended June 13, 1974, effective June 14, 1974. 

Amended October 6 1999 effective April 22 2000. 



State of California 

BOARD OF EQUALIZATION 

PROPERTY TAX RULES 

Chapter 1. State Board of Equalization - Property Tax 
Subchapter 3. Local Equalization 
Article 1. Hearing by County Board 

Rule 316. EXAMINATION OF APPLICANT BY BOARD. 

Authority Cited: Section 15606, Government Code. 

Reference: Sections 1605.5, 1607, 1608, 1620-1630, Revenue and Taxation Code. 

(a) Except as hereinafter provided, no reduction of an assessment or change in ownership or new construc­
tion determination shall be made unless the board examines, on oath, the applicant or the applicant's agent 
concerning the value of the property and/or the facts upon which the change in ownership or new construction 
determination is based, and the applicant or the applicant's agent attends and answers all questions pertinent 
to the inquiry. 

(b) In the event there is filed with the board a written stipulation, signed by the assessor and county legal 
advisor on behalf of the county and by the person affected or the authorized agent making the application, 
as to the full value and assessed value of the property and/or a determination regarding a change in 
ownership or new construction, which stipulation sets forth the facts upon which the agreed upon value is 
premised, the board may, at a public hearing, 

(1) accept the stipulation, waive the appearance of the person affected or the agent and change the 
assessed value in accordance with section 1610.8 of the Revenue and Taxation Code, or, 

(2) reject the stipulation or set or reset the application for reduction for hearing. 

(c) The board may, in its discretion, waive the examination of the applicant or the applicant's agent if the 
board and the assessor are satisfied that the issues raised by the application and the facts pertaining 
thereto have been fully considered by the board in previous years or fully presented in the application, and 
if the applicant or the applicant's agent requests such waiver in the application. The board shall consult 
with the assessor and shall act promptly on any request for waiver and give written notice of its decision 
no less than 30 days before commencement of the hearing on the application. If the board waives the 
examination of the applicant or the applicant's agent, it shall decide the case on the merits of the 
application and on the basis of any evidence properly produced at the hearing by the assessor. 

History: Adopted May 11, 1967, effective June 11, 1967. 

Amended October 4, 1967, effective October 5, 1967. 

Amended May 21, 1968, effective June 26, 1968. 

Amended December 17, 1975, effective January 25, 1976. 

Amended July 27, 1982, effective February 10, 1983. 

Amended October 6 1999 effective April 22 2000. 



State of California 

BOARD OF EQUALIZATION 

PROPERTY TAX RULES 

Chapter 1. State Board of Equalization - Property Tax 
Subchapter 3. Local Equalization 
Article 1. Hearing by County Board 

Rule 322. SUBPOENAS. 

Authority Cited: Section 15606, Government Code. 

Reference: Sections 1609, 1609.4, 1609.5, Revenue and Taxation Code. 

{a) At the request of the applicant or the assessor in advance of the hearing or at the time of the hearing, the board 
or the clerk on authorization from the board may issue subpoenas for the attendance of witnesses at the hearing. 
The board may issue a subpoena on its own motion. A subpoena may be served on any resident of the State of 
California or any person or business entity found within the state. All subpoenas shall be obtained from the board. 

{b) If a subpoena is issued at the request of the applicant, the applicant is responsible for serving it and for the 
payment of witness fees and mileage. 

{c) An application for a subpoena for the production of books, records, maps, and documents shall be supported 
by an affidavit such as is prescribed by section 1985 of the Code of Civil Procedure. 

{d) In the event a State Board of Equalization employee is subpoenaed pursuant to section 1609.5 of the Revenue 
and Taxation Code at the request of the applicant and the county board grants a reduction in the assessment, the 
county board may reimburse the applicant in whole or in part for the actual witness fees paid pursuant to section 
1609.5. 

{e) If a party desires the board to issue a subpoena, the party shall make the written request sufficiently in 
advance of the scheduled hearing date so that the subpoenaed party has an adequate opportunity to fully comply 
with the subpoena prior to the commencement of the hearing. Upon such request, the board may, whenever 
possible, issue subpoenas pursuant to sections 1609.4 and 1609.5 of the Revenue and Taxation Code. Subpoenas 
shall be restricted to compelling the appearance of a person or the production of things at the hearing and shall 
not be utilized for purposes of prehearing discovery. A subpoena issued near in time to or after commencement of 
the hearing should be as limited as possible, and a continuance of the hearing may be granted, if requested, for a 
reasonable period of time. 

{f) No subpoena to take a deposition shall be issued nor shall depositions be considered for any purpose by the 
board. 

History: Adopted May 11, 1967, effective June 11, 1967. 

Amended October 4, 1967, effective October 5, 1967. 

Amended May 21, 1968, effective June 26, 1968. 

Amended October 6 1999 effective April 22 2000. 



State of California 

BOARD OF EQUALIZATION 

PROPERTY TAX RULES 

Chapter 1. State Board of Equalization - Property Tax 
Subchapter 3. Local Equalization 
Article 1. Hearing by County Board 

Rule 323. POSTPONEMENTS AND CONTINUANCES. 

Authority Cited: Section 15606, Government Code. 

Reference: Section 1605.6, 1606, Revenue and Taxation Code. 

(a) The applicant and/or the assessor shall be allowed one postponement as a matter of right, the request 
for which must be made not later than 21 days before the hearing is scheduled to commence. If the 
applicant requests a postponement as a matter of right within 120 days of the expiration of the two-year 
limitation period provided in section 1604 of the Revenue and Taxation Code, the postponement shall be 
contingent upon the applicant's written agreement to extend and toll indefinitely the two-year period subject 
to termination of the agreement by 120 days written notice by the applicant. The assessor is not entitled to 
a postponement as a matter of right if the request is made within 120 days of the expiration of the two-year 
period, but the board, in its discretion, may grant such a request. Any subsequent requests for a postpone­
ment must be made in writing, and good cause must be shown for the proposed postponement. A stipula­
tion by an applicant and the assessor shall be deemed to constitute good cause, but shall result in 
extending and tolling indefinitely the two-year limitation period subject to termination of the agreement by 
120 days written notice by the applicant. Any information exchange dates remain in effect based on the 
originally scheduled hearing date notwithstanding the hearing postponement, except as provided in regula­
tion 305.1 (d) of this subchapter. 

(b) A board of supervisors may delegate decisions concerning postponement to the clerk in accordance 
with locally adopted rules. Requests for postponement shall be considered as far in advance of the hearing 
date as is practicable. 

(c) At the hearing, the board or a hearing officer may continue a hearing to a later date. If the applicant 
requests a continuance within 90 days of the expiration of the two-year period specified in section 1604 of 
the Revenue and Taxation Code, the board may require a written extension signed by the applicant 
extending and tolling the two-year period indefinitely subject to termination of the agreement by 120 days 
written notice by the applicant. The clerk shall inform the applicant or the applicant's agent and the 
assessor in writing of the time and place of the continued hearing not less than 10 days prior to the new 
hearing date, unless the parties agree in writing or on the record to waive written notice. 

History: Adopted May 11, 1967, effective June 11, 1967. 

Amended May 21, 1968, effective June 26, 1968. 

Amended November 20, 1968, effective November 22, 1968. 

Amended October 6 1999 effective April 22 2000. 



State of California 

BOARD OF EQUALIZATION 

PROPERTY TAX RULES 

Chapter 1. State Board of Equalization - Property Tax 
Subchapter 3. Local Equalization 
Article 1. Hearing by County Board 

Rule 324. DECISION. 

Authority Cited: Section 15606, Government Code. 

Reference: Article XIII A, California Constitution. 
Sections 402.1, 402.5, 1609, 1610.8, 1611.5, Revenue and Taxation Code. 

(a) DETERMINATION OF FULL VALUE, CLASSIFICATION, CHANGE IN OWNERSHIP, OR OTHER 
ISSUES. Acting upon proper evidence before it, the board shall determine the full value of the property, 
including land, improvements, and personal property, that is the subject of the hearing. The determination 
of the full value shall be supported by a preponderance of the evidence presented during the hearing. The 
board shall consider evidence of value derived by the use of any of the valuation methods described in 
regulation 3 of subchapter 1 of this chapter. It shall determine whether the method(s) used was (were) 
properly applied, considering the type of property assessed, governmentally imposed land use restrictions, 
and any recorded conservation easements as described in Civil Code section 815.1 et seq., by examining 
the factual data, the presumptions, and the estimates relied upon. The board shall also determine the 
classification, amount, and description of the property that is the subject of the hearing, the existence of a 
change in ownership or new construction, or any other issue that is properly before the board, or that is 
necessary to determine the full value of the property. The board shall provide to the clerk such details as 
are necessary for the implementation of the board's decision. 

(b) JURISDICTION. The board's authority to determine the full value of property or other issues, while 
limited by the laws of this state and the laws of the United States and usually exercised in response to an 
application for equalization, is not predicated on the filing of an application nor limited by the applicant's 
request for relief. When an application for review includes only a portion of an appraisal unit, whether real 
property, personal property, or both, the board may nevertheless determine the full value, classification, or 
other facts relating to other portions that have undergone a change in ownership, new construction or a 
change in value. Additionally, the board shall determine the full value of the entire appraisal unit whenever 
that is necessary to the determination of the full value of any portion thereof. 

The board is not required to choose between the opinions of value promoted by the parties to the appeal, 
but shall make its own determination of value based upon the evidence properly admitted at the hearing. 

An appraisal unit of property is a collection of assets that functions together, and that persons in the 
marketplace commonly buy and sell as a single unit or that is normally valued in the marketplace sepa­
rately from other property, or that is specifically designated as such by law. 

(c) VALUATION PRINCIPLES. The board, the applicant, and appraisal witnesses shall be bound by the 
same principles of valuation that are legally applicable to the assessor. 

(d) COMPARABLE SALES. When valuing a property by a comparison with sales of other properties, the 
board may consider those sales that, in its judgment, involve properties similar in size, quality, age, 
condition, utility, amenities, site location, legally permitted use, or other physical attributes to the property 
being valued. When valuing property for purposes of either the regular roll or the supplemental roll, the 
board shall not consider a sale if it occurred more than 90 days after the date for which value is being 
estimated. The provisions for exclusion of any sale occurring more than 90 days after the valuation date do 
not apply to the sale of the subject property. 



RULE 324. (Continued) 

The board shall presume that zoning or other legal restrictions, of the types described in Revenue and 
Taxation Code section 402.1, on the use of either the property sold or the property being valued will not be 
removed or substantially modified in the predictable future unless sufficient grounds as set forth in that 
section are presented to the board to overcome that presumption. 

(e) FINDINGS OF FACT. When written findings of fact are made, they shall fairly disclose the board's 
findings on all material points raised in the application and at the hearing. The findings shall also include a 
statement of the method or methods of valuation used in determining the full value of the property or its 
components. 

History: Adopted May 11, 1967, effective June 11, 1967. 

Amended October 4, 1967, effective October 5, 1967. 

Amended May 21, 1968, effective June 26, 1968. 

Amended November 20, 1968, effective November 22, 1968. 

Amended May 6, 1970, effective June 6, 1970. 

Amended May 5, 1971, effective June 10, 1971. 

Amended April 14, 1972, effective May 14, 1972. 

Amended December 17, 1975, effective January 25, 1976. 

Amended July 27, 1982, effective February 10, 1983. 

Amended March 6, 1990, effective May 23, 1990. 

Amended November 19 1999 effective April 22 2000. 
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State of California 

BOARD OF EQUALIZATION 

PROPERTY TAX RULES 

Chapter 1. State Board of Equalization - Property Tax 
Subchapter 3. Local Equalization 
Article 1. Hearing by County Board 

Rule 325. NOTICE AND CLARIFICATION OF DECISION. 

Authority Cited: Section 15606, Government Code. 

Reference: Section 1601 et seq., Revenue and Taxation Code. 

(a) A board may announce its decision to the applicant and the assessor at the conclusion of the hearing, 
or it may take the matter under submission. The decision becomes final when: 

(1) The vote is entered into the record at the conclusion of the hearing provided no findings of fact are 
requested by either party, and all parties are present at the hearing or the hearing is subject to stipulation 
by both parties. The county may provide a written notice of the decision. 

(2) A written notice of the decision is issued provided no findings of fact are requested by either party, 
and the decision is taken under submission by the board at the conclusion of the hearing. The county shall 
issue a written notice of the decision no later than 120 days after the conclusion of the hearing. The clerk 
shall notify the applicant in writing of the decision of the board by United States mail addressed to the 
applicant or to the applicant's agent at the address given in the application. 

(3) A written notice of the decision is issued or the findings of fact are issued, whichever is earlier, 
provided findings of fact are requested. The county shall issue a written notice of the decision no later than 
120 days after the conclusion of the hearing. If so requested by an applicant or an applicant's agent, the 
determination shall become final upon issuance of the findings of fact which the county shall issue no later 
than 180 days after the conclusion of the hearing. Such a request must be made by the applicant or the 
applicant's agent prior to or at the conclusion of the hearing. If the conclusion of the hearing is within 180 
days of the expiration of the two-year period specified in section 1604 of the Revenue and Taxation Code, 
the applicant shall agree in writing to extend the two-year period. The extension shall be for a period equal 
to 180 days from the date of the conclusion of the hearing. 

(b) The board may request any party to submit proposed written findings of fact and shall provide the 
other party the opportunity to review and comment on the proposed finding submitted. If both parties 
prepare proposed findings of fact, no opportunity to review and comment need be provided. 

(c) When findings of fact have been prepared, either party or the clerk may submit a written request for 
clarification about the details of the decision, but such clarification shall not alter the final determination of 
the board. 

History: Adopted May 11, 1967, effective June 11, 1967. 

Amended October 6 1999 effective April 22 2000. 



State of California 

BOARD OF EQUALIZATION 

PROPERTY TAX RULES 

Chapter 1. State Board of Equalization - Property Tax 
Subchapter 3. Local Equalization 
Article 1. Hearing by County Board 

Rule 326. RECONSIDERATION AND REHEARING. 

Authority Cited: Section 15606, Government Code. 

Reference: Section 1601 et seq., Revenue and Taxation Code. 

(a) The decision of the board upon an application is final. The board shall not reconsider or rehear an 
application or modify a decision unless: 

(1) The decision reflects a ministerial clerical error; or 

(2) The decision was entered as the result of the applicant's failure to appear for the hearing and 
within the period established pursuant to regulation 313 of this subchapter, the applicant furnishes evi­
dence establishing, to the satisfaction of the board, excusable good cause for the failure to appear. 

History: Adopted May 11, 1967, effective June 11, 1967. 

Amended October 6 1999 effective April 22 2000. 
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