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IMPORTANT NOTICE



Filing Requirement - Change in Control


Revenue and Taxation Code Section 480.1



The law requires any person or legal entity acquiring ownership control in any corporation, 
 
partnership, limited liability company, or other legal entity owning real property in California subject 
 
 
to local property taxation to complete and file a change in ownership statement with the State Board 
 
 
of Equalization at its office in Sacramento. The change in ownership statement must be filed within 
 
 
90 days from the date of the change in control of a corporation, partnership, limited liability 
 
company, or other legal entity. The law further requires that a change in ownership statement be 
 
 
completed and filed whenever a written request is made therefor by the State Board of Equalization, 
 
 
regardless of whether a change in control of the legal entity has occurred. 
 

The failure to file a change in ownership statement within 90 days from the earlier of the date of the 
 
 
change in control of the corporation, partnership, limited liability company, or other legal entity, or 
 
 
the date of a written request by the State Board of Equalization results in a penalty of 10 percent of 
 
 
the taxes applicable to the new base year value reflecting the change in control of the real property 
 
 
owned by the corporation, partnership, limited liability company, or legal entity (or 10 percent of the 
 
 
current year's taxes on that property if no change in control occurred). This penalty will be added to 
 
 
the assessment roll and shall be collected like any other delinquent property taxes, and be subject to 
 
 
the same penalties for nonpayment.



IMPORTANT NOTICE



Filing Requirement - Change in Ownership


Revenue and Taxation Code Section 480.2



The law requires any corporation, partnership, limited liability company, or other legal entity owning 
 
 
real property in California subject to local property taxation and transferring shares or other 
 
ownership interest in such legal entity which constitutes a change in ownership pursuant to 
 
subdivision (d) of Section 64 of the Revenue and Taxation Code to complete and file a change in 
 
 
ownership statement with the State Board of Equalization at its office in Sacramento. The change in 
 
 
ownership statement must be filed within 90 days from the date that shares or other ownership 
 
 
interests representing cumulatively more than 50 percent of the total control or ownership interests 
 
 
in the entity are transferred by any of the original co-owners in one or more transactions. The law 
 
 
further requires that a change in ownership statement be completed and filed whenever a written 
 
 
request is made therefor by the State Board of Equalization, regardless of whether a change in 
 
 
ownership of the legal entity has occurred. 
 

The failure to file a change in ownership statement within 90 days from the earlier of the date of the 
 
 
change in ownership of the corporation, partnership, limited liability company, or other legal entity, 
 
 
or the date of a written request by the Board of Equalization results in a penalty of 10 percent of the 
 
 
taxes applicable to the new base year value reflecting the change in ownership of the real property 
 
 
owned by the corporation, partnership, limited liability company, or legal entity (or 10 percent of the 
 
 
current year's taxes on that real property if no change in ownership occurred). This penalty will be 
 
 
added to the assessment roll and shall be collected like any other delinquent property taxes, and be 
 
 
subject to the same penalties for nonpayment.






