CLAIM FOR TRANSFER OF BASE YEAR VALUE FROM QUALIFIED CONTAMINATED PROPERTY TO REPLACEMENT PROPERTY

(Section 69.4 of the Revenue and Taxation Code)

A. REPLACEMENT PROPERTY	
ASSESSOR'S PARCEL NUMBER	RECORDER'S DOCUMENT NUMBER
DATE OF PURCHASE/COMPLETION OF NEW CONSTRUCTION	
PURCHASE PRICE/COST OF CONSTRUCTION	
PROPERTY ADDRESS (street, city, county)	
B. ORIGINAL (F	ORMER) PROPERTY
ASSESSOR'S PARCEL NUMBER	
DATE OF TRANSFER/SALE	
ASSESSOR'S FACTORED BASE YEAR VALUE AT DATE OF TRANSFER/SALE	
PROPERTY ADDRESS (street, city, county)	
the date of transfer/sale? Yes No If yes, please explain:	
C. CLAIMANT INFOR	MATION (PLEASE PRINT)
NAME OF CLAIMANT	
I/We declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the Statincluding any accompanying statements or materials, is true, corr	
SIGNATURE OF CLAIMANT	DATE
NAME OF LEGAL ENTITY	
HOME TELEPHONE (area code first)	WORK TELEPHONE (area code first)
MAILING ADDRESS (street, city, state, zip code)	

If you have any questions about this form, please contact the Assessor's Office.

All information provided on this form is subject to verification. If your application is incomplete, it may not be possible to process your claim.

THIS DOCUMENT IS NOT SUBJECT TO PUBLIC INSPECTION

GENERAL INFORMATION

California law allows an owner of a qualified contaminated property to transfer the base year value of that property to a comparable replacement property of equal or lesser value that is acquired or newly constructed after January 1, 1995. In addition, a replacement property must meet all of the following requirements: (1) It must have been acquired or newly constructed within five (5) years **after** the date of the sale or transfer; (2) it must be used in the same manner as the qualified contaminated property; and (3) a claim for relief must be filed within **three** (3) years after the replacement property is acquired or newly constructed.

Both the original property and the replacement property must be located in the **same** county. If not, the county in which the replacement property is located must have a resolution authorizing intercounty transfers under this code section.

A qualified contaminated property must meet all of the following:

- Residential property that is uninhabitable or nonresidential property that is unusable as a result of the environmental problems.
- Located on a site that has been designated as a toxic or environmental hazard or as an environmental clean-up site by an agency of the State of California or the federal government.
- Owned by a person or entity that did not participate or acquiesce in any act or omission that rendered the property uninhabitable or unusable. The owner cannot be related to the person or affiliated with the entity that committed the act or omission that contaminated the property.

In general, equal or lesser value of a replacement property means that the fair market value of the replacement property on the date of purchase or completion of new construction does not exceed:

- 105 percent of market value of original property as if uncontaminated if a replacement property is purchased
 or newly constructed within the first year following the date of sale or transfer of the original property;
- 110 percent of market value of original property as if uncontaminated if a replacement property is purchased or newly constructed within the second year following the date of sale or transfer of the original property;
- 115 percent of market value of original property as if uncontaminated if a replacement property is purchased or newly constructed within the **third year** following the date of sale or transfer of the original property;
- 120 percent of market value of original property as if uncontaminated if a replacement property is purchased or newly constructed within the fourth year following the date of sale or transfer of the original property;
- 125 percent of market value of original property as if uncontaminated if a replacement property is purchased or newly constructed within the **fifth year** following the date of sale or transfer of the original property.

If you feel you qualify for this exclusion, you must provide evidence that (1) your property meets the definition of a qualified contaminated property, and (2) you did not participate or acquiesce in any act or omission that rendered the property uninhabitable or unusuable or are related to the person or affiliated with the entity that committed the act or omission that contaminated the property.

DECLARATION BY ASSESSEE. The declaration must be signed by the assessee, a duly appointed fiduciary, or a person authorized to sign on behalf of the assessee. In the case of a *corporation*, the declaration must be signed by an officer or an employee of the corporation authorized to sign the declaration on behalf of the corporation. In the case of a *partnership*, the declaration must be signed by a partner or an authorized employee or agent. In the case of a *limited liability company* (LLC), the declaration must be signed by an LLC manager, or by a member where there is no manager, or by an employee or agent designated by the LLC manager or by the members to sign on behalf of the LLC.