2361 ROSECRANS AVENUE, SUITE 450 EL SEGUNDO, CA 90245-4923 TEL (310) 297-5201 FAX (310) 536-4460

WEBSITE: www.boe.ca.gov/Vazquez



621 CAPITOL MALL, SUITE 2160 SACRAMENTO, CA 95814 TEL (916) 445-4154 FAX (916) 323-2869 E-MAIL: Antonio.Vazquez@boe.ca.gov

ANTONIO VAZQUEZ

CHAIRMAN
CALIFORNIA STATE BOARD OF EQUALIZATION

MEMORANDUM

Date: May 10, 2023

To: Sally Lieber, Vice Chair

Ted Gaines, Board Member, First District Mike Schaefer, Board Member, Fourth District

Malia M. Cohen, State Controller

From: Antonio Vazquez, Chairman

Re: May 23, 2023, Board Meeting Agenda Item 10. Presentation, overview, discussion, possible action on 2023 Property Tax & Related Affordable Housing Legislation.

The purpose of this item is to provide the Board with an opportunity to hear from, and discuss with authors, supporters, stakeholders and County Assessors regarding various Senate and Assembly bills related to a variety of critical property tax assessment, change in ownership, and exemption matters. The Board may choose to vote to support, oppose, or remain neutral on the language in any bill or to request further information from any speakers or the Executive Director and managers as appropriate.

Background.

The Board Members have committed themselves to be appropriately open in the way they acquire information relevant to the Board's duties and the manner in which decisions are publicly made. We are accountable to the Legislature and taxpayers for assessing and collecting the proper amount of taxes due, which includes exploring, evaluating, and discussing legislative measures that may impact or affect such taxes, including assessment matters, change in ownership exclusions, tax exemptions and programs related to affordable housing. This is consistent with the underlying principle in California Constitution, article I, section 3, that the people have the right to instruct their representatives, petition government for redress of grievances, and assemble freely to consult for the common good, which includes engaging with the Board to hear and discuss measures that may affect them.

Goal.

In the interest of accurately understanding significant legislative measures currently intended to modify property tax law, change in ownership exclusions, exemptions, or to assist in the production of affordable housing, the following Senate and Assembly bills will be addressed by the authors, sponsors, County Assessors, stakeholders and/or other interested parties. Board Member questions and comments are encouraged regarding the language in any bill.

- AB 556 (Gallagher) Property taxation: transfer of base year value: disaster relief https://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/billNavClient.xhtml?bill_id=202320240AB556 BOE Bill Analysis - AB 556
- AB 1500 (Irwin) Property taxation: application of base year value: disaster relief https://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/billNavClient.xhtml?bill_id=202320240AB1500
 BOE Bill Analysis - AB 1500
- SB 726 (Archuleta) Property taxation: exemption: disabled veteran homeowners https://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/billNavClient.xhtml?bill_id=202320240SB726 BOE Bill Analysis SB 726
- SCA 6 (Archuleta) Property taxation: veterans' exemption
 https://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/billNavClient.xhtml?bill_id=202320240SCA6
 and SB 871 (Archuleta) Property taxation: Homeowners', veterans', and disabled veterans' exemptions
 https://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/billNavClient.xhtml?bill_id=202320240SB871
 BOE Bill Analysis SB 871
- AB 430 (Bennett) Community land trusts: welfare exemption: assessment: foreclosure sales: financial assistance https://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/billNavClient.xhtml?bill_id=202320240AB430

At the conclusion of the presentations received and actions taken, the Board may wish to consider suggestions for placing other property tax related bills for consideration on the agenda at the June 27-28 Board Meeting.

ANTONIO VAZQUEZ Chairman

Board of Equalization 2rd District

cc: Ms. Deborah Bautista-Zavala, Chief Deputy, Office of Chairman Antonio Vazquez

Mr. Gary Gartner, Chief Deputy, Office of Vice Chair Sally Lieber

Mr. Matt Cox, Chief Deputy, Office of Member Ted Gaines

Mr. Cody Petterson, Chief Deputy, Office of Member Mike Schaefer

Mr. Hasib Emran, Deputy State Controller

Ms. Yvette Stowers, Executive Director

Mr. Henry Nanjo, Chief Counsel