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• Maintain the residential use of the accessory dwelling unit receiving the exclusion.

• Provide any additional documentation the Assessor requests and ensure all additional
documents necessary to support the exclusion are filed with the Assessor no later than six
months after the completion of the project.

• Inform the Assessor within 30 days if the ADU is converted to any use other than for
residential housing.

The April 11 amendments also clarified the following: 

• That the exclusion provided under Revenue and Taxation Code (RTC) section 74.9 shall
remain in effect unless the unit undergoes a change in ownership or is converted to any use
other than for residential housing.

• That construction of an ADU must be completed on or after January 1, 2025, and before
January 1, 2030, in order to qualify for the exclusion.

• That, upon the occurrence of one the events related to the ADU losing its exclusion status,
the new base year value of the unit shall be established as of the occurrence of the event,
adjusted annually in accordance with paragraph (1) of subdivision (a) of RTC section 51, and
be enrolled.

• That the proposed changes to RTC section 74.9 sunset on January 1, 2046 (reduced to
January 1, 2041 in the May 16 version of the bill).

Summary:  This bill would exclude from assessment the construction of an accessory dwelling 
unit (ADU) until 10 years have passed since construction of the ADU was completed or there is a 
subsequent change in ownership of the ADU. 

Fiscal Impact Summary:  Estimated annual property tax revenue loss of $19 million. 

Summary of Amendments: 

The May 16, 2024, amendments reduce the exclusion period from 15 years to 10 years, and 
reduce the sunset date by five years from 2046 to 2041. 

The April 11, 2024, amendments stated and clarified that, in order to receive the exclusion, the 
property owner shall do all of the following: 

https://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/billNavClient.xhtml?bill_id=202320240SB1164
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1 Article XIII A, section 2, of the California Constitution (Proposition 13). 
2 Revenue and Taxation Code (RTC) sections 110 and 110.1. 
3 Article XIII A, section 2, of the California Constitution. 
4 Rev. & Tax. Code, section 70. 
5 Rev. & Tax. Code, section 71. 

Existing Law:  California's system of property taxation values property at its 1975 fair market 
value, with annual increases limited to the inflation rate, as measured by the California Consumer 
Price Index, or 2 percent, whichever is less, until the property changes ownership or is newly 
constructed.1 At the time of the ownership change or completion of new construction, the real 
property, for property tax purposes, is reassessed to current market value (called the "base year 
value").2 Thereafter, the base year value is subject to annual increases for inflation. This value is 
referred to as the "factored base year value."3

New Construction. When additions or substantial alterations occur, the law requires a County 
Assessor to increase the property's assessment to reflect the value of the "newly constructed" 
property.4 The Assessor then assigns the assessable new construction with its own distinct base 
year value. The remainder of the property's assessment is unaffected and retains its base year 
value.5

Under Property Tax Rule 463.500, the date of completion of new construction resulting from 
actual physical new construction on a site is the earliest of either the date upon which the new 
construction is available for use by the owner or the date the property is occupied or used by the 
owner or with the owner's consent. 

New Construction Exclusions. The California Constitution allows the Legislature to provide that 
the term “newly constructed” does not include certain construction activities. These are commonly 
called “new construction exclusions.”  Any value added by these additions or alterations is not 
subject to property tax.  

Proposed Law:  This bill would add section 74.9 to the Revenue and Taxation Code (RTC) to 
exclude from classification as “newly constructed” and “new construction” the construction of an 
accessory dwelling unit (ADU), as defined until 10 years have passed since construction on the 
accessory dwelling unit was completed or there is a subsequent change in ownership of the 
accessory dwelling unit. The bill would require the property owner to, prior to or within 30 days of 
completion of the project, notify the County Assessor that the property owner intends to claim the 
exclusion for an ADU and submit an affidavit stating that the owner shall make a good faith effort 
to ensure the ADU will be used as residential housing for the duration the owner receives the 
exclusion. The bill would require the State Board of Equalization (BOE) to prescribe the manner 
and form for claiming the exclusion and would require all additional documents necessary to 
support the exclusion to be filed by the property owner with the Assessor not later than 6 months 
after the completion of the project.  

For purposes of RTC section 74.9, “accessory dwelling unit” means an attached or detached 
residential dwelling unit that provides complete, independent living facilities for one or more 
persons and that is located on a lot with a preexisting, single-family or multi-family residential 
dwelling on the lot. An “accessory dwelling unit” shall include permanent provisions for living, 
sleeping, eating, cooking, and sanitation on the same parcel that the single-family or multifamily 
residential dwelling is located.  

https://www.boe.ca.gov/proptaxes/pdf/rules/Rule463_500.pdf
https://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?lawCode=CONS&sectionNum=SEC.%202.&article=XIII%20A
https://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?lawCode=RTC&sectionNum=110
https://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?lawCode=RTC&sectionNum=110.1
https://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?lawCode=CONS&sectionNum=SEC.%202.&article=XIII%20A
https://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?lawCode=RTC&sectionNum=70
https://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=71&lawCode=RTC
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An “accessory dwelling unit” includes, but is not limited to, any of the following: 

• An efficiency unit, as defined in section 17958.1 of the Health and Safety Code. 

• A manufactured home, as defined in section 18007 of the Health and Safety Code. 

RTC section 74.9 proposed in this bill will sunset on January 1, 2041, unless subsequent 
legislation extends it. 

In General:  California's Property Tax System. In June 1978, voters changed California's 
property tax system through Proposition 13, which replaced a then-current market value-based 
system with an acquisition value-based system. Under Proposition 13, real property assessed 
values were set at 1975 market value levels, and future assessed value increases were limited to 
the inflation rate, not to exceed 2 percent, for as long as the property's ownership remains 
unchanged and the property is not substantively improved (i.e., new construction). The 2 percent 
maximum inflation adjustment ensures modest assessed value increases, assuming no 
ownership changes or substantive property improvements. 

New Construction. The California Constitution does not define the terms "new construction" or 
"newly constructed." RTC section 70 defines these terms to mean: 

• Any addition to real property, whether land or improvements (including fixtures) since the 
last lien date. 

• Any alteration of land or any improvements (including fixtures) since the last lien date that 
constitutes a "major rehabilitation" or that converts the property to a different use. 

RTC section 71 requires an Assessor to determine a new base year value for the portion of real 
property that has been newly constructed and provides that the base year value of the remainder 
of the property assessed, which did not undergo new construction, does not change. 

Background:  Existing law authorizes a local agency to provide by ordinance for the creation of 
an ADU in single-family and multifamily residential zones and requires that an ADU comply with 
certain conditions.6 An ADU is defined as an attached or detached residential dwelling unit that 
provides complete independent living facilities for one or more persons and includes permanent 
provisions for living, sleeping, eating, cooking, and sanitation on the same parcel as a single-
family dwelling is situated.7 An ADU also includes an efficiency unit8 and a manufactured home.9

Previous Legislation:  In 2002, Assembly Bill (AB) 1866 (Stats.2002, Ch. 1062) required local 
governments to use a ministerial process for approving ADUs, notwithstanding other laws that 
regulate the issuance of variances or special use permits. A local government may provide for 
the construction of ADUs by ordinance, and may designate areas where ADUs are allowed, as 
well as require standards for parking, setback, lot coverage, and maximum size. If a local 
government has not adopted an ordinance governing ADUs, it must grant a variance or special 

6 Gov. Code, sections 65852.150, 65852.2, and 65852.22. 
7 Gov. Code, section 65852.2(h)(4). 
8 Health & Saf. Code section, 17958.1. 
9 Health & Saf. Code, section 18007.

https://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?lawCode=GOV&sectionNum=65852.150
https://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?lawCode=GOV&sectionNum=65852.2
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?lawCode=GOV&sectionNum=65852.22
https://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?lawCode=HSC&sectionNum=17958.1
https://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?lawCode=HSC&sectionNum=18007
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use permit for the creation of ADUs if the unit complies with requirements specified in statute, 
including size and zoning restrictions. 

In 2016, the California Legislature passed two bills AB 2299, (Stats. 2016 Ch. 735), and SB 1069, 
(Stats. 2016 Ch. 720), that required cities and counties to allow ADUs on most residential lots, 
preempting local zoning ordinances and other permitting processes. In 2023, AB 1033 (Stats. 
2023, Ch. 752) authorized a local agency to adopt a local ordinance to allow the separate 
conveyance of the primary dwelling unit and accessory dwelling unit or units as condominiums. 

Prior 15-Year New Construction Exclusion for Unreinforced Masonry Buildings. 

Proposition 23 was approved by California voters in 1984 and provided a 15-year new 
construction exclusion for improvements to unreinforced masonry buildings undertaken to comply 
with local ordinances on seismic safety.  This new construction exclusion was implemented by 
RTC section 70(d). Former RTC section 70(d) specified that the exclusion was to remain in effect 
during the first 15 years following that reconstruction or improvement unless the property was 
purchased or changed ownership during that period. Former RTC section 70(d) also specifically 
provided that in the sixteenth year following the reconstruction or improvement of the unreinforced 
masonry building, the Assessor was to place on the roll the current full cash value of the portion 
of reconstruction or improvement to the structure that was excluded. In 2010, this 15-year 
exclusion was eliminated, and its seismic safety improvements were incorporated into the seismic 
safety retrofitting new construction exclusion that was approved by voters in 2008 and 
implemented by RTC section 74.5. 

Commentary: 

1. Valuation of New Construction, the Exclusion Amount. When assessable new
construction is added to real property, a County Assessor is required to assess the new
construction at fair market value. The Assessor may determine the market value of the
ADU based on one or more of the following indicators, depending on the availability of
data: a sales comparison evaluation of similar homes in the area with ADUs and
properties without or sales of ADUs, by determining the cost to build or replace the ADU,
or by evaluating the ADU’s income potential.

2. Value to Enroll at End of 10-Year Period. RTC section 75.10 requires a County
Assessor to appraise any new construction at its full cash value on the date the new
construction is completed. However, under former section 70(d), the prior 15-year new
construction exclusion for unreinforced masonry buildings specifically provided that the
value to enroll at the end of the 15-year exclusion period was the current market value.
It would be helpful for this new exclusion to specifically state what value the Assessor is
to enroll at the end of the 10-year exclusion period.

The May 16 amendments clarify that a new base year value will come into effect upon the
occurrence of any one of the following: 1) the passage of 10 years following the ADU
construction completion date, 2) a change in ownership of the ADU, or 3) a conversion of
the ADU to nonresidential use.

3. Base Year Value of an Existing Structure and Land. Existing law specifies that only the
newly constructed portion of property is assessed and that the base year value of the
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remainder of the property, which did not undergo new construction, does not change. 
Thus, this bill is consistent with existing RTC section 70 and 71 requirements.  

4. Construction in Progress. Under RTC section 71, new construction in progress on the 
lien date must be appraised at its full value on the lien date and each lien date thereafter 
until the date of completion. Will construction in progress of an ADU also be eligible for 
this new construction exclusion? If so, how will a County Assessor identify whether a 
permit is for an ADU, as not all local permit-issuing agencies are consistent. 

5. Filing Period. This bill requires a property owner to notify the Assessor prior to or within 
30 days of completion of the project that the property owner intends to claim the exclusion 
for an ADU. The 30-day requirement is a very short time. With other new construction 
exclusions, the notification is done via filing the claim for exclusion. Property owners may 
not know to notify the Assessor within 30 days of completion of the project. If the issue is 
to ensure an Assessor is aware of the intent to file an exclusion within 12 months of the 
date of commencement of construction, perhaps another notification timeframe would be 
preferable, so Assessors know early on that its headed for an exclusion.  

The April 11 amendments require the property owner to provide any additional 
documentation that the Assessor requests, and to file all additional documents necessary 
to support the exclusion with the Assessor no later than six months after the completion 
of the project.  This requirement remains in the May 16 version of the bill. 

Costs:  The BOE would incur costs of approximately $10,237 for fiscal year (FY) 2024-25, 
$64,782 for FY 2025-26 and $729 for the two years thereafter. 

Revenue Impact:  According to the University of California Berkeley Center for Community 
Innovation (CCI), 28,547 ADUs were permitted in California in 2022.  Actual ADUs built in 2022 
totaled 13,439. In a 2021 paper by CCI entitled Implementing the Backyard Revolution: 
Perspectives of California’s ADU Owners, the median statewide construction cost of an ADU was 
estimated to be $150,000.  

Assuming the above numbers reflect the current ADU climate in California, the total annual 
construction cost is estimated to be about $2 billion ($150,000 × 13,439). Based on the 1% 
property tax rate, annual property tax revenue loss is estimated to be about $20 million (1%× $2 
billion).  

The recent homeowner turnover rate in California suggests a rate of 7%. Adjusting for annual 
turnover, we estimate an annual property tax revenue loss of $19 million.  

Qualifying Remark:   

The above analysis provides a revenue impact based on ADUs built annually and the homeowner 
turnover rate. It does not factor in the 10-year mark when the exclusion ends for an ADU.  The 
revenue impact is based on 2021 and 2022 data. According to the California Department of 
Housing and Community Development, 2023 ADU permit data will not be available until mid-June 
2024. 

https://www.aducalifornia.org/wp-content/uploads/2021/04/Implementing-the-Backyard-Revolution.pdf



