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Summary:  Beginning January 1, 2019, provides that property owned by a community land trust (CLT) 

qualifies for the welfare exemption if specified conditions are met and that the exemption cannot be 
denied if the vacant land does not have a residential structure in the course of construction. Provides an 
exception to the escape assessment four-year statute of limitations for property that is not 
rehabilitated, developed, or in the process of being rehabilitated or developed within five years of the 
acquisition of the property by the CLT 

Summary of Amendments:  Since the previous analysis, this bill was amended to add definitions 

for purposes of the welfare exemption and to add an exception to the escape assessment four-year 
statute of limitations if property is not developed or rehabilitated within five years of acquisition. 

Fiscal Impact Summary:  Indeterminable. 

Existing Law:  Welfare Exemption. Existing law provides that low-income rental housing owned and 

operated by a qualifying nonprofit organization1 may be exempt from property tax under the welfare 
exemption, provided various conditions and requirements are met. The law allows an unlimited 
exemption for rental housing owned by a nonprofit organization if it receives government financing or 
low-income housing tax credits.2

  

Lower Income Household Definition. Property tax law defines lower income households by 
cross reference to the Health and Safety Code (HSC).3 In general, lower income households are those 
households with incomes that do not exceed 80 percent of the Area Median Income (AMI) adjusted for 
family size; income limits are established for all geographic areas of the state. The law also requires the 
California Department of Housing and Community Development (HCD) to annually publish these income 
limits based on data by the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD). Existing law4 
allows owners of low-income rental housing properties receiving federal low-income housing tax credits 
to continue to claim the property tax exemption on units occupied by tenants whose household income 
increases after move-in to a level above the lower income limit up to the federal law related limit of 
140 percent of AMI, provided that the units remain rent-restricted. 

Course of Construction. Section 5 of article XIII of the California Constitution was enacted in recognition 
of the fact that the welfare exemption authorized under article XIII, section 4(b) does not apply to 
vacant, unused property held for future qualifying use. Section 5 extends the exemption to buildings 
under construction, land required for their convenient use, and equipment in them if the intended use 
would qualify the property for exemption. Section 5 is implemented by RTC sections 214.1 and 214.2. 

1
 A qualified organization may also be an eligible limited liability company or a limited partnership in which the managing 

general partner is an eligible nonprofit corporation or eligible limited liability company. 
2
 Revenue and Taxation Code (RTC) section 214(g)(1)(A) and section 214(g)(1)(B). 

3
 HSC section 50079.5. Additionally, the BOE annually reports the household income limits to assessors. 

4
 RTC section 214(g)(2)(A)(iii). See Letter To Assessors No. 2017/055.  

                                                           

http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/billNavClient.xhtml?bill_id=201720180SB1056
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?lawCode=CONS&sectionNum=SEC.%205.&article=XIII
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?lawCode=CONS&sectionNum=SEC.%204.&article=XIII
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?lawCode=RTC&sectionNum=214.1
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?lawCode=RTC&sectionNum=214.2
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?lawCode=RTC&sectionNum=214
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?lawCode=HSC&sectionNum=50079.5
http://www.boe.ca.gov/proptaxes/pdf/lta17055.pdf
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RTC section 214.1 defines property used exclusively for religious, hospital or charitable purposes to 
include facilities in the course of construction, together with the land on which the facilities are located 
as may be required for their convenient use and occupation. RTC section 214.2 states that as used in 
RTC section 214.1, "facilities in the course of construction" include the demolition or razing of a building 
with the intent to replace the building with a facility to be used exclusively for religious, hospital or 
charitable purposes. "Facilities in the course of construction" must have activity connected with the 
construction or rehabilitation of a new or existing building or improvement that results in physical 
changes visible to any person inspecting the site where the building or improvement is located.5 As long 
as construction has commenced, the property will be considered "under construction" unless the 
construction is abandoned. However, if there is a delay in construction due to reasonable causes and 
circumstances beyond the property owner's control and that occurs notwithstanding the exercise of 
ordinary care and the absence of willful neglect, then the construction will not be considered 
abandoned. 

Community Land Trusts. Federal law, the Cranston-Gonzales National Affordable Housing Act (Act), 
allows CLTs to obtain organizational support, technical assistance, education, training, and community 
support from the government in fulfilling their housing mission.6 The Act defines "CLT" to mean a 
community housing development organization not sponsored by a for-profit organization, with a 
specified board membership, that is established to carry out the following activities:   

1. Acquire parcels of land, held in perpetuity, primarily for conveyance under long-term ground 
leases;  

2. Transfer ownership of any structural improvements located on the leased parcels to the lessees; 
and  

3. Retain a preemptive option to purchase any structural improvement at a price determined by 
formula designed to ensure that the improvement remains affordable to low and moderate 
income families in perpetuity.  

Fair Market Value of Enforceably Restricted Property. Existing law requires the assessor to reassess 
property to its fair market value when sold (i.e., "change in ownership"). The law provides that the 
property's "purchase price" is rebuttably presumed to be its "fair market value."7 It also provides that 
"purchase price" means the total consideration provided by the purchaser or on the purchaser's behalf, 
valued in money, whether paid in money or otherwise. 

Nonprofit-Imposed Restrictions. When determining a property's fair market value, existing law requires 
the assessor to consider the effect of property use restrictions, such as zoning or development 
limitations, that are legally enforceable and imposed by government.8 Similarly, when determining land 
value, the law requires the assessor to consider the effect of government-imposed restrictions on land 
use.9  

                                                           
5
 Assessors' Handbook Section 267, Welfare, Church, and Religious Exemptions, pages 27-28. 

6
 42 U.S.C. 12773 

7
 RTC section 110(b). 

8
 RTC section 110(a) and Carlson v. Assessment Appeals Board I (1985) 167 Cal.App.3d 1004:  "Enforceable restrictions," defined 

in RTC Section 402.1, include only governmentally imposed land restrictions. 
9
 RTC section 402.1(a) 

http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?lawCode=RTC&sectionNum=214.2
http://www.boe.ca.gov/proptaxes/pdf/ah267.pdf
http://uscode.house.gov/view.xhtml?req=granuleid:USC-prelim-title42-section12773&num=0&edition=prelim
http://www.boe.ca.gov/lawguides/property/current/ptlg/rt/110.html
http://law.justia.com/cases/california/court-of-appeal/3d/167/1004.html
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?lawCode=RTC&sectionNum=402.1
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In the case of a nonprofit organization-imposed use restriction, such as a CLT-imposed resale price 
restriction, generally the law prohibits the assessor from considering its negative value impact.10 
However, the law allows four exceptions:  

 Homes on land with a 30-year use restriction as owner-occupied housing available at affordable 
cost that are sold at cost to low income families by qualifying nonprofit organizations11 with 
no-interest financing (i.e., "silent second mortgage").12  

 Land easements granted to nonprofit organizations to preserve and protect land in its natural 
state.13  

 Greenway easements granted to nonprofit organizations to create paths along urban 
waterways.14  

 Homes with CLT-imposed restrictions that have a renewable 99-year ground lease and limited 
equity due to resale price restrictions that are sold to low and moderate income buyers.15 

For purposes of this restriction, a CLT is defined in RTC section 402.1(a)(11)(B)(ii) as a nonprofit 
corporation organized pursuant to Internal Revenue Code section 501(c)(3) that satisfies all of the 
following: 

 Has as its primary purposes the creation and maintenance of permanently affordable 
single-family or multifamily residences. 

 All dwellings and units located on the land owned by the nonprofit corporation are sold to a 
qualified owner to be occupied as the qualified owner's primary residence or rented to persons 
and families of low or moderate income. 

 The land owned by the nonprofit corporation, on which a dwelling or unit sold to a qualified 
owner is situated, is leased by the nonprofit corporation to the qualified owner for the 
convenient occupation and use of that dwelling or unit for a renewable term of 99 years. 

Purchase Price Presumption. Existing law requires the assessor to reassess property from its prior 
Proposition 13-protected "base year value" to its fair market value when sold (i.e., a "change in 
ownership"). The law provides a rebuttable presumption that the purchase price paid in the transaction 
is the property's "fair market value" if the sale was an open market transaction, as specified.16 

                                                           
10

 Carlson v. Assessment Appeals Board No. 1 (1985) 167 Cal.App.3d 1004: In determining the fair market value of property, an 
assessor is only required to consider governmentally imposed land restrictions. The legislative purpose of this section is to allow 
an assessor to consider restrictions necessary to implement the public policy of encouraging and maintaining effective land use 
planning. Thus, the assessor properly refused to consider deed restrictions placed on a parcel of land when determining the 
value of the property where such restrictions were for the benefit of the seller, involved no public policy regarding land use 
planning, and in no way benefited the public. 
11

 RTC section 214.15 – Added in 1999, by AB 1559, this law extends the welfare exemption to the following property owned by 
nonprofit organizations that sell homes to low income persons at cost with zero percent financing: (1) vacant land held for 
future construction and (2) homes under construction. No other property being developed as homes for sale to low income 
persons qualifies for a property tax exemption under the welfare exemption. Moderate income rental housing qualifies for the 
welfare exemption only if the housing is for seniors and the disabled and includes supportive services based on their special 
needs. 
12

 RTC section 402.1(a)(10) – Added in 2015. HSC section 50052.5 defines "affordable housing cost."  
13

 RTC section 402.1(a)(8)(A) – Added in 1993, but the law since 1984 via Civil Code section 815.10.  
14

 RTC section 402.1(a)(8)(B) – Added in 2015. 
15

 RTC section 402.1(a)(11)(A) – Added in 2016. 
16

 RTC section 110(b). 

https://www.gpo.gov/fdsys/pkg/USCODE-2011-title26/html/USCODE-2011-title26-subtitleA-chap1-subchapF-partI-sec501.htm
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?lawCode=RTC&sectionNum=214.15.
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?lawCode=HSC&sectionNum=50052.5.
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?lawCode=CIV&sectionNum=815.10.
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Long Term Leases. Existing law provides that the creation of a lease for a term of 35 years or longer 
triggers a change in ownership of the property subject to the lease.17 This requires the assessor to reset 
the property's base year value. 

Supplemental Assessment. A supplemental assessment is the difference between a new base year value 
established for a change in ownership or completion of new construction and the taxable value on the 
assessment roll. Depending on the time of year in which the event occurs, either one or two 
supplemental assessments may be generated for that event: one for the current roll (prorated for the 
portion of the year remaining after the event date), and one for the roll being prepared (for events that 
occur between January 1 and May 31). Generally, a supplemental assessment must be made within four 
years of July 1 of the calendar year in which the event occurred.18 Existing law provides two exceptions 
to this four-year statute of limitations: 

 Eight years in cases of concealment of personal property.19  

 Eight years for an unrecorded change in ownership and a Change in Ownership Statement or a 
Preliminary Change in Ownership Report was not timely filed.20 

Escape Assessments. An escape assessment is a retroactive assessment intended to rectify an omission 
or error that caused taxable property to be underassessed (or not assessed at all). In most cases, once 
such an omission or error occurs, the property escapes assessment each year thereafter until the 
underassessment is discovered and corrected. If property escapes assessment, the assessor is required 
to value the property upon discovery for the appropriate valuation date,21 enroll the appropriate value 
on the roll being prepared, process any necessary corrections to the current roll, and process 
appropriate escape assessments for prior years within the statute of limitations. Under existing law,22 
the statute of limitations is generally four years, with the following exceptions: 

 Eight years in cases of concealment of personal property.  

 Eight years for an unrecorded change in ownership and a Change in Ownership Statement or a 
Preliminary Change in Ownership Report was not timely filed. 

 No limitations period in cases of fraud.23  

 No limitations period in cases of a change in ownership or change in control resulting from a 
transfer of an interest in a legal entity that owns real property if a Statement of Change in 
Control or Ownership of Legal Entities was not filed with the State Board of Equalization.24 

                                                           
17

 RTC section 61(c).  
18

 RTC section 75.11(d). 
19

 RTC sections 502 and 504. 
20

 RTC section 480 requires a Change in Ownership Statement must be filed with the county assessor within 90 days of the 
event date or, for a date of death, on or before inventory and appraisal is filed with the court clerk if property is subject to 
probate, or for all other cases arising from a date of death, within 150 days of date of death. RTC section 480.3 requires a 
Preliminary Change of Ownership Report must be filed with the county recorder concurrent with the recordation of any 
document evidencing a change in ownership.  
21

 RTC section 531.  
22

 RTC section 532.  
23

 RTC section 503. 
24

 For a transfer of interest in a legal entity, sections 480.1 and 480.2 require a BOE-100-B, Statement of Change in Control or 
Ownership of Legal Entities, to be filed with the State Board of Equalization within 90 days of the event that triggered a change 
in control or change in ownership. See Letter To Assessors 2011/016 for more information on change in ownership of legal 
entities. 

http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?lawCode=RTC&sectionNum=61.
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?lawCode=RTC&sectionNum=502
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?lawCode=RTC&sectionNum=504
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?lawCode=RTC&sectionNum=480
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?lawCode=RTC&sectionNum=480.3
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?lawCode=RTC&sectionNum=531
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?lawCode=RTC&sectionNum=532
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?lawCode=RTC&sectionNum=503
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?lawCode=RTC&sectionNum=480.1
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?lawCode=RTC&sectionNum=480.2
http://www.boe.ca.gov/proptaxes/pdf/lta11016.pdf
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Proposed Law:  This bill provides that property owned by a CLT qualifies for the welfare exemption 

if (1) the property is being or will be developed or rehabilitated as an owner-occupied single family 
dwelling, owner-occupied unit in a multifamily dwelling, a member-occupied unit in a limited equity 
housing cooperative, or a rental housing development; (2) improvements are or will be available for use 
and ownership by qualified persons; and (3) a deed restriction or other instrument serving as an 
enforceable restriction on the value is recorded. This bill requires a copy of the deed restriction or other 
instrument be provided to the county assessor. RTC section 214.18(a) 

Enforceable Restriction. This bill provides that a deed restriction or other instrument, requiring a 
contract or contracts serving as an enforceable restriction on the value of the owner-occupied units or 
on the affordability of rental units, is recorded on or before the lien date following the acquisition of the 
property by the CLT. This bill defines "a contract or contracts serving as an enforceable restriction on the 
value of the owner-occupied units or on the affordability of rental units" as a contract described in 
section 402.1(a)(11).  RTC section 214.18(a)(3) 

Vacant Land. For property not previously designated as open space, this bill provides that the welfare 
exemption cannot be denied to a property on the basis that the property does not contain a 
single-family dwelling, a unit in a multifamily dwelling, or a unit in a limited equity housing cooperative 
that is in the course of construction. RTC section 214.18(b) 

Community Land Trust. This bill defines "CLT" as having the same meaning as provided in RTC 
section 402.1(a)(11)(B)(ii). RTC section 214.18(c)(1) 

Course of Construction. This bill provides that "course of construction" has the same meaning as the 
term "facilities in the course of construction" is used and defined in sections 214.1 and 214.2. RTC 
section 214.18(c)(2) 

Qualified Person. For property developed for owner-occupied housing, this bill provides that "qualified 
persons" means persons and families of low or moderate income, including persons and families of low 
or moderate income that own a dwelling or unit collectively as member occupants or resident 
shareholders of a limited equity housing cooperative. "Persons and families of low or moderate income" 
has the same meaning as that term is defined in HSC section 50093. For property developed for rental 
housing, this bill provides that "qualified persons" means persons and families of low income. "Persons 
and families of low income" has the same meaning as that term is defined in HSC section 50079.5.  RTC 
sections 214.18(c)(4), (5), and (6) 

Rental Housing Development. This bill defines "rental housing development" as a rental housing 
development in which all of the residential units in the development, other than units provided to 
property managers, are required to be rented to, and occupied by, persons and families of low or 
moderate income, at rents that do not exceed an affordable rent as described in HSC section 50053. RTC 
section 214.18(c)(7) 

Five-Year Period to Rehabilitate or Develop Property. This bill provides that if property is not 
rehabilitated, developed, or in the process of being rehabilitated or developed within five years of the 
acquisition of the property by the CLT, the CLT will be liable for property taxes for the period of 
exemption. In these circumstances, this bill provides that escape assessments are to made within five 
years of the lien date following the date on which the property becomes subject to taxation. RTC 
sections 214.18(d) and 532(b)(4) 

http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?lawCode=HSC&sectionNum=50093
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?lawCode=HSC&sectionNum=50079.5
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?lawCode=HSC&sectionNum=50053
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Effective Date. While this bill takes immediate effect, the exemption applies beginning with the 2019 
lien date (January 1, 2019). RTC section 214.18(e) 

In General:  Other types of privately imposed restrictions. The courts have held that the assessor 

may not consider any other privately imposed restriction that negatively impacts property value when 
determining fair market value for property tax purposes.25 Thus, the assessor may not consider other 
use restrictions imposed by a nonprofit corporation, other than the four statutory exceptions 
enumerated above, or any private party that negatively impact property value. 

The BOE's Assessors' Handbook Section 501, Basic Appraisal, on page 50 reads:  

Enforceable Contractual Land Use Restrictions.  

Deed restrictions that restrict the uses of a property are not the same thing as 
governmentally-imposed restrictions discussed above. Deed restrictions are rights reserved by 
private persons as opposed to limitations imposed by government. In most cases, the property 
tax appraiser should not recognize deed restrictions when analyzing highest and best use. The 
rights to be assessed are the fee simple rights without encumbrances, subject only to the 
limitations imposed by government. A division of the fee simple rights would require a separate 
assessment on each portion, and the assessment of only one portion of the rights would result 
in the illegal exemption of the balance.26  

Assessors' Handbook Section 502, Advanced Appraisal, expands on this issue related to the 
identification of the property rights. Page 6 states: 

All appraisals involve the valuation of a set of defined property rights. With few exceptions, an 
appraisal for California property tax purposes involves the valuation of the entire fee simple 
estate unencumbered by any private interests (e.g., leases, liens, easements, etc.).27 As a 
general rule, private parties cannot reduce the taxable value of their property by imposing 
private encumbrances upon it; only enforceable government restrictions under section 402.1 
are recognized as limiting the full fee simple interest. Thus, Rule 2(a) provides, in part:  

When applied to real property, the words "full value," "full cash value," "cash value," 
"actual value," and "fair market value" mean the prices at which the unencumbered or 
unrestricted fee simple interest in the real property (subject to any legally enforceable 
governmental restrictions) would transfer for cash or its equivalent….  

*** 

                                                           
25

 Carlson v. Assessment Appeals Board I (1985) 167 Cal.App.3d 1004. See Letter To Assessors No. 85/111. 
26

 The BOE's Property Tax Law Guide Annotation of this court case reads: "In determining the fair market value of property, an 
assessor is only required to consider governmentally imposed land restrictions. The legislative purpose of this section is to allow 
an assessor to consider restrictions necessary to implement the public policy of encouraging and maintaining effective land use 
planning. Thus, the assessor properly refused to consider deed restrictions placed on a parcel of land when determining the 
value of the property where such restrictions were for the benefit of the seller, involved no public policy regarding land use 
planning, and in no way benefited the public." 
27

 Encumbrance: "Any right to, or interest in, land that may subsist [i.e., exist] in another to diminution of its value, but 
consistent with the passing of the fee. A claim, lien, charge, or liability attached to and binding real property; e.g., a mortgage; 
judgement lien; mechanic's lien; lease; security interest; easement or right of way; accrued and unpaid taxes." (Black's Law 
Dictionary, 5th edition, s.v. "encumbrance.")  

http://www.boe.ca.gov/proptaxes/pdf/ah501.pdf
http://www.boe.ca.gov/proptaxes/pdf/ah502.pdf
http://www.boe.ca.gov/proptaxes/pdf/85_111.pdf
http://www.boe.ca.gov/lawguides/property/current/ptlg/rt/402-1.html
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In some cases, the appraisal to be made is a partial, or fractional interest in the full fee simple, 
and the property rights appraised are, therefore, less than the full bundle of rights.28 Taxable 
possessory interests; oil, gas, or mineral rights; air rights; transferable development rights; 
and—under certain conditions—water rights all represent cases where the property rights 
appraised are less than the full fee simple interest. Further, as discussed above, the rights 
associated with an easement may be valued and assessed separately under certain 
circumstances. This does not mean that a portion of the full taxable fee simple interest escapes 
taxation; the remaining rights are assessed to another owner. 

Background:  The National CLT network hosts a research page dedicated to CLT-model related tax 

issues. It states: "Creating an equitable taxation policy in conjunction with local government is a key task 
for CLTs and permanently affordable housing programs. What is a fair taxation rate given that CLT 
homeowners will never benefit from the full appraised value of their property? Below, we've included 
information on the theory behind equitable taxation as well as examples of how taxation policies have 
been implemented on the ground in a number of jurisdictions."  

 Property Taxes and Community Land Trusts: A Middle Ground Alese Bagdol. (2013). Texas Law 
Review.  

 Shared Equity Homeownership State Policy Review Ryan Sherriff. (Spring/Summer, 2010) 
Journal of Affordable Housing & Community Development Law, Volume 19(3&4).  

 Taxation_of_Shared-Equity_Homes John Emmeus Davis. (Summer, 2007). Shelterforce, Issue 
150.National Housing Institute.  

 Valuation and Taxation of Resale-restricted, Owner-occupied Housing  Carla J. Robinson. (2008). 
Lincoln Institute of Land Policy Working paper WP08CR1.Lincoln Institute of Land Policy.  

 Valuation of Community Land Trust Homes in New York State David West. (2011) .Journal of 
Property Tax Assessment & Administration, Volume 8(4). 

Additionally, the National CLT Network publishes The CLT Technical Manual (2011) in which Chapter 17, 
"Property Tax Assessments," reviews the varied approaches used in the USA to assess resale-restricted 
homes. 

Commentary:   

1. Author's Comment. Senate Bill 1056 creates more permanent affordable housing for low and 
moderate-income families by providing CLTs with a property tax exemption from the point of 
acquisition of property to the point of sale of affordable homes. 

2. Summary of Amendments. The August 7 amendments (1) add definitions for "course of 
construction" and "persons and families of low income" and clarify the definition of "qualified 
persons," and (2) add an exception to the escape assessment four-year statute of limitations if 
property is not developed or rehabilitated or in the course of being developed or rehabilitated 
within five years of acquisition. The April 25 amendments (1) add a rental housing development 
to the list of properties that would qualify for exemption, (2) clarify that a deed restriction or 
other instrument requires an enforceable restriction on the value of owner-occupied units or on 
the affordability of rental units, and (3) require a copy of the deed restriction or other 
instrument be provided to the assessor. 

                                                           
28

 The full taxable fee simple interest in the property is still assessed. 

http://cltnetwork.org/topics/taxation/
http://heinonline.org/HOL/LandingPage?handle=hein.journals/tlr91&div=29&id=&page
http://cltnetwork.org/wp-content/uploads/2014/01/2010-Shared-Equity-Homeownership-State-Policy-Review.pdf
https://shelterforce.org/2008/06/12/taxation_of_shared_equity_homes/
https://community-wealth.org/content/valuation-and-taxation-resale-restricted-owner-occupied-housing
http://cltnetwork.org/wp-content/uploads/2014/01/2011-Valuation-of-CLT-Homes-in-NY.pdf
http://cltnetwork.org/wp-content/uploads/2014/01/MASTER-CLT-MANUAL.pdf
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3. Community Land Trust. RTC section 402.1(a)(11) provides that an enforceable restriction 
includes a contract that is a renewable 99-year ground lease between a CLT and the qualified 
owner of an owner-occupied single family dwelling or an owner-occupied unit in a multifamily 
dwelling. 

4. Effective Date. This bill takes effect beginning with the 2019 lien date (January 1). Thus, 
property currently owned by CLTs would become exempt for the 2019-20 fiscal year. Property 
that is acquired by the CLT on or after January 1, 2019 would become exempt as of the date of 
acquisition. 

5. Vacant Land. Generally vacant land does not qualify for the welfare exemption until 
construction has commenced. This bill sets a precedent in that it exempts vacant land owned by 
a CLT if the intended use would qualify. 

6. Deed or Other Instrument Restriction. This bill provides that one of the conditions that must be 
met is a deed restriction or other instrument, requiring a contract or contracts serving as an 
enforceable restriction on the value of the owner-occupied units or on the affordability of rental 
units is recorded on or before the lien date following the acquisition of the property by the CLT. 
This is unclear. Does this refer to a restriction on value for property tax purposes or a restriction 
on the value for resale purposes? Enforceable restrictions (by deed or other instrument) that 
restrict the use of the land must be taken into account by the assessor when valuing the 
property pursuant to RTC section 402.1. The author may want to clarify what type of restriction 
would qualify the property for the welfare exemption, rather than tying the restriction to the 
valuation of the property, such as: 

(3) (A) A deed restriction or other instrument, requiring a contract or contracts 
serving as an enforceable restriction on the value use of owner-occupied units 
or on the affordability of rental units, is recorded on or before the lien date 
following the acquisition of the property by the community land trust.  

(B) For purposes of this section, “a contract or contracts serving as an 
enforceable restriction on the value use of owner-occupied units or on the 
affordability of rental units” means a contract described in paragraph (11) of 
subdivision (a) of Section 402.1. 

7. Five-Year Period to Develop or Rehabilitate Property. As amended, this bill provides that if 
property is not developed or rehabilitated, or in the course of construction, within five years of 
acquisition, the CLT will be liable for property taxes for the exemption period. The meaning of 
this is vague due to the placement of the comma. Does the author intend to require that either 
the development or rehabilitation be completed before the end of the five-year period? If so, 
how will completion be measured? Alternatively, does the author intend that the development 
or rehabilitation of property merely begin its "course of construction" by the end of the five year 
period?  

8. Escape Assessment. For property that has not been rehabilitated or developed, or is not in the 
process of being rehabilitated or developed within five years of the acquisition of the property 
by the CLT, this bill provides that escape assessments are to made within five years of the lien 
date following the date on which the property becomes subject to taxation. From the date of 
acquisition, a CLT would have five years to at least commence construction to rehabilitate or 
develop that property. If construction has not begun on the fifth anniversary of that acquisition 
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date, then the property becomes assessable on that date. From the lien date following that 
anniversary date, the assessor would have five years to value and enroll the escape assessments 
for the years previously exempt. 

For example, if a property is purchased October 1, 2019 and construction has not begun by 
October 1, 2024, the property becomes assessable on October 1, 2024. From the following lien 
date, January 1, 2025, the assessor have until January 1, 2030 to issue escape assessments back 
to the 2020-21 fiscal year (lien date 2020, which follows the date of acquisition). 

9. Supplemental Assessment. The methodology for counting the periods open under the statute 
of limitations for escape assessments are different than counting the limitations period open for 
supplemental assessments. Supplemental assessment limitations periods are counted forward 
from July 1 of the calendar year29 in which the event occurred; the escape assessment 
limitations period is counted back from the date of enrollment. While this bill provides for 
escape assessments once an exempt property becomes taxable, this bill does not provide an 
exception to the four-year statute of limitations for supplemental assessments. Generally, a 
supplemental assessment must be made within four years of July 1 of the calendar year in which 
the event occurred.  

For example, a CLT purchases real property, and a deed is recorded on November 15, 2019. To 
be exempt, the CLT must begin or complete construction by November 15, 2024. If construction 
has not at least begun by November 15, 2024, the CLT will be liable for property taxes on the 
January 1, 2025 lien date as follows: 

 2019-20 fiscal year – partial year December 1, 2019 through June 30, 2020 

 2020-21 fiscal year 

 2021-22 fiscal year 

 2022-23 fiscal year 

 2023-24 fiscal year 

 2024-25 fiscal year 

Escape assessments apply to the lien date and can be issued for years 2020-21, 2021-22, 
2022-23, 2023-24, and 2024-25. However, an escape assessment cannot be issued for the 
portion of the year after the date of acquisition (2019-20) as the CLT was not the owner as of 
the 2019 lien date (January 1, 2019) for that fiscal year. Moreover, a supplemental assessment 
cannot be issued for the year of acquisition (2019-20) because the supplemental assessment 
must be enrolled by July 1, 2023, prior to the date that the CLT would become liable for the 
assessment.  

Even though this bill provides that the CLT would become liable for the property tax, the 
assessor may not have a means to assess the property in the year of acquisition under current 
law. The author may want to consider adding an exception to RTC section 75.11(d) to mirror the 
statute of limitations exception in proposed RTC section 532(b)(4). 

                                                           
29

 RTC section 75.11 uses the term "assessment year," which is defined in RTC section 118 as the period between lien dates. 
Since the lien date is January 1, the assessment year is the same as the calendar year. 
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10. Change in Ownership. Under current law once a CLT sells a dwelling and transfers the leasehold 
interest to a qualified purchaser, the exemption ceases and the property is reassessed. The 
creation, transfer, or termination of a leasehold interest with a term of 35 years or more is a 
reassessable change in ownership.30 Additionally, if the conditions of RTC section 402.1(a)(11) 
are met, the assessor must consider the effect on value of any enforceable deed restrictions 
when assessing the underlying land. 

11. Related Legislation. Senate Bill 1115 (Hill) proposes to also add section 214.18 to the RTC, in 
regards to the welfare exemption and the proposed removal of the $10,000,000 exemption cap. 

Costs:  The BOE's costs to update its documents, website materials, and provide guidance to assessors 

are absorbable. 

Revenue Impact:  We know that over the long term, CLTs hope to develop and sell between 1,600 

to 2,500 homes in California. Revenue impact depends on (1) the number of properties owned by CLTs 
now and in the future; and (2) the differential, if any, between the restricted price and the 
assessor-determined fair market value after considering the use and resale restrictions and the limited 
applicability of comparable market sales. At this time, based on these unknown factors, the revenue 
impact is indeterminable. 

                                                           
30

 RTC section 61(c). 

http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/billNavClient.xhtml?bill_id=201720180SB1115
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?lawCode=RTC&sectionNum=61



