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Amend Government Code Section 15606.5 and Revenue and Taxation Code 
Sections 670 and 671 to expressly allow the Board to deliver online 
continuing education training to certificated property tax appraisers 
through established web-based systems maintained by community 
colleges that charge fees for online courses. 
Source:  Senate Bill 1777, 2008 (Property and Special Taxes Department) 
Existing Law 
Under Revenue and Taxation Code Section 670 (effective 1967) any person 
performing the duties of an appraiser for property tax purposes as an employee 
of the state, any county, or any city and county must hold a valid appraiser's 
certificate issued by the Board.  Sections 670 through 673, and Property Tax 
Rules 281 through 284, govern the issuance of such certificates. 
For property tax purposes, Rule 281 defines an appraiser as one who renders 
value judgments and/or makes building classification judgments for cost 
estimating purposes in the administration of the valuation phase of ad valorem 
property taxation under Article XIII and Article XIII A of the California Constitution.  
Rule 282 requires the Board to issue to a qualified applicant, performing the 
duties of a property tax appraiser, a temporary appraiser's certificate which is 
valid for a one year period and allows an appraiser to perform the duties of a 
property tax appraiser during the one year training period. 
In order to continue performing appraisal duties after the expiration of the training 
period, a permanent appraiser's certification must be achieved within one year of 
employment.  A permanent appraiser's certification is granted when an individual 
attains a passing grade on an examination, prepared or approved by the Board, 
which covers fundamental property tax appraisal concepts.  Once granted, the 
permanent appraiser's certificate remains valid, subject to the 24 hour annual 
training requirement set forth in Section 671 and Rule 284, for as long as the 
individual performs the duties of an appraiser for property tax purposes.  There 
are approximately 2,800 certificated appraisers statewide. 
Generally, certificated appraisers must annually complete 24 hours of continuing 
education to retain their certificate.  Some of this training is provided by the 
Board.  Much of it is obtained through outside sources:  conferences hosted by 
various organizations such as the California Assessor’s Association, in-house 
training days put on by an individual county assessor’s office or a closely located 
group of counties, and appraisal courses offered through professional appraisal 
institutions.   
Section 671 provides that the continuing education must be conducted or 
approved by the Board.  With respect to any training provided by the Board, 
Section 670 provides that the Board can not charge for any of the training it 
conducts.  Additionally, Government Code Section 15606 provides that the Board 
is required to prepare and issue instructions to assessors designed to promote 
uniformity throughout the state in the assessment of property for the purposes of 
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taxation, which it does in part through its educational courses, while Government 
Code Section 15606.5 requires that the Board provide this training on a non-
reimbursable basis.  With the exception of in-house training provided by the 
county assessor, most other training typically results in costs to the county – 
such as a conference fee or a course fee.   
This Proposal 
Community College Online Courses.  This proposal amends Government 
Code Section 15606.5 and Revenue and Taxation Code Section 670 to 
expressly allow the Board to deliver online continuing education training to 
certificated property tax appraisers through established web-based systems 
maintained by community colleges that charge fees for online courses. 
To address the needs of assessors and their staff statewide, Board staff would 
like to make appraiser training courses available on an online basis through a 
state institution of higher education, specifically community colleges.  This would 
result in cost savings to assessors and the Board because travel costs 
associated with attending a classroom environment course would be eliminated 
(lodging, transportation, food, etc.).  Delivering online courses via the 
aforementioned method would allow the redirecting of Board resources to meet 
the needs of other mandated but under-funded training activities.  Use of a state 
institution of higher education to host online courses would facilitate delivery of 
training and result in cost savings to the Board by avoiding system development 
and maintenance costs.   
While the Board would be conducting the training, these institutions typically 
charge fees.  These fees are not paid directly to the Board nor would any part of 
the fees be ultimately remitted to the Board.  Due to the prohibition in 
Government Code Section 15606.5 and Revenue and Taxation Code Section 
670, the Board cannot charge for its training courses.  Therefore, those sections 
should be modified to clarify that a fee charged by the hosting educational 
institution is not a charge by the Board and thus allows the Board to pursue the 
use of providing online courses through web-based systems used and 
maintained by community colleges that charge fees for online courses. 
California Assessors' Association Name Change.  This proposal updates the 
name of the assessors' association from the State Association of County 
Assessors to the California Assessors’ Association in Sections 670 and 671 to 
reflect the association's current name. 
Section 15606.5 of the Government Code is amended to read: 

15606.5. Training of assessors and their staffs staff under Sections 
15606 and 15608 shall be provided by the board on a nonreimbursable 
basis.  Where the board provides training to assessors and their staff 
through an online course that is hosted by an educational institution of 
collegiate grade, fees paid directly to the educational institution shall not 
be deemed reimbursement to the board. 
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Section 670 of the Revenue and Taxation Code is amended to read: 
670. (a) No person shall perform the duties or exercise the authority of 

an appraiser for property tax purposes as an employee of the state, any 
county, or city and county, unless he or she is the holder of a valid 
appraiser’s or advanced appraiser’s certificate issued by the State Board 
of Equalization. 

(b) The board shall provide for the examination of applicants for these 
certificates and may contract with the State Personnel Board to give the 
examinations. Examinations shall be prepared by the board with the 
advice and assistance of a committee of five assessors selected by the 
State California Assessors' Association of County Assessors the California 
Assessors’ Association for this purpose. No certificate shall be issued to 
any person who has not attained a passing grade in the examination and 
demonstrated to the board that he or she is competent to perform the work 
of an appraiser as that competency is defined in regulations duly adopted 
by the board. However, any applicant for a certificate who is denied the 
same shall have a right to a review of that denial in accordance with the 
State Administrative Procedure Act contained in Chapter 5 (commencing 
with Section 11500) of Part 1 of Division 3 of Title 2 of the Government 
Code. 

(c) Passage of a civil service or merit system examination for appraiser 
given by the state, or any county, or city and county, shall suffice to meet 
the requirements of this section. The scope of the examination shall be 
approved by the State Board of Equalization. 

(d) No employee of the state, or any county or city and county shall 
perform the duties or exercise the authority of an auditor or an auditor-
appraiser under Section 469 or Section 15624 of the Government Code, 
unless he or she holds a degree with a specialization in accounting from a 
recognized institution of higher education, or is a licensed accountant in 
the State of California, or has passed the state, or a county, or city and 
county county, city and county, or city civil service or merit system 
examination regularly given for the position of accountant or auditor by the 
testing body, or holds the office of assessor. 

(e) Except for persons holding the office of assessor, this section does 
not apply to elected officials. 

(f) (1) No charge shall be made to counties or to applicants for 
examinations and certifications under this section or for training conducted 
by the board under Section 671. 

(2) Where the board provides training through an online course that is 
hosted by an educational institution, fees paid directly to the educational 
institution shall not be considered charges for purposes of this section. 

1-6(onlinetraining).doc 



PROPERTY TAXES (2009) 
SUGGESTION NO. 1-6 

PAGE 4 OF 4 
 

Section 671 of the Revenue and Taxation Code is amended to read: 
671. (a) In order to retain a valid appraiser’s certificate every holder 

shall complete at least 24 hours of training conducted or approved by the 
State Board of Equalization in each one-year period. 

Any excess in training time over the 24-hour minimum accumulated in 
any one year shall be carried over as credit for future training 
requirements with a limit of three years in which the carryover time may be 
credited. Failure to receive such training shall constitute grounds for 
revocation of an appraiser’s certificate; provided, however, that 
proceedings to revoke shall be conducted in accordance with the 
Administrative Procedure Act contained in Chapter 5 (commencing with 
Section 11500) of Part 1 of Division 3 of Title 2 of the Government Code. 
Training shall include, but not be limited to, new developments in the case 
and statutory law and administrative rules. 

(b) An advanced appraiser’s certificate shall be issued by the board 
after an applicant has held an appraiser’s certificate for at least three 
years and: 

(1) Has successfully completed a course of study; or 
(2) Has passed an advanced level examination; or 
(3) Holds a valid professional designation from a recognized 

professional organization. 
The board, with the advice and assistance of five assessors selected 

by the State Association of County Assessors of California the California 
Assessors’ Association, shall prescribe the course of study, prepare the 
advanced level examination, and approve the professional designation.  

In order to retain a valid advanced appraiser's certificate, every holder 
shall complete at least 12 hours of training in each one-year period. 

Any excess in training time for the advanced appraiser's certificate 
over the 12-hour minimum accumulated in any one year shall be carried 
over as a credit for future training requirements with a limit of two years in 
which the carryover time may be credited. 

Failure to receive such training shall constitute grounds for revocation 
of an advanced appraiser's certificate; provided, however, that 
proceedings to revoke shall be conducted in accordance with the 
Administrative Procedure Act contained in Chapter 5 (commencing with 
Section 11500) of Part 1 of Division 3 of Title 2 of the Government Code. 

Training to retain the advanced appraiser's certificate shall include, but 
not be limited to, new developments in the case and statutory law and 
administrative rules. 
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