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Preface 

This publication is intended as a guide to the California Timber Yield Tax Law and your responsibilities as a timber owner. 
The timber yield tax is a property tax with a current rate of 2.9 percent. Timber owners must report and pay the tax when 
they harvest their trees, or “timber.” The Timber Yield Tax Law is administered by the state Board of Equalization (BoE). 
The tax revenue, less administrative costs, is returned to the county where the trees were harvested. 

We welcome your suggestions for improving this publication.   
Please write to: 

Timber Tax section, MIC:60 
 
state Board of Equalization 
 
Po Box 942879 
 
sacramento, CA 94279-0060
 


You may also comment by completing our survey found at www.boe.ca.gov/info/survey/htm. 

➤	 We have used this arrow to mark sections of the publication that address the timber yield tax requirements most often 
misunderstood by taxpayers. Please take the time to read these marked sections carefully. 

Please note: This publication summarizes the law and application regulations in effect when the publication was written, as noted 
on the cover. However, changes in the law or in regulations may have occured since that time. If there is a conflict the text in this 
publication and the law, the decision will be based on the law and not on this publication. 

http://www.boe.ca.gov/lawguides/property/current/ptlg/rt/part18-5.html
http://www.boe.ca.gov/info/survey.htm
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Timber Yield Tax Basics 
This chapter contains basic information on the timber yield tax, including which harvests and products are taxable, who has 
the responsibility for paying the tax, how and when the tax applies, and information on the registration process. 

General application of tax 
The timber yield tax applies to the harvest of forest trees, whether standing or down, for wood products. As a timber owner, 
you generally owe the timber yield tax when your trees are harvested: 

•	 Regardless of the number of trees removed. 
•	 Whether you sell, give away, trade, or use the trees yourself. 
•	 Whether you have received any money for the trees. 
•	 Whether the trees were diseased, dead, dying, or down. 
•	 Whether the trees were harvested on public or private land (except for Indian tribal lands). 
•	 Whether the land is designated as a Timberland Production Zone or zoned for some other use. 

Please note: You owe the tax even though you may have filed an exemption form with the California Department of 
Forestry and Fire Protection (Cal Fire). such “exemptions” refer only to state timber harvest regulations and do not affect 
your tax liability. 

Exceptions 
You do not owe the timber yield tax if: 

•	 The trees are left lying on the ground, unused. 
•	 You transfer ownership of the timber to a logger or to another person before the trees were cut and are, therefore, 

not the property of the timber owner. For this to apply, you must have a written contract that specifically transfers 
ownership of the trees to the other party before they are cut down. Please note: Most harvest contracts for felling and 
marketing timber do not transfer ownership of the timber before harvest. 

•	 You remove trees from Indian tribal lands. 
•	 You are a tax-exempt organization that does not pay property taxes on the land where the trees are growing. 
•	 Your timber harvest has an immediate harvest value of $3,000 or less within a quarter. See the definition of immediate 

harvest value. 

➤ You pay tax based on BOE-established timber values. 
The timber yield tax you pay is based on values established by the state for various timber products, as determined by 
analysis of market transactions in your area. You do not pay tax based on the amount you receive for your trees or wood 
products. The BoE issues schedules of timber harvest values twice each year. 

Taxable wood products 
Taxable wood products include: 

•	 Softwood logs from trees such as cedar, fir, hemlock, pine, redwood, and spruce. 
•	 Other, miscellaneous wood products such as fuel (fire) wood, chipwood, poles and pilings, posts, split products 

(shingles and shakes), and Christmas trees. 
•	 Hardwood logs from trees such as alder, chinquapin, cottonwood, eucalyptus, madrone, maple, oak, tanoak, and 

willow. 
•	 Cull logs (logs with less than one-quarter sound, usable wood). 

other products from forest trees, such as branches, burls, cones, and seeds, are not subject to the tax. 
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In addition, the timber yield tax does not apply to the following: 

•	 Orchard trees (fruits and nuts) 
•	 Nursery stock 
•	 Live Christmas trees sold in containers 

➤ Timber owner must pay the tax. 
As a timber owner, you have the responsibility for filing timber yield tax returns and paying any tax due. This is true 
even if you made a verbal or written agreement with another person stating that they will pay the tax. 

Timber owner, defined 
You are considered a timber owner if: 

•	 You own the trees immediately prior to their being felled or harvested; or 
•	 You are the first person or agency (not exempt from property tax) to acquire legal or beneficial rights to timber after 

felling, when the trees were owned by a state, federal, or other tax-exempt entity. Examples of such agencies are the 
u.s. Forest service (usFs) and Bureau of Land Management (BLM). 

A timber owner can be an individual, government agency, or legal entity such as a partnership, limited liability company, or 
corporation. 

Tax applies when the trees are moved or used. 
The timber yield tax applies when your trees are cut down and/or moved to any storage or wood processing area, such as 
a sawmill. If you use the logs yourself, the tax applies when the timber is moved to a storage area somewhere else on your 
property or when they are put into use, whichever occurs first. 

The BOE automatically registers many timber owners. 
The BoE receives notice of timber harvest plans filed with Cal Fire and of federal government agency timber harvest 
contracts. If you filed harvest forms with Cal Fire or purchased a timber contract from federal agencies such as the usFs 
or BLM, the BoE’s Timber Tax section will establish a timber yield tax account for you and assign an account number. 
You will automatically be sent timber tax return forms and harvest value schedules, instructions on how to complete the 
returns, and a copy of this publication. You will remain registered with the BoE—and will be required to file timber tax 
returns—until you notify us, in writing, that you no longer intend to harvest timber. 

Exception: The BoE will not register the owners of timber harvests that appear to have, in total, an immediate harvest value 
of $3,000 or less within a quarter. 

Other timber owners must contact the BOE to register. 
If you own and harvest timber without authorization from Cal Fire or the federal government, use a timber harvest plan 
approved for someone else, or sell Christmas trees from a Christmas tree farm, it is your responsibility to contact the BoE 
to register for the timber yield tax. 

Information required for registration 
Whether you are automatically registered or call the BoE to register for the tax, you will be asked to furnish: 

•	 The name(s) of the legal timber owner(s) 
•	 Your driver license number 
•	 Your Social Security number 
•	 Your phone number 
•	 Your mailing address (and county name) 
•	 The type of ownership (individual, partnership, corporation, husband and wife, domestic partner, other) 
•	 Type of harvest products (logs, fuelwood, Christmas trees, other) 
•	 First date of harvesting (cutting the trees) 

2 July 2011 • guide to the California Timber Yield Tax 
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The BoE may request additional information necessary to fully complete your registration. 

Please note: All information about your account is considered confidential, including your account number and even the 
fact that you are registered. If you want the BoE to send forms or information about your account to another party, you 
will need to give specific written authorization to the Timber Tax section. 

Other taxes and regulations 
The timber yield tax is a property tax based on the value of your timber. other taxes, including sales tax and state and 
federal income tax, may apply to your operations. Complying with the requirements of the timber yield tax does not relieve 
you of your responsibility to comply with other applicable laws, including timber harvest laws and regulations. 

guide to the California Timber Yield Tax • July 2011 3 



         

 

 

  

	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	

 

 
	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	

                     
 

               

                     

Timber Tax Definitions 
This section defines some of the terms used in this publication and on timber yield tax forms, Harvest Values schedules, and 
returns. Some of the terms may have a different meaning in another context. It is important that you understand the way they 
are used in this tax program, especially before you complete any tax return forms. 

Cull 
unusable portion of a log that is caused by a defect in the log. 

Cull log 
A log with less than one-quarter of its volume made up of sound, usable material. Logs with unsound sapwood are not cull 
logs if they contain one-quarter or more sound, usable material. 

Harvest name or sale name 
Any name associated with a timber sale contract (legal harvesting agreement). 

Harvest value/immediate harvest value 
The value of trees just before they are harvested, determined by the BoE and shown on the Harvest Values Schedule. 

Low-value harvest 
A timber harvest with an immediate harvest value of $3,000 or less within a quarter. 

Low-value exemption 
The timber yield tax exemption that applies to low-value harvests. 

MBF 
Thousand board feet (scribner short-Log scale). The standard measure of logs. 

Miscellaneous timber products 
Products such as Christmas trees, fuelwood, chipwood, poles, posts, split products (shakes and shingles), small sawlogs, 
and cull logs. 

Sawlogs, small 
small sawlogs (ssM) are conifer logs of any species, except coastal redwood, split products, and poles and pilings, where 
the average net volume per 16-ft log for all sawlogs removed from a timber harvest operation during the reporting quarter 
is less than 65 board feet, scribner short Log scale. 

Scaling 
Measuring logs to determine the volume of sound wood. 

Scale ticket 
A document that shows the volume of wood in logs delivered to a sawmill. 

Scribner Short-Log Scale 
A method of determining the volume of usable wood in a log, based on a 16-foot log. The standard scaling method 
authorized by the BoE for reporting sawlog volume. 

Timber harvest operation 
A harvest on private land for an entire Timber Harvesting Plan, Notice of Timber Operations, or Emergency Notice (or any 
combination within the same geographical area), as submitted to Cal Fire; or, a harvest on public land for an entire timber 
sale contract between a public agency and a purchaser. 
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Timber Value Area (TVA) 
A geographic area of the state having common timber growing, harvesting, and marketing conditions, as defined by the 
BoE. 

Volume 
The quantity of wood in a log or tree. 

Volume, adjusted gross 
The amount of wood material in a log after deducting for areas where the wood material is missing (used to report cull log 
volume). 

Volume, net 
The amount of sound, usable wood material in a log after deducting for areas where wood is missing or defective. 

guide to the California Timber Yield Tax • July 2011 5 
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Filing Timber Tax returns


This chapter contains basic information on timber tax return filing requirements, including due dates, and information on 
penalty and interest charges. Detailed information regarding how to properly complete your timber tax return is found in 
Completing Tax Forms, beginning on page 12. 

You must file quarterly returns 
For most accounts, timber yield tax returns must be filed for each calendar quarter. However, if Christmas trees are the 
only forest product you harvest, you will file a return only for the fourth quarter of each year. 

The filing date is the last day of the month following the end of the quarter, as shown below. 

Quarterly Reporting Period Due Date 
1 January 1 through March 31 April 30 
2 April 1 through June 30 July 31 
3 July 1 through september 30 october 31 
4 october 1 through December 31 January 31 

Timber tax returns must be postmarked by the due date. If the due date falls on a saturday, sunday, or legal holiday, the 
next business day is considered the final filing date. If you do not file your timber tax return by the date it is due, you may 
be subject to interest and penalty charges (see “Penalty and interest charges for late filing,” on the next page). 

➤

You must file quarterly timber tax returns as long as you remain registered with the BoE, even if you do not harvest 
any timber during a reporting period. A check box on the return allows you to indicate that you did not harvest timber 
during the period. 

If you are reporting only a low-value harvest 
You must file a return even if all of your harvests for the reporting period qualify for the low-value exemption. use the 
check box on the timber tax return form to indicate that all of your harvests qualify for the low-value exemption and that 
no timber tax is due. 

If you will not harvest in the future 
Another check box on the timber tax return form allows you to indicate when you have no further timber harvests to 
report. If you check this box, your account will be closed and forms will no longer be sent to you. You can reregister at any 
time. 

Required forms are mailed to you 
near the end of the calendar quarter, the BoE will mail you the forms necessary to properly report your timber tax. You 
will receive two forms—BoE-401-APT, Timber Tax Harvest Report, which is used to report basic information about your 
harvest and to calculate total harvest value, and BoE-401-1PT, Timber Tax Return, itself. 

➤	Please note: You must file your quarterly timber tax return on time even if you do not receive one in the mail. If you 
do not receive your tax return forms by the tenth day after the end of the calendar quarter, please call the Taxpayer 
Information section (see page 26) and ask for replacement forms or you may download them from our website at 
www.boe.ca.gov/proptaxes/timbertax.htm. 

If you have more than one harvest or cut trees in more than one county or Timber Value Area 
Although you will file only one Timber Tax Return per quarter, you will need to file a separate Timber Tax Harvest Report 
for each harvest operation, each county, and each timber value area in which you harvest timber. If you need additional 
report forms, you may photocopy the blank one sent to you, download one from www.boe.ca.gov/proptaxes/timbertax.htm 
or call the Taxpayer Information section to request additional blank harvest report forms. 
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Harvest Values Schedules are needed to complete your return. 
since you do not compute your tax based on the amount of money you received for your trees or timber products, the 
BoE will also send you Harvest Values Schedules that you must use to determine the proper value on which to calculate 
the timber yield tax. The Harvest Values Schedule instructions provide detailed explanations for the various reporting 
requirements (see page 12). If you do not receive the value schedules you need to complete your return, you can download 
them from www.boe.ca.gov/proptaxes/timbertax.htm. or you can call the Taxpayer Information section (see page 26) and 
ask that they be mailed or faxed to you. 

Penalty and interest charges for late filing 
You may owe penalty and interest charges if you do not file a quarterly tax return or file after the due date, or if you do not 
pay the tax you owe by the date it is due. 

The penalty for filing or paying late is ten percent of any tax amount due that was not paid by the due date. Interest accrues 
on a daily basis. The rate (which may change twice a year) is printed on your tax return, expressed as a daily interest factor. 

Example: 
Your second quarter 2011 timber tax return was due on July 31, 2011, but you did not file until August 15, 2011. Your 
Timber Tax Return form shows tax due of $1,000. Since your return and payment are late, you owe a penalty of $100 
($1,000 x 10%). In addition, you owe interest for 15 days. 

The daily interest factor printed on your return is 0.0001096 (4% annual rate ÷ 365 days). The amount of interest
 
you owe is $1.64 ($1,000 tax x 0.0001096 daily interest factor x 15 days). The total amount due with your return is
 
$1,101.64 ($1,000 tax + $100 penalty + $1.64 interest).
 

Requesting a filing or payment extension 
Circumstances beyond your control may cause you to be late in filing your return or making your tax payment. If that 
occurs, you may request a time extension, provided you file and pay the amount due within one month of the due date. You 
may request an extension two ways. You may include a letter with your tax return explaining the reason your payment 
is late. or, you may complete a BoE-468, Request for Extension of Time to File a Tax Return, and mail it back to the BoE 
with a copy of your return or prepayment. This form can be found on www.boe.ca.gov. If the extension is granted, the ten 
percent penalty for late payment will be waived. 

Please note: The BoE cannot waive the interest charge for late payments. 

Requesting relief from late payment penalty 
If you pay your timber yield tax more than one month after it is due, you may wish to seek relief from the late payment 
penalty. To do so, you need to file a statement “under penalty of perjury” (be sure to include those words) explaining why 
your payment is late, and why you believe the penalty should not apply. or, you may complete BoE-735, Request for Relief 
of Penalty, which is found on www.boe.ca.gov, and send it to: 

Timber Tax section, MIC:60
 

state Board of Equalization

Po Box 942879
 

sacramento, CA 94279-0060
 


The BoE may grant your request for penalty relief and waive the ten percent penalty. As previously noted, any interest due 
will still apply. 

Filing a corrected return 
You may need to file corrected forms for the calendar quarter if you find that you made a mistake on your original 
timber tax return. The best way to provide the correct information is to mark your corrections in red on a photocopy of 
the original form. (If corrections are extensive, you may choose to use entirely new forms.) In either case, please print 
“CorrECTED” at the top of the form. 
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➤	Please note: Be sure not to make adjustments or corrections for one quarter on a timber tax return for a different 
quarter. 

If you underpaid tax 
If your correction shows that you underpaid the timber tax, you must file the corrected tax return forms and pay the 
additional tax due, plus interest for the number of days that passed between the original due date and the date you pay the 
additional tax (see example on previous page). 

If you overpaid tax 
If your correction shows that you overpaid the timber tax, you may submit a written claim for refund. If your correction 
shows that you overpaid the timber tax, you may submit a completed BoE-101, Claim for Refund or Credit, which is on our 
website or a simple written letter requesting the refund. Please be sure that the letter clearly states your name and timber 
tax account number and the specific reasons you believe you have overpaid tax. It is best to include a photocopy of your 
original tax return forms with corrections shown in red. Claims for refund must be submitted within three years of the due 
date for the calendar quarter involved, or within six months of the date of the overpayment, whichever period expires last. 
Be sure to sign and date your claim. 

Billing for tax due when return not filed 
If, for any reason, you do not file a quarterly timber tax return, the BoE may bill you for tax we determine you owe for 
the period, based on the best information available to us, including your filing history. Any such billing will also include 
interest and penalty due. 

If you believe that the billed amount is wrong or excessive, it is your responsibility to provide evidence showing you owe 
less tax. 

If you refuse to file a return or to furnish information 
If you refuse to file a timber yield tax return or furnish information requested by the BOE, you may be fined up to $5,000, 
imprisoned for up to one year in county jail, or both, for each violation. If the BoE determines that you did not file a return 
or purposely understated your tax because of fraud or intent to evade the timber tax, you will be billed a 25 percent penalty 
and be subject to criminal prosecution. 
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Keeping records
 

This chapter gives general information on the recordkeeping requirements of the Timber Yield Tax Law. For more detailed 
information, you may wish to obtain a copy of Property Tax Rule 1031, records, from our website. 

Maintaining adequate records 
You must maintain adequate and complete records that will back up your timber yield tax returns, and make them available 
to the BoE upon request. Your records need to show all of the following: 

•	 The contractual or financial agreements related to the ownership and logging of your trees 
•	 The locations of the trees cut 
•	 Wood product volumes 
•	 The basis for computing harvest values 

The timber industry customarily uses a variety of items to record this information. Your records may include the following: 

•	 Financial books (ledgers and journals) 
•	 Income tax returns 
•	 Complete harvest plans 
•	 Timber sale contracts 
•	 Bills, receipts, invoices, statements, worksheets, and summaries 
•	 Check stubs 
•	 Scale tickets 
•	 Appraisal notes 
•	 Property maps 
•	 Any other document used in preparing your timber tax return or that can substantiate your return 

Records on microfilm or in electronic format 
You may maintain your records on microfilm or in an electronic format, provided they meet certain requirements. For 
more information, see Property Tax rule 1031, Records, or contact the BoE’s Timber Tax section. 

Record retention period 
You must generally maintain records for a period of four years from the due date of your quarterly tax return, or the date 
the return was filed, whichever is later. 

If you do not maintain records 
If you do not keep and maintain complete and accurate records, the BoE may consider that as evidence of negligence or 
intent to evade the timber tax. As previously mentioned, you may be subject to penalties and prosecution. 
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Audits and Appeals
 

This chapter includes general information on the return and account review and audit procedures used by the BOE in 
administering the timber yield tax, and provides an overview of appeals procedures. For more information, please contact the 
Timber Tax Section. 

Information review 
As noted in the first chapter, the BoE receives notification of potential logging activity from other state and federal 
agencies. In addition, Timber Tax section staff use several methods to verify that timber harvests and tax amounts are 
properly reported, including review of: 

•	 Tax returns 
•	 Harvest volume information provided by all California sawmills and nearby sawmills in Oregon and Nevada 
•	 Information gathered by Timber Tax Section staff that is used in setting harvest values 

Returns reviewed as submitted and when accounts are closed 
The BoE reviews all timber tax returns for completeness and accuracy as they are received. When your account is closed, 
all of your tax reporting is again subject to review. If you have made a mistake or information is missing or inconsistent, 
you may be sent a bill for unpaid tax or a letter notifying you of a potential billing or refund, along with instructions letting 
you know what to do next. 

Types of audits 
In addition to reviewing returns for accuracy, the BoE also conducts two basic types of timber yield tax audits: 

•	 Office audits, conducted using information obtained from sawmills and other information acquired to set harvest 
values 

•	 Field audits, conducted when the BoE needs additional records to verify tax reporting 

Office audits 
If review of sawmill and other industry records reveals a discrepancy in your tax reporting, or the BoE otherwise finds you 
have not reported timber tax that appears to be due, an office audit—using only the information already on hand—may 
be conducted. As a result, you may be sent a Report of Investigation that indicates you owe additional tax, or you may be 
notified that you are owed a refund (see “Audit results,” next page). 

Field audits 
The Timber Tax Section conducts field audits of approximately 20 percent of those accounts owing more than $100,000 of 
timber yield tax per year. generally, accounts that owe lesser amounts are subject to a field audit only on an “as needed” 
basis. 

Notification of field audit date and time period 
If you are selected for a timber tax field audit, a BoE auditor will telephone or write you in advance to arrange an 
acceptable date to begin the audit. At that time, the auditor will identify the time period covered by the audit and the 
records needed for review. If your records are not available in California, you may need to have them delivered to 
sacramento. 

Audit period 
California law generally allows the BoE to audit your account for the period ending three years prior to the time the audit 
takes place. under certain conditions, the audit can examine earlier periods. Determinations (billings or refund notices) 
can be issued for any reporting period covered by the audit. 
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Audit process 
At the beginning of the field audit, the auditor will confer with you to determine what background information, reporting 
methods, and records will be reviewed. As the audit progresses, the auditor will discuss with you sample periods, sampling 
techniques, and any problem areas. A final conference will usually be held to explain any proposed refunds or additional 
tax or to indicate that there will be no change in your tax liability. In addition, the auditor may make suggestions regarding 
your future timber tax reporting practices. 

Audit working papers 
You are entitled to request and receive copies of the audit working papers, which normally include schedules that 
document the tests and examination procedures used in the audit. A copy of any new or revised tax return forms is 
supplied to you along with a Report of Investigation. 

Audit results 
After the written copy of the field or office audit is processed through an internal review, you will be sent a Report of 
Investigation detailing the audit results. If you have questions or disagree with any portion of the report, you will have ten 
days from the date of the cover letter to telephone or write to the auditor. 

If you do not reply and the audit revealed additional tax due, the BoE will send you a billing called a Notice of 
Determination. You have 30 days from the date of the notice to pay the amount due or to file an appeal of the audit billing. 
If the audit shows that you are due a refund, the auditor will request that you submit a written claim for refund (see “If you 
overpaid tax,” page 8). After reviewing your claim and ensuring that you do not owe other offsetting amounts of tax, the 
BoE will issue you a refund check. 

Appealing the results of an audit 
You may appeal a BoE audit finding by submitting an appeal petition within 30 days of the date of the Notice 
of Determination. Your petition, which can be in the form of a letter or the completion of BoE-416, Petition for 
Redetermination, must: 

•	 Identify the protested items 
•	 State the specific grounds or reasons why you believe you do not owe the tax due 

You should also include your account number and a specific request for a hearing. This request will ensure that, if 
necessary, you will have the opportunity for an appeals conference and a BoE hearing later in the appeals process. 

Be sure that you sign and date your petition. 

If you would like more information on appeals, please see publication 17, Appeals Procedures: Sales and Use Taxes and 
Special Taxes and Fees, available on our website. 

Submitting your petition on time 
Please ensure that your petition is postmarked no later than 30 days from the date of the Notice of Determination. Your 
petition may be denied if submitted at a later date. If your petition is not submitted on time and you still wish to contest the 
amount due, you will need to pay the tax liability shown on the notice and file a claim for refund of the amount you believe 
you do not owe (see page 8). 

Please send your petition to: 

Timber Tax section, MIC:60 
Board of Equalization 
Po Box 942879 
sacramento, CA 94279-0060 

You may also send your appeal by fax to 916-285-0134. 

Please note: Interest continues to accrue on amounts due while your appeal is pending. If you wish to stop the accrual of 
interest, you may wish to pay the amount indicated on the Notice of Determination and file a claim for refund. Payment 
does not indicate your agreement with the notice. 

The BoE will notify you in writing of its findings and rulings on the appeal. 
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Completing Tax Forms 
This chapter is intended for use as a reference as you complete your timber tax forms. There is additional information on how 
to complete the forms in the Harvest Values schedule and on the forms themselves. Examples and tips for completing the 
forms are found in the next chapter. If you need further help, please call 800-400-7115. 

Calculating tax—the basic formula 
The timber tax return (“return”) and timber tax harvest report (“harvest report”) take you through the steps necessary to 
calculate the amount of timber yield tax that you owe, if any. While there are several preliminary steps, the tax calculation 
can be simplified as a basic formula: 

Volume x Value x Tax rate = Tax Due 

You will supply the figures for the volume of the trees cut. The value and tax rate are established and provided by the BoE, 
although you or your tax preparer must supply some information about the trees cut in order to determine which values 
apply. 

Information needed to complete your return 
You will need to have all of the following information on hand as you complete your return: 

•	 Your harvest plan or government contract number 
•	 The harvest or sale name, if one was used 
•	 The location, including the county, where the trees were cut 
•	 The dates the timber was scaled 
•	 Whether the cutting has been completed 
•	 The number of acres on which the harvest took place 
• Current BOE Harvest Values Schedule (see page 7) 

In addition, you will need to know this information: 

•	 The species (type) of trees cut (examples: ponderosa pine, redwood, sugar pine, Douglas fir, western red cedar, white 
fir) 

•	 Whether the cutting was done to green or salvage (dead or dying trees) 
•	 The type of logging system used (the method used to move the trees from the stump to a truck or storage area) 
•	 The volume (quantity) cut 

Where to find it 
some of the information will be available from the Timber Harvesting Plan, Exemption Notice, or Notice of Emergency 
Operations that you filed with the Cal Fire (or from your federal government agency contract). The sawmill or your logger 
generally provides summaries showing most of the needed information. 

If you cannot find information you need regarding the salvage classification for the trees cut, the number of acres involved, 
or the logging system used, you should contact your forester or logger for assistance. 

Steps in completing your forms 
Completing your harvest report and return involves several steps. Most involve determining the taxable harvest value of 
your timber, using the information you have about the timber harvested, and the BoE’s Harvest Values Schedule. 

➤	Please note: Be sure to use the current schedules when completing your forms. 

Complete the report before the return 
You must complete your BoE-401-APT, Timber Tax Harvest Report, form(s) before you can complete BoE-401-1PT, 
Timber Tax Return. While you will only file one return per quarter, you may need to file more than one report. 
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The basic steps 
The basic steps you will follow in determining your timber yield tax are outlined here; most are explained in the text, as 
noted. some steps have more than one part. steps 1–7 involve the harvest report rather than the return. They must be 
repeated for each report you complete. 

Please note: unless otherwise noted, the column and item number references in this chapter refer to the Harvest report, 
not the tax return. 

1. Identify the county and Timber Value Area where your trees were cut (below). 
2. Determine the species code (pages 14 and 15). For forest products other than sawlogs, skip to step 5. 
3. Identify the logging method for each species code (page 15). 
4. For certain species, determine the size code (page 16). 
5. Determine the volume for each species code (page 16). 
6. Determine net harvest value per unit for each species code (page 17). 
7. Determine taxable harvest value (per-unit value x volume) for each species code and total for all codes (page 18). 
8. Transfer information on each timber tax report to your timber tax return (see samples, page 22). 
9. Total amounts listed and multiply by timber yield tax rate to determine tax due (see samples, page 22). 

Step 1.
 

Identify the harvest county and Timber Value Area (items 6A, 6B, and 7)
 

First, you need to identify the county and Timber Value Area (TVA—see next page) in which your trees were cut. You must 
complete a separate harvest report for each county and TVA in which you harvested trees (and for each separate timber 
operation). A code number for each county is listed on the back of the Timber Tax Harvest Report. 

For timber yield tax purposes, the state is divided into nine Timber Value Areas, made up of groups of counties (or parts of 
counties). 

The area within each TVA has common timber growing, harvesting, and marketing conditions. Values for the different 
types of timber, as established by the BoE, may be different in each TVA. The Harvest Values Schedule and the map on page 
23 contain the information you need to determine the TVA for your timber harvest. 
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Step 2.

Determine the species code (column 12)
 

next, you need to determine the species code for your timber. species codes for wood products other than sawlogs are 
shown below. 

Species codes, miscellaneous forest products 

Product Species  
Code 

Christmas trees, natural miscellaneous XnM 

Christmas trees, natural red fir Xnr 

Christmas trees, natural white fir XnW 

Christmas trees, plantation XP 

Cull logs CuL 

Fuelwood, hardwood FWH 

Fuelwood, miscellaneous FWM 

Pulp chipwood and hardwood logs HW 

Woods-produced fuel chips Cs 

Poles and pilings, small DF (20'–50') PsD 

Poles and pilings, large DF (51' and up) PLD 

Poles and pilings, PP, TF (all sizes) PFP 

Posts, round PsT 

split products, redwood Tr 

split products, miscellaneous TM 

small sawlogs, miscellaneous (ssM)1 ssM 

Miscellaneous conifer species2 CM 

1		 To qualify for the ssM Immediate Harvest Value (IHV), the average log volume for all species combined, excluding coastal redwood, 
split products, and poles and pilings, must be less than 65 board feet per 16-foot segment. To determine this average, the total lineal 
footage of each species of the scaled logs is first divided by 16 to determine the number of 16-foot log segments for each species. Then, 
the sum of the number of log segments for all species, excluding coastal redwood, is divided into the total net volume for all species, 
excluding coastal redwood, split products, and poles and pilings. If the result is less than 65 board feet, the ssM IHV applies to the entire 
combined net volume for all species other than coastal redwood, split products, and poles and pilings. 

2		 Includes lodgepole pine, knobcone pine, gray pine, and other evergreen species not listed in harvest value Tables g and s. 

If you did not harvest softwood sawlogs, you can go to the next step in completing your report—determining product 
volume (see page 15). 

Sawlogs 
For sawlogs (except for “small sawlogs,” see footnote above), the species code is based on two factors, as defined by the 
BoE: 

•	 Species 
•	 Whether the logs qualify as salvage timber 
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Species (type of tree). The species code chart below shows the species categories you must use to report your timber harvest. 
Please note: some codes include several different kinds of trees. 

Salvage. salvage timber generally has less value. under the Timber Yield Tax Law, timber qualifying for salvage values: 

•	 Must be removed from an area designated for salvage logging in the timber harvest plan, timber contract, or harvest 
plan exemption; and 

•	 Includes only dead, dying, or damaged trees that would not survive twelve months; or down trees. 

redwood logs that are dead or down, previously left as unmerchantable in an earlier harvest, can qualify as salvage timber. 

Trees removed as part of a salvage harvest that do not qualify as salvage timber cannot be given salvage species codes and 
values. The following do not qualify as salvage timber: 

•	 Dead, dying, damaged, or down trees removed as part of a normal harvest 
•	 Live, healthy trees removed from an area of salvage logging 

Species codes, softwood logs 

Species Species Code 

nonsalvage salvage 

Ponderosa pine1 PPg PPs 

Hem/fir2 Fg Fs 

Douglas fir DFg DFs 

Incense cedar3 ICg ICs 

redwood rg rs 

Port orford cedar PCg PCs 
1		 Includes Jeffrey pine, sugar pine, coulter pine, and western white pine. 
2		 White fir, red fir, grand fir, western hemlock, mountain hemlock, spruce, and shasta red fir. 
3 Includes western red cedar. 

Enter species codes in column 12 
In column 12 of your harvest report, enter the species code for each category of timber harvested. Be sure to make separate 
entries for trees of the same species code harvested using different logging systems (see next section). For example, if you 
harvested some ponderosa pine trees using tractor logging and others using a skyline system, list the code for ponderosa 
pine (PPg) twice in column 12. 

Step 3.


Determine the logging system code (column 13)
 

For each sawlog species code you list on your report, you will also need to list a code for the logging system—the method 
used to move the logs from the stump to a truck or storage area. The logging codes and systems are shown below. 

Code Logging System Used 
T Tractor—pulling logs behind a tracked, wheeled, or 
 

rubber-tired tractor or skidder, or using a winch attached to a tractor.

 s High-lead cable and skyline—dragging logs or lifting logs off the ground with cables attached to poles or trees.
 


H Helicopter.
 


Please note: If you used a logging system other than those listed or are unsure which system to report, please contact the 
Timber Tax section. 
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Enter logging code in column 13 
In column 13 of your timber tax report, list the logging system code letter for each sawlog species code you have entered in 
column 12. 

Step 4.


Determine the size code (columns 14 and 15)
 

For harvests of ponderosa pine, Douglas fir, redwood, and Port orford cedar, you may need to determine the size code for 
the logs. (This is not required for certain species—check value schedules.) The code is based on the average net volume per 
16-foot log. To determine the average net volume, you must divide the total net volume for the logs (excluding cull logs) in 
a particular species code by the total number of 16-foot log segments. If you don’t know the number of logs, calculate it by 
dividing the total linear footage by 16. 

Example: You harvest 20,000 board feet (20 MBF) of live, healthy ponderosa pine trees (species code PPg) from your 
land. Your lumber mill scale summary shows the total linear footage as 1,126 feet. To determine the size code, you 
first determine the number of 16-foot log segments (1,126 ÷ 16 = 70.375). To determine the net volume per 16-foot 
log, you then divide the total net volume—20,000—by 70, the number of whole 16-foot segments. The average 
number of board feet per log is 285 (20,000 ÷ 70 = 285). Using the following chart, you determine the size code of 
your ponderosa pine to be 2, since the average segment contained more than 150 board feet and less than 300 board 
feet. 

Size codes 

Size Codes 

Species 1 2 3 

average number of board feet per 16-foot segment 

Ponderosa pine over 300 300–150 under 150 

Douglas fir over 300 300–150 under 150 

redwood over 300 300–150 under 150 

Port orford cedar over 125 125 & under  n/a 

Enter size code in column 15 
Enter the size code, if needed for the species listed above in column 15 of your timber tax report. You must also list the 
average volume per log (in board feet) in column 14. 

Step 5.


Determine product volume (columns 16 and 17)
 

You must list the total volume harvested for each species code you have entered on your harvest report, in the units of 
measure defined by the BoE. Be sure to list volume only for those trees scaled in the reporting quarter. 

Sawlogs (column 16) 
sawlogs are measured in net thousands of board feet (MBF). Volume for sawlog species codes must be listed in column 16 
of your timber tax report in thousand board foot-increments, rounded to the nearest thousand board feet. For example, if 
you harvested 40,400 board feet (40.4 MBF) of a particular species, you would round this amount to the nearest thousand 
board-foot increment and enter the volume for that species as “40.” 

Please note: For sawlogs, the volume of timber harvested is usually noted on your mill scale summary. Be sure to use the net 
volume rather than the gross, if both are listed. If your records do not list timber in thousand board-foot increments, you 
may need to consult your forester, logger, or sawmill. You may also contact the Timber Tax section for assistance. 

16 July 2011 • guide to the California Timber Yield Tax 



         

 
                        

	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	 	

 
   

 

    

 

 

                          

 

    

Miscellaneous timber products 
Volumes for miscellaneous timber products (see table on page 14) must be listed in the units of measure shown in Table 1 
of the Harvest Values Schedule, rounded to the nearest full unit. Fuelwood, for example, is measured in full cords (4' x 4' x 
8'). In column 17 of your report, enter the volume for miscellaneous products listed in column 12 (except for split products, 
poles and pilings, and small sawlogs) on the same line as the species code. split products (shakes and shingles) must be 
converted to board feet by multiplying the thickness (T") of the product by its width (W") and length (L")—all in inches— 
and then dividing by 144. (T" x W" x L" ÷ 144 = board feet per piece; multiply by number of pieces for total volume.) Enter 
volumes for split products, poles and pilings, and small sawlogs in column 16. 

Step 6.


Determine harvest value per unit (column 18)
 

The next step in completing your harvest report is to determine the net value per unit for the species you harvested 
and listed on your report. Values for miscellaneous products are shown in Table 1 of the values schedule, and should be 
transferred to column 18 of your report exactly as they appear in the table. Before you can determine the value of your 
sawlogs, however, you need to determine whether any value adjustments (deductions) apply. 

Logging system adjustment 
All sawlog values shown on the Harvest Values Schedule tables are for timber harvested using a tractor logging system 
(logging code T, see page 15). If you used a different logging system, the timber may qualify for a deduction from the values 
shown. Each table lists deduction amounts for the various logging systems. 

Small total volume adjustment, item 11A 
If the total volume of timber you harvested during the quarter is relatively small, you may qualify for a deduction, as noted 
on the Harvest Values Schedule tables. To determine the total volume of timber you harvested during the quarter, add all 
figures you have entered in column 16 of your report and compare the result to the small volume figures shown on the 
table. If you qualify for a small volume deduction, be sure to list the amount of the deduction in item 11A of your report. 

Low volume per acre adjustment, item 11B 
For timber other than salvage timber and Table 1 products, you may qualify for a low volume per acre deduction. To 
determine the volume per acre of your harvest, you must divide the total volume removed this quarter (from item 9 or box 
20 on your report) by the total acres on which you actually harvested timber during the quarter (item 10). If the result is 
less than 5 MBF per acre, you qualify for the deduction shown on the table. Enter the amount of the low volume per acre 
deduction on line 11B. 

Using the Harvest Values Schedule tables 
To determine the unit value for your sawlogs, you must first determine which table in the Harvest Values Schedule to 
use for each species code. There are two tables of sawlog values: one for green (nonsalvage) timber (Table G) and one for 
salvage timber (Table S). A sample table section is found on page 21. 

In using the table, you must refer to the species codes you have listed in column 12 and, if applicable, the size codes from 
column 15. After you find the proper species code (and size code, if applicable), read across until you reach the column for 
your Timber Value Area. The figure printed there is the BoE-established value per MBF for timber of that species, grown 
in that area. If there are no adjustments that apply, transfer the printed table value to column 18 of your report. If there 
are applicable adjustments, deduct them from the table value first and then enter the result in column 18. You will need to 
follow this process for each sawlog species code listed on your report. 
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Example: 
using a tractor logging system, you harvest 15 MBF of live redwood (species code rg) of size code 2 in Humboldt 
County (TVA 1). using Table G, Timber Harvest Values, you determine that the unit value for the timber is $700. 
You have already determined that you qualify for a small total volume adjustment of $150 and a low volume per acre 
adjustment of $25. You would calculate the unit value of your redwood in this way: 

$ 700*	 value from Table G 

–	 150*	 small volume adjustment 

–	 25*	 low volume per acre adjustment 

$	 525	 harvest value per unit 

Enter the result, $525, in column 18 of your harvest value report. 

*	 These amounts are shown as examples only. Be sure to use the current harvest values and adjustment amounts shown 
in the applicable Harvest Values Schedule. 

Step 7.


Determine taxable value (column 19)
 

The next step in completing your harvest report is to determine the taxable harvest value for each species code listed. 
since you have already listed all of the volume and value figures on your report, there are no further preparatory steps. 
Just multiply the volume figure from column 16 or 17 by the harvest-value-per-unit figure in column 18. Enter the result 
(rounded to the nearest whole dollar) in column 19 (see example, page 22). When you have calculated the taxable harvest 
value for all products listed on the report, total the figures in column 19 and enter the result in box 21. 

If the total in box 21 is more than $3,000, transfer the figure to your return. Multiply the amount by the tax rate to 
determine the timber yield tax due (see completed sample forms on page 22). 

If the total in box 21 is $3,000 or less, do not carry the amount forward to your tax return. Instead, please print EXEMPT in 
large block letters on the face of your harvest report and then check the low-value exemption box on your return. 
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Examples and Tips 
This chapter includes an example of how to complete a timber harvest report for a sample harvest, examples of completed 
forms, and tips on completing your report and return. 

Completing timber tax forms 
You, Tim Timberowner, filed a Timber Harvesting Plan with Cal Fire so that you could harvest trees from your 20-acre 
parcel of land. The property is in shasta County, between Interstate Highway 5 and state Highway 89. Cal Fire approved 
your harvest plan and assigned the identification number 
2-11-8888-sHA(2). To make identification easier, you agreed with the logger to name your harvest “nest Egg.” After 
learning of your harvest from Cal Fire, the BoE notified you that you were registered as a timber owner and assigned you a 
timber tax account number, YT-888888. 

Forms completed with information from this example are found on page 22. 
The logger started cutting the trees January 19, 2011, and finished March 11, 2011. He used a tractor to move the logs to his 
trucks. The logs were delivered to a sawmill and scaled as they arrived. According to the scaling summaries you received, 
the logger harvested: 

•	 39.500 net thousand board feet (MBF) of ponderosa pine, which totaled 3,280 linear feet 
•	 25.490 net MBF of hem/fir 
•	 14.950 net MBF of incense cedar 

The summaries also show 5.850 MBF of pine and fir logs that were classified as “cull.” In addition to the logs delivered to 
the mill, you cut 4 cords of pine for your own use as firewood. 

Completing your harvest report 
since you had only one harvest operation during the quarter and it took place in one county, you will complete one 
BoE-401-APT, Timber Tax Harvest Report. A sample report, completed with information from this example, is on page 22. 

Column 12, Species Code 
List the species code for each timber product you harvested (see tables on pages 16 and 17 and Harvest Values
 

Schedule):


•	 PPG for ponderosa pine 
•	 FG for hem/fir 
•	 ICG for incense cedar 
•	 CUL for cull logs 
•	 FWM for pine firewood 

Column 13, Logging Code 
Enter a “T” for tractor logging (page 16), for each species code except CuL and FWM. 

Columns 14 and 15—Average Volume per Log and Size Code 
Column 14. First, calculate the number of 16-foot ponderosa pine logs harvested (3,280 linear feet ÷ 16 = 205). Next, 
divide the total volume for the ponderosa pine by 205 to obtain the average volume per log (39,500 board feet ÷ 205 
logs = 193 board feet per log). Enter in column 14 on the line for PPg. 

Column 15. Enter 2, the size code (from page 16) for ponderosa pine logs with over 150 board feet and less than 300 
board feet per log (PPg line). 

Column 16, Volume Harvested 
For your sawlogs, round summary volumes to nearest whole MBF: 40 for species code PPg, 25 for Fg, 15 for ICg. 
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Column 17, Miscellaneous Harvest Volume 
use harvest value Table 1 to determine the measurement unit: MBF for cull logs and cords for fuelwood (round to 
nearest full unit). Enter 6 for cull logs (CuL) and 4 for pine firewood (FWM). 

Item 20, Total Volume Harvested 
Add all volumes listed in column 16 (40 + 25 + 15 = 80). 

Item 11A, Small Total Volume Deduction 
Enter the adjustment for small total volume (Table G). since your total volume of 80 MBF is less than 100 MBF but 
more than 25 MBF, your deduction is $100. 

Item 11B, Low Volume per Acre Deduction 
Divide total harvest volume (box 20 and line 9) by number of acres cut (line 10): 80 MBF ÷ 20 acres = 4 MBF per
 
acre. Enter low volume per acre adjustment, $25, from Table G.
 


Column 18, Harvest Value per Unit (use Harvest Values Schedule) 
For firewood and cull logs, enter full value as shown on table (there are no allowable deductions). For sawlogs, 
 
subtract applicable deductions from table value and enter result.
 


•	 Ponderosa pine (PPG); use Table G—Timber Harvest Values (see sample next page). Find value for PPg, size code 2, 
in Timber Value Area 5, $250. Subtract the adjustment amounts of $100 and $25 (lines 11A and 11B), and enter the 
result, $125. 

•	 Hem/fir (FG); use Table G—Timber Harvest Values. Find FG value for Timber Value Area 5, $180. Subtract the 
adjustment amounts of $100 and $25, and enter the result, $55. 

•	 Incense cedar (ICG); use Table G—Timber Harvest Values. Find ICG value for Timber Value Area 5, $280. Subtract 
the adjustment amounts of $100 and $25, and enter the result, $155. 
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Sample section, Harvest Values Table, showing where to find table value for ponderosa pine, size code 2, TVA 7. 

Table G—Timber Harvest Values 

Tractor Logging (Logging Code T) 

Species 
Species 
Code 

Size 
Timber Value Area 

5 6 7 8

 Ponderosa pine PPg 1 300 290 300 200 

2 250 240 250 160 

3 220 220 160 100 

•	 Cull logs; use Table 1—Miscellaneous Harvest Values. Enter the value shown for cull logs (CuL), 
$5 (no deductions apply). 
•	 Fuelwood; use Table 1. Enter the value shown for fuelwood, miscellaneous (FWM), $15 (no 

deductions apply). 
Column 19, Taxable Harvest Value 

Calculate for each line, multiplying the volume in column 16 or 17 by the unit value in column 18. 

Species Code Volume x Unit Value  = Taxable Value 
PPG	 40	 x $	 125 = $	 15,000 
FG	 25	 x $	 55 =	 $	 1,375 
ICG	 15	 x $	 155 =	 $	 2,325 
CUL	 6	 x $	 5	 =	 $	 30 
FWM	 4	 x	 $	 10	 =	 $	 40 

Item 21, Total Taxable Harvest Value 
Total the amounts in column 19 and enter result, $28,990. This is the amount you will transfer to your timber tax 
return. 

Completing the return 
Complete the first line of BoE-401-1PT, Timber Tax Return, being sure to list the county name, shasta, and county 
number, 45, in the proper columns. Transfer the amount in item 21 of your harvest report, $28,990, to column 4. (If you 
had completed additional harvest reports, you would transfer the box 21 amounts from each report to the next lines on the 
return and total them on line 6 of the return.) 

Item 7, Timber Tax 
Multiply Item 6, Total of Harvest Values, by the tax rate indicated and enter the result ($28,990 x 2.9% = $840.71). 
since you are filing and paying on time, there is no interest or penalty due. The total timber yield tax due on the 
timber you harvested this quarter is $840.71. 
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Completed forms,
Tim Timberowner 
example 

1 2011 

Tim Timberowner 888888 
2-11-8888 

NEST EGG 5 

Timber Tax ✔ 100 

Harvest Report 25 
80 20 

—completed before 
return 

PPG T 193 2	 40 125.00 5,000 

Please note: Values FG 
ICG 

T 
T 

25 
15 

55.00 
155.00 

1,375 
2,325 

are shown for CUL 6 5.00 30 

illustration only. Be 
FWM 4 10.00 40 

sure to use current 
harvest values 
provided by the BOE. 80 

1 

SHASTA 45 

8,770 

April 30, 2011 
Circled information

Tim Timberowner  must be transferred 1 2011
888 Tree  Street 
Redding, CA 96001 to the return: 888888 

Page number 
County name 
County number 

1 SHASTA 45 8,770 
Total taxable  
harvest value 

8,770 

245.33 
0 
0 

245.33 


1-1-2011 3-31-2011 
 Timber Tax Return 

916 222-2222Tim Timberowner 
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TVAs 2011 BW.mdx

Siskiyou County west of I-5 is in TVA 4, East of I-5 is in TVA 5.
Shasta County west of I-5 is in TVA 4, East of I-5 is in TVA 5.
Tehama County west of I-5 is in TVA 4, East of I-5 is in TVA 7.

        boundaries with the following exceptions:

         

 

 
  

 

  

 

     

 	 
  

        

Note:  Timber Value Area boundaries follow county

Timber Value Areas	 Use this map to determine the timber value area for your harvest 
(see page 15). 

Timber Value Area boundaries follow county boundaries 
with the following exceptions: 

Siskyou County: west of I-5 is in TVA 4, East of I-5 is in 
TVA 5. 

Shasta County: west of I-5 is in TVA 4, East of I-5 is in  
TVA 5. 

Tehama County: west of I-5 is in TVA 4, East of I-5 is in 
TVA 7. 
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 Tips for Completing Your Timber Tax Harvest Report 
These tips are intended to supplement, not replace, the report instructions. Please read the complete instructions when filling out 
your report. If any preprinted information is incorrect, please line through and correct. 

SAMPLE
 

1 
2 

4 

7 

765 

5 

3 

O 

8 9 J J K L M N 

1	 number of calendar quarter, as shown on return (see page 6). 
2 Enter page number of report (number consecutively), then the 

total number of report pages you are filing this quarter (see page 3). 
Example: Page 1 of 3. 

3	 Your timber tax account name, as shown on return. 

4	 Your timber tax account number, as shown on return. 

5	 Total volume for this operation in this quarter (the figure in items 9 
and 20 should be the same). 

6	 Acres on which trees were cut during this quarter only. 

7	 Complete only if deduction applies (see page 17). sawlogs only. 

8	 use BoE-specified species codes (see Harvest Values Schedule and 
pages 14 and 15). 

9	 sawlogs only (see page 16). 

J	 For appropriate species only (see page 16). 

K	 For species in Tables G and S, small sawlogs, and split 
products. round to nearest MBF (see page 16). 

L	 For species in Table 1, except split products, small sawlogs, 
and miscellaneous conifer species (see page 16). round to 
nearest full unit. 

M	 For miscellaneous products, enter Table 1 values. For 
sawlogs, enter table value less any deductions (see page 16). 
Calculate to two decimal places ($1.11). 

N	 For each line, multiply column 16 or 17 by column 18. 
round to nearest whole dollar. 

O	 Total column entries. If total is $3,000 or less, print EXEMPT 
in large block letters on the face of the harvest report. Do 
not transfer amount to return. If total is more than $3,000, 
transfer amount to Timber Yield Tax Return. 
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Tips for Completing Your Timber Tax Return 
These tips are intended to supplement, not replace, the return instructions. Please read the complete instructions when filling out 
your return. 

1 

2 

3 

4 

5 

6 

7 

8 

9 

J 

K 

If any preprinted information is incorrect, please line through and supply correct information. 

Your return must be 
postmarked by this 
date. If you file even one 
day late, you will owe 
penalty and interest 
(see page 7). 

Calendar reporting 
quarter. Must be the 
same on return and 
attached reports. 

Your timber tax 
account number. 

Make separate entries 
for each harvest report 
page. If you need 
more space, you must 
complete a BoE-401­
sPT, Timber Tax Return 
(Supplement). 

From each harvest 
report page. 

From item 21 on each 
harvest report. Do 
not transfer item 21 if 
amount is $3,000 or 
less. 

see Supplement 
information, 4 
Multiply item 6 amount 
by 0.029 and enter 
result. 

SAMPLE
 

2 
3 

A. TIMBER TAXPAYER 
12345 PINE STREET 
ANYTOWN, CA 94112-0916 

654321 

5 

K KL 
M 
N 

1 

4 5 6 

7 

J 
9 
8 

For all late returns: 
multiply item 7 amount L Check here if you do not plan M Check here if you have no timber volume to by 0.10. to harvest timber for at least 12 report for the quarter. sign and date your return, 
For late payments: months following the end of the and mail it to the BoE. Your account will stay 
multiply item 7 x reporting quarter. Your account open. 
preprinted daily rate x will be closed. N Check here if you harvested timber and all ofnumber of days late. your harvest operations qualify for the low-value 
Dates must fall within exemption. 
the quarterly reporting 
period. The return must 
not include timber 
scaled in a different 
quarter. 
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 For More Information
 

General tax information, help with your forms 
If you need general information about the timber yield tax, or help completing your timber tax forms, you may call the 
BoE Taxpayer Information section. Customer service representatives are available to help you Monday through Friday 
(except state holidays), from 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. (Pacific time). 

Call 800-400-7115
 

TTY: 711
 


Faxback service 
If you would like to obtain commonly requested BoE forms, including order forms for publications and forms, you may 
call the BoE Taxpayer Information section and use the faxback option. Your order will be faxed to you within 24 hours of 
your call. 

Specific information and tax advice 
For specific information about your account, or registration, or tax reporting requirements, you may write, call, or fax the: 

Timber Tax section, MIC:60 
state Board of Equalization 
Po Box 942879 
sacramento, CA 94279-0060 
916-274-3330 phone 
916-285-0134 fax 

Written advice 
You may also visit our Internet site at www.boe.ca.gov.


For your protection, it is best to get tax advice in writing. You may be relieved of tax, penalty, and interest charges if the 
 
BoE determines that it gave you erroneous written advice. For this relief to apply, a request for advice must be in writing, 
 
identify the taxpayer to whom the advice applies, and fully describe the facts and circumstances involved.
 


Publications 
The BoE publishes a variety of publications that may be of interest to you: 

17 Appeals Procedures Sales and Use Taxes and Special Taxes 
29 California Property Tax: An Overview 
43 California Timber Yield Tax Law (statutes and regulations) 
51 Board of Equalization Resource Guide to Free Tax Products and Services for Small Businesses 

(includes full publications list) 
54 Tax Collection Procedures 
70 Understanding Your Rights as a California Taxpayer 
86 California Timber Yield Tax-Timber and Timberland Values Manual (introductory brochure) 

26 July 2011 • guide to the California Timber Yield Tax 

http://www.boe.ca.gov
http://www.boe.ca.gov/pdf/pub17.pdf
http://www.boe.ca.gov/proptaxes/pdf/pub29.pdf
http://www.boe.ca.gov/proptaxes/pdf/pub43.pdf
http://www.boe.ca.gov/pdf/pub51.pdf
http://www.boe.ca.gov/pdf/pub54.pdf
http://www.boe.ca.gov/pdf/pub70.pdf
http://www.boe.ca.gov/proptaxes/pdf/pub86.pdf


         

   
     

 

   

    

    
 
 
 

  
  
  

              

           

Information on the Internet—www.boe.ca.gov 
In addition to copies of selected forms and publications, our website also includes BoE-401-1PT, Timber Tax Return, BoE-
401-APT, Timber Tax Harvest Report, Harvest Values Schedules, timber harvest data by county, online ordering for forms 
and publications, Board meeting dates, county assessors’ office information, and other information about the BoE and the 
programs it administers. 

You may also order publications, Harvest Values Schedule, and BoE-401-APT, Timber Tax Harvest Report forms 24 hours a 
day by calling our toll-free number. 

Taxpayers’ Rights Advocate 
If you have been unable to resolve a conflict with the BoE through regular channels or would like to know more about 
your rights under the Timber Yield Tax Law, please contact the Taxpayers’ rights Advocate for help: 

Taxpayers’ rights Advocate, MIC:70 
state Board of Equalization 
Po Box 942879 
sacramento, CA 94279-0070 

888-324-2798 toll-free phone 
916-324-2798 phone 
916-323-3319 fax 
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