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Information About Proposition 64 for  
Sellers of Medical Marijuana

On November 8, 2016, California voters will decide whether to approve Proposition 64,  
Control, Regulate and Tax Adult Use of Marijuana Act. If Proposition 64 passes:

1)	 Effective November 9, 2016, certain sales of medical marijuana would be exempt 	
	 from sales and use tax.

2)	 Effective January 1, 2018, a 15 percent excise tax would be imposed upon purchasers 	
	 of all marijuana and marijuana products. Additionally, a tax on cultivators of 		
	 marijuana would be imposed.

If Proposition 64 does not pass, the sales of medical marijuana and medical marijuana- 
related products remain subject to sales and use tax, and there will be no excise tax or  
cultivation tax imposed.   

If Proposition 64 passes, what would qualify for the sales and use tax exemption?
The sales and use tax exemption would only apply to the retail sales of medical cannabis, 
medical cannabis concentrate, edible medical cannabis products, or topical cannabis as 
those terms are defined in the Business and Professions Code section 19300.5. To obtain the 
exemption, qualified patients or their primary caregiver would need to provide their valid 
Medical Marijuana Identification Card issued by the California Department of Public Health, 
under section 11362.71 of the Health and Safety Code, and a valid government issued 
identification card at the time of purchase. 

How would a retailer claim the sales and use tax exemption? 
Medical marijuana retailers would be able to claim the exemption on their sales and use tax 
return. Retailers would need to retain supporting documentation to substantiate exempt 
transactions.  

If Proposition 64 passes, what would be subject to excise tax and cultivation tax? 
If Proposition 64 passes, effective January 1, 2018, a 15 percent excise tax, based on 
the gross receipts from the retail sale, would be imposed upon retail purchasers of all 
marijuana and marijuana products, including medical marijuana. In addition, a tax on 
cultivators of marijuana would generally be imposed as follows:

•	 $9.25 per dry-weight ounce of marijuana flowers

•	 $2.75 per dry-weight ounce of marijuana leaves

For more information
If Proposition 64 is approved by California voters, the California State Board of 
Equalization’s online Tax Guide for Medical Cannabis Businesses at www.boe.ca.gov/industry/
medical_cannabis.html will be updated to provide additional information.

You may also call the Customer Service Center at 1-800-400-7115 (TTY:711). Customer 
service representatives are available weekdays from 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. (Pacific time), 
except state holidays.
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