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Cigarette and Tobacco Products License Fee Increase
and New Retailer License Requirement

License Fee Increase

On June 9, 2016, the Cigarette and Tobacco Products License application fee increased
for retailers, wholesalers, and distributors; and the reinstatement fee was eliminated for
retailers. Beginning January 1, 2017, retailers will be required to pay an annual license
renewal fee and the annual renewal fee for wholesalers and distributors will increase.
The new fee amounts' are shown below.

eeeype | Fepplhimedgte | Tee ifethe ore Al
Retailer Application Fee $265 per location $265 per location
Retailer Renewal Fee None $265 per location per year
ngigf;tgéfggf %ee N/A N/A
X@;ﬂﬁiﬂgf{%ﬁtﬁb“or $1,200 per location $1,200 per location
I‘Q\gﬁzﬁﬁlﬁge])ismbutor $1,000 per location per year $1,200 per location per year

New Retailer License Requirement

State law? expanded the definition of a tobacco product for retail licensing purposes to
include the products listed below, which are currently not subject to the excise taxes
imposed by the Cigarette and Tobacco Products Tax Law.? Effective January 1, 2017, if you
sell any of these products at retail in California, you are required to have a valid California
Cigarette and Tobacco Products Retailer’s License* prior to making retail sales of these
products to consumers. However, if you already have a valid Cigarette and Tobacco
Products Retailer’s License, you may sell these products under that license.

¢ Any product containing, made, or derived from nicotine that is intended for human
consumption.

* Any electronic smoking or vaping device that delivers nicotine or other vaporized
liquids to the person inhaling from the device.

* Any component, part, or accessory of a tobacco product, whether or not sold
separately.

Examples include, but are not limited to, eCigarettes, atomizers, vaping tanks or mods,
and eLiquid or eJuice. A tobacco product does not include products that the U.S. Food &
Drug Administration has approved as cessation products or for other therapeutic purposes
(for example, nicotine patches). This licensing requirement does not apply to medical
cannabis products.
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For Additional Information

You are encouraged to review the provisions of Assembly Bill x2-11 and

Senate Bill x2-5 at leginfo.legislature.ca.gov for a complete understanding of the
amended laws. You may also visit the Cigarette and Tobacco Products Tax Guide at
www.boe.ca.gov/industry/cigarettes_tobacco_products.html.

If you have any questions, please call the Customer Service Center at 1-800-400-7115
(TTY:711) Monday through Friday from 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. (Pacific time), except state
holidays.

! Assembly Bill (AB) x2-11 (Stats. 2016, Ch. 6) was signed into law on May 4, 2016.
2 Senate Bill (SB) x2-5 (Stats. 2016, Ch. 7) was signed into law on May 4, 2016.
3 Part 13 (commencing with Section 30001) of Division 2 of the Revenue and Taxation Code.

4 Business and Professions Code section 22972.



http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/
http://www.boe.ca.gov/industry/cigarettes_tobacco_products.html
http://www.leginfo.ca.gov/pub/15-16/bill/asm/ab_0001-0050/abx2_11_bill_20160504_chaptered.html
http://www.leginfo.ca.gov/pub/15-16/bill/sen/sb_0001-0050/sbx2_5_bill_20160504_chaptered.html
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displayexpandedbranch.xhtml?tocCode=RTC&division=2.&title=&part=13.&chapter=&article=
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?lawCode=BPC&sectionNum=22972.



