Laws, Regulations & Annotations

Business Taxes Law Guide – Revision 2014
 

Lumber Products Assessment Regulations

Title 18 of the California Code of Regulations


Lumber Products Assessment

Title 18 of the California Code of Regulations


Regulation 2000. Retailer Reimbursement Retention.

Reference: Section 4629.5, Public Resources Code.

Public Resources Code section 4629.5, as added by Statutes 2012, chapter 289, requires the Board of Equalization to adopt a regulation to determine the amount of reimbursement a retailer may retain for costs associated with the collection of the Lumber Products Assessment imposed by Public Resources Code section 4629.5.

A retailer required to collect the Lumber Products Assessment may retain no more than $250 per location as reimbursement for startup costs associated with the collection of the assessment. Such reimbursement is to be taken on the retailer’s first return on which the Lumber Products Assessment is reported or, if the amount of the collected assessment is less than the allowed reimbursement, on the retailer’s next consecutive returns until the allowed reimbursement amount is retained.

“Location” means and is limited to a business location registered under the retailer’s seller’s permit as of January 1, 2013, where sales of products subject to the assessment are made.

History: Adopted as an emergency regulation on October 23, 2012, effective January 1, 2013. Readopted as an emergency regulation on May 22, 2013, effective June 25, 2013. Readopted a second time, as an emergency regulation, on August 13, 2013, effective September 23, 2013. Adopted through the regular rulemaking process on September 10, 2013, effective November 26, 2013.

Back to top

Regulation 2001. Additional Allowed Retailer Reimbursement Retention.

Reference: Section 4629.5, Public Resources Code.

Beginning January 1, 2014, a retailer required to collect the Lumber Products Assessment may retain $485 per location, in addition to the $250 allowed by Regulation 2000, as reimbursement for startup costs associated with the collection of the assessment. Such reimbursement is to be taken on the retailer’s first return after January 1, 2014, on which the Lumber Products Assessment is reported, or if the amount of the collected assessment is less than the allowed reimbursement, on the retailer’s next consecutive returns until the allowed reimbursement amount is retained. If the retailer no longer sells products subject to the assessment, the retailer may file a claim for refund for assessment amounts paid in 2013 up to $485.

“Location” means and is limited to a business location registered under the retailer’s seller’s permit as of January 1, 2013, where sales of products subject to the assessment are made.

History: Adopted September 10, 2013, effective January 1, 2014.