State Board of Equalization

Sales of
Cigarettes and Tobacco
Products in California

What All Retailers
Should Know




California Cigarette and Tobacco
Products Licensing Act

= Effective January 1, 2004. ~
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wholesalers, distributors,
importers, manufacturers.




LICENSE

= Apply for a license online
(www.boe.ca.gov/elecsrv/ereg)
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= Applications may take 7-10
days to process. sEEr mm;m,mm;mm

= Upon approval of your
application, a BOE email is
sent to you with your license - P T
and important related e
information. ""




* One-time fee is $100 per location.

= A separate license is required for
each location.

= New locations must be added to
your seller’s permit before a cigarette and tobacco product
license can be activated for that location.

= Valid for 12 months and must be renewed annually.
= Must be renewed timely to avoid $100 reinstatement fee.
* Alicense is not assignable or transferable.

= BOE tobacco license is separate from a local city or county
tobacco license.



= To legally sell cigarettes and tobacco products to other
retailers or wholesalers, you must have a Distributor or
Wholesaler License ($1,000 annual fee).

= A Retailer’s cigarette and tobacco license allows you to
make only retail sales to legal-aged consumers.

= For more information on obtaining a Distributor or
Wholesaler License and its requirements, contact the

Special Taxes & Fees Department at 1-800-400-7115.



