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April 1, 2022 

TO COUNTY ASSESSORS AND INTERESTED PARTIES: 

INTERESTED PARTIES PROCESS: 
AMENDMENTS TO PROPERTY TAX RULES 462.520 AND 462.540 

THROUGH THE EMERGENCY RULEMAKING PROCESS 

State Board of Equalization (BOE) staff have initiated a project to promulgate amendments to 
Property Tax Rule (Rule) 462.520, Exclusion from Change in Ownership - Intergenerational 
Transfers, and Rule 462.540, Change in Ownership - Base Year Value Transfers, pursuant to the 
authority granted in Revenue and Taxation Code (RTC) sections 63.2(h)(2) and 69.6(g)(2) to use 
the emergency rulemaking process. 

On November 3, 2020, the voters of California approved Proposition 19, which added section 2.1 
to article XIII A of the California Constitution. Section 2.1(b) created a new base year value 
transfer for any homeowner who is at least 55 years of age, or severely disabled, or a victim of a 
wildfire or natural disaster. This new base year value transfer became operative on April 1, 2021. 
In addition, section 2.1(c) and (e) created a new exclusion from change in ownership for 
transfers of family homes or family farms between parents and children and, under certain 
circumstances, between grandparents and grandchildren. This new exclusion became operative 
on February 16, 2021, and is referred to as the "intergenerational transfer exclusion." 

Effective September 30, 2021, Senate Bill (SB) 539 (Stats. 2021, ch. 427) added sections 63.2 
and 69.6 to the RTC to implement the intergenerational transfer exclusion and the base year 
value transfer provisions, respectively. In addition, following public hearings, the BOE adopted 
Property Tax Rules 462.520 and 462.540 to clarify the application of the new Proposition 19 
provisions. These new rules were approved by the Office of Administrative Law and became 
effective on January 1, 2022. 

RTC sections 63.2(h)(2) and 69.6(g)(2), in part, require the BOE, after consultation with the 
California Assessors' Association (CAA), to promulgate emergency regulations that implement 
the intergenerational transfer exclusion and the new base year value transfer provisions. Thus, 
the BOE is utilizing the emergency rulemaking process to amend Rules 462.520 and 462.540 to 
clarify, interpret, and make specific the administration of the provisions of RTC sections 63.2 
and 69.6. 

https://www.boe.ca.gov/


TO COUNTY ASSESSORS AND 
INTERESTED PARTIES 2 April 1, 2022 
 
 
An emergency regulation is effective for 180 days and may be readopted for two additional 90-day 
periods. After the emergency rule amendments have been adopted, BOE staff will initiate a project 
to make amendments to Rules 462.520 and 462.540 permanent through the regular rulemaking 
process. Information on the emergency rulemaking process and the regular rulemaking process 
may be found at the Office of Administrative Law's website at https://oal.ca.gov/.   

The rules with proposed amendments in strikeout/underline format, are enclosed. The emergency 
amendments will be presented to the Board Members at the May 24 - 25, 2022 Board Meeting. 
Interested parties may provide suggested revisions to the draft rule amendments by Friday, 
April 29, 2022. You may email your submissions to Michael.Crook@boe.ca.gov.     

Interested parties will be able to submit further comments and revisions when the regular 
rulemaking process has been initiated.  

All documents regarding this project will be posted to the Rule 462.520 webpage at 
https://www.boe.ca.gov/proptaxes/revision-rule462520-cio-intergen-exclusion.htm and the Rule 
462.540 webpage at https://www.boe.ca.gov/proptaxes/revision-rule462540-cio-byv-transfers.htm. 
If you have any questions regarding the proposed rule changes, please contact the 
County-Assessed Properties Division at 1-916-274-3350. 

 Sincerely, 

 /s/ David Yeung 

 David Yeung 
 Deputy Director 
 Property Tax Department 

DY:gs 
Enclosures 

https://oal.ca.gov/
mailto:Michael.Crook@boe.ca.gov
https://www.boe.ca.gov/proptaxes/revision-rule462520-cio-intergen-exclusion.htm
https://www.boe.ca.gov/proptaxes/revision-rule462540-cio-byv-transfers.htm


 

 
 

         
 

     
             

 
      

                   
    

   
 

              
             
 

   
                 

 
 

                   
   

   
 

               
        

 
      

                   
      

   
  

       
 

   
      

               
         

 
   

               
      

 
                

           
 

   
 

                
                

              
   

RULE 462.520. EXCLUSION FROM CHANGE IN OWNERSHIP – INTERGENERATIONAL TRANSFERS. 

Authority: Section 15606, Government Code. 
References: Article XIII A, Section 2.1, California Constitution; and Sections 60 and 63.2, Revenue and Taxation Code. 

(a)  GENERAL. Beginning on and after February 16, 2021, "change in ownership" shall not include the 
transfer of real property which is the principal residence or the family farm of an eligible transferor in the 
case of transfers between parents and their children or between grandparents and their grandchildren, 
meeting the following conditions: 

(1)  The principal residence or family farm of the transferor must become the principal residence or 
the family farm of at least one eligible transferee within one year of the transfer. 

(A) If the transfer is of a principal residence, an eligible transferee must file a claim for the 
homeowners' or disabled veterans' exemption at the time of the transfer or within one year of the 
transfer. 

(B)  If the transfer is of a family farm, an eligible transferee need not file a claim for either the 
homeowners' or disabled veterans' exemption. A family farm is not required to include a principal 
residence to qualify for this exclusion. 

(C)  A claim for exclusion under this section may be filed separately for a principal residence on a 
family farm if that principal residence meets all the requirements of this section. 

(2)  The real property must continue to be the principal residence or the family farm of an eligible 
transferee. As of the date the property is no longer the principal residence or the family farm of an 
eligible transferee, the exclusion shall be removed and the taxable value of the property shall be 
determined pursuant to subdivision (d) of this rule. However, if another eligible transferee qualifies for 
the exclusion within one year of the property no longer qualifying as the principal residence of the 
previous eligible transferee, the exclusion shall not be removed. 

In the case of transfers between grandparents and grandchildren, all of the parents of those 
grandchildren, who qualify as children of the grandparents, are deceased as of the date of the transfer, 
except that a son-in-law or daughter-in-law of the grandparent who is a stepparent to the grandchild 
need not be deceased on the date of the transfer. 

A claim for the exclusion sought pursuant to this section is filed with the county assessor in 
accordance with subdivision (f)(2) of this rule. An assessor may request any other information reasonably 
related to the claim they deem necessary to verify the exclusion. 

Nothing in this section limits the number of principal residences or family farms of a transferor that 
may be transferred to an eligible transferee and excluded from change in ownership. 

(b) VALUATION. 

(1)  Upon transfer, the principal residence or family farm obtains a new base year value equal to its 
full cash value on the date of transfer multiplied by the percent ownership of the principal residence or 
family farm transferred plus the factored base year value of the percent ownership of the principal 
residence or family farm not transferred. 
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Proposed Changes to Rule 462.520 

(2)  If a transferee meets the requirements for exclusion under this section, the principal residence 
or family farm will be assessed at its New Taxable Value in accordance with subdivision (c) of this rule 
rather than its new base year value. 

(3)  When the real property is no longer the principal residence or the family farm of an eligible 
transferee as required by subdivision (a)(2) of this rule, the new taxable value upon removal of the 
exclusion shall be determined pursuant to subdivision (d) of this rule. 

Example 1: Base Year Value Calculation. Parent transfers 100 percent interest in their principal 
residence to Child. On March 1, 2021, the date of transfer, the principal residence has a factored base 
year value of $250,000 and a full cash value of $900,000. The principal residence's new base year value is 
$900,000. If Child meets the requirements for exclusion under this section, the principal residence will 
be assessed at its New Taxable Value, in accordance with subdivision (c) of this rule, rather than its new 
base year value. 

Example 2: Base Year Value Calculation. Parent transfers 75 percent interest in their principal 
residence to Child and retains 25 percent interest. On March 1, 2021, the date of transfer, the principal 
residence has a factored base year value of $250,000 and a full cash value of $900,000. The principal 
residence's new base year value is $675,000 ($900,000 full cash value multiplied by the 75 percent 
interest transferred to Child) plus $62,500 ($250,000 factored base year value multiplied by the 
25 percent interest retained by Parent) equals $737,500. If Child meets the requirements for exclusion 
under this section, the principal residence will be assessed at its New Taxable Value, in accordance with 
subdivision (c) of this rule, rather than its new base year value. 

(c) NEW TAXABLE VALUE. The New Taxable Value of the principal residence or family farm shall be the 
sum of the amounts calculated in paragraphs (1) through (3): 

(1)  Eligible Transferee's New Taxable Value: the sum of the factored base year value of the principal 
residence or family farm immediately prior to the date of transfer plus any Excess Amount. This amount 
shall be multiplied by the percent interest of the principal residence or family farm transferred to 
eligible transferees. 

(A)  "Excess Amount" means the full cash value of the principal residence or family farm on the 
date of transfer minus the Excluded Amount. If this amount is less than or equal to zero, the Excess 
Amount is zero. 

(B)  "Excluded Amount" means the factored base year value of the principal residence or family 
farm immediately prior to the date of transfer plus $1,000,000, adjusted pursuant to subdivision (g) of 
this rule. 

(2)  Noneligible Transferee's New Taxable Value: the full cash value of the principal residence or 
family farm on the date of transfer multiplied by the percent interest transferred to noneligible 
transferees. 

(3)  Factored Base Year Value of Non-Transferred Interest: the factored base year value of the 
principal residence or family farm immediately prior to the date of transfer multiplied by the percent 
interest not transferred. 
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Proposed Changes to Rule 462.520 

(4)  The New Taxable Value shall be adjusted by an inflation factor, as provided in subdivision (a) of 
section 51 of the Revenue and Taxation Code. 

Example 3: Excess Amount Calculation. On March 1, 2021, Parents' principal residence has a 
factored base year value of $250,000. The Excluded Amount is $1,250,000 ($1,000,000 plus $250,000 
factored base year value). Parents transfer 100 percent interest in their principal residence to Child on 
March 1, 2021. 

Examples 3-1 and 3-2 demonstrate alternatives using the facts described in Example 3. 

Example 3-1: Zero Excess Amount. The principal residence has a full cash value of $900,000 on 
the date of transfer. Since $900,000 is less than the $1,250,000 Excluded Amount, the Excess Amount is 
zero. Therefore, the New Taxable Value on the date of transfer is the factored base year value of 

$250,000. 

Example 3-2: Excess Amount. The principal residence has a full cash value of $1,300,000 on the 
date of transfer. Since $1,300,000 is greater than the $1,250,000 Excluded Amount, there is an Excess 
Amount of $50,000. Therefore, the New Taxable Value of the principal residence on the date of transfer 
is $300,000 ($250,000 factored base year value plus $50,000 Excess Amount). 

Example 4: Transfer to both Eligible and Non-Eligible Transferees. On March 1, 2021, Parents' 
principal residence has a factored base year value of $250,000. The Excluded Amount is $1,250,000 
($1,000,000 plus $250,000 factored base year value). Parents transfer 75 percent interest in their 
principal residence to Child and the remaining 25 percent interest to Nephew on March 1, 2021. 

Examples 4-1 and 4-2 demonstrate alternatives using the facts described in Example 4. 

Example 4-1: Transfer to both Eligible and Non-Eligible Transferees: Zero Excess Amount. The 
principal residence has a full cash value of $900,000 on the date of transfer. Since $900,000 is less than 
the $1,250,000 Excluded Amount, the Excess Amount is zero. Therefore, the Eligible Transferee's New 
Taxable Value on the date of transfer is $187,500 ($250,000 factored base year value multiplied by the 
75 percent interest transferred to Child). Since 25 percent of the principal residence is transferred to 
Nephew, a non-eligible transferee, the Noneligible Transferee's New Taxable Value is $225,000 
($900,000 full cash value multiplied by the 25 percent interest transferred to Nephew). Thus, the New 
Taxable Value of the principal residence is $412,500 ($187,500 plus $225,000). 

Example 4-2: Transfer to both Eligible and Non-Eligible Transferees: Excess Amount. The 
principal residence has a full cash value of $1,300,000 on the date of transfer. Since $1,300,000 is 
greater than the $1,250,000 Excluded Amount, the Excess Amount is $50,000. Since 75 percent interest 
in the principal residence was transferred to Child, the Eligible Transferee's New Taxable Value is 
$225,000 ($250,000 factored base year value plus $50,000 Excess Amount, multiplied by Child's 75 
percent interest). Since 25 percent interest in the principal residence was transferred to Nephew, a non-
eligible transferee, the Noneligible Transferee's New Taxable Value is $325,000 ($1,300,000 full cash 
value multiplied by the 25 percent interest transferred to Nephew). Therefore, the New Taxable Value of 
the principal residence is $550,000 ($225,000 plus $325,000). 
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Proposed Changes to Rule 462.520 

Example 5: Transfer to an Existing Owner Eligible Transferee. On June 1, 2022, Parent's principal 
residence has a factored base year value of $320,000. The Excluded Amount is $1,320,000 ($1,000,000 
plus $320,000 factored base year value). Parent's principal residence is owned 60 percent interest by 
Parent and 40 percent interest by Child. Parent transfers her 60 percent interest to Child. Child meets all 
intergenerational transfer exclusion requirements, and the exclusion is applied. 

Examples 5-1 and 5-2 demonstrate alternatives using the facts described in Example 5. 

Example 5-1: Transfer to an Existing Owner Eligible Transferee: Zero Excess Amount. The full 
cash value of the principal residence is $1,100,000 on the date of transfer. Since the Excluded Amount 
($1,320,000) is greater than the full cash value of the principal residence, the Excess Amount is zero. The 
Eligible Transferee's New Taxable Value on the date of transfer is $192,000 ($320,000 factored base 
year value multiplied by the 60 percent interest transferred to Child). Since 40 percent interest in the 
principal residence was already owned by Child and not transferred, the factored base year value of the 
Non-Transferred Interest is $128,000 ($320,000 factored base year value multiplied by the Child's 40 
percent interest not transferred). Thus, the New Taxable Value of the principal residence is $320,000 
($192,000 plus $128,000). 

Example 5-2: Transfer to an Existing Owner Eligible Transferee: Excess Amount. The full cash 
value of the principal residence is $1,500,000 on the date of transfer. Since the full cash value of the 
principal residence ($1,500,000) is greater than the $1,320,000 Excluded Amount, there is an Excess 
Amount of $180,000. Therefore, the Eligible Transferee's New Taxable Value is $300,000 ($320,000 
factored base year value plus $180,000 Excess Amount, multiplied by the 60 percent interest transferred 
to Child). Since 40 percent interest in the principal residence was already owned by Child and not 
transferred, the factored base year value of the Non-Transferred Interest is $128,000 ($320,000 factored 
base year value multiplied by the Child's 40 percent interest not transferred). Therefore, the New 
TaxableValue of the principal residence is $428,000 ($300,000 plus $128,000). 

Example 6: Transfer to an Existing Owner Eligible Transferee and Non-Eligible Transferee. On June 1, 
2022, Parent's principal residence has a factored base year value of $320,000 and a full cash value of 
$1,500,000. The Excluded Amount is $1,320,000 ($1,000,000 plus $320,000 factored base year value). 
The Excess Amount is $180,000. Parent's principal residence is owned 60 percent interest by Parent and 
40 percent interest by Child. Parent transfers 30 percent interest of her 60 percent interest to Child and 
her remaining 30 percent interest to Niece. Child meets all intergenerational transfer exclusion 
requirements, and the exclusion is applied. The Eligible Transferee's New Taxable Value is $150,000 
($320,000 factored base year value plus $180,000 Excess Amount, multiplied by the 30 percent interest 
transferred to Child). Since 30 percent of the principal residence was transferred to Niece, a non-eligible 
transferee, the Noneligible Transferee's New Taxable Value is $450,000 ($1,500,000 full cash value 
multiplied by the 30 percent interest transferred to Niece). Since 40 percent interest in the principal 
residence was already owned by Child and not transferred, the factored base year value of the Non-
Transferred Interests is $128,000 ($320,000 factored base year value multiplied by the Child's 40 percent 
interest not transferred). Therefore, the New Taxable Value of the principal residence is $728,000 
($150,000 plus $450,000 plus $128,000). 
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Proposed Changes to Rule 462.520 

(d) TAXABLE VALUE UPON EXCLUSION REMOVAL. 

(1)  When the real property is no longer the principal residence or the family farm of an eligible 
transferee as required by subdivision (a)(2) of this rule, the intergenerational transfer exclusion shall be 
removed from the property, and its new taxable value upon removal shall be the new base year value 
calculated pursuant to subdivision (b) of this rule, adjusted by an inflation factor, as provided in 
subdivision (a) of section 51 of the Revenue and Taxation Code through the year the exclusion is lost. 
This amount shall be further adjusted as necessary, including for any part of the real property that 
changes ownership at the time the exclusion is lost, or that previously changed ownership, or that was 
newly constructed. 

(2)  Any portion of the real property not reassessed at the time of the removal of the exclusion shall 
not be subject to supplemental assessment. 

Example 7: Calculation of Taxable Value on Exclusion Removal. Parent transfers their principal 
residence 60 percent interest to Son and 40 percent interest to Daughter. On the date of transfer, the 
principal residence has a factored base year value of $150,000 and a full cash value of $800,000. Since 
100 percent interest in the principal residence is transferred, the principal residence's new base year 
value as determined in subdivision (b) of this rule is $800,000. Son meets all intergenerational transfer 
exclusion requirements, and the exclusion is applied. The New Taxable Value of the principal residence, 
pursuant to subdivision (c) of this rule, at the time the exclusion is first applied is $150,000. Five years 
later, Son moves out of the principal residence and no longer qualifies for the exclusion. If the inflation 
factor was 2 percent each of the five years the property was Son's principal residence, the taxable value 
of the principal residence at the time Son moves out is $165,612 ($150,000 multiplied by the 2 percent 
adjustment for 5 years). 

Examples 7-1 through 7-4 demonstrate alternatives using the facts described in Example 7. 

Example 7-1: No Qualifying Subsequent Eligible Transferee: Full Exclusion Removal. Son and 
Daughter rent the property to a third party. As of the date the principal residence no longer qualifies for 
the homeowners' exemption, it no longer qualifies for the intergenerational transfer exclusion. Since 
100 percent interest in the property is retained by former eligible transferees (Son and Daughter), the 
taxable value upon removal of the exclusion is the new base year value established at the time of the 
transfer ($800,000) adjusted by the inflation factor for five years. Since the inflation factor was 2 percent 
each of those five years, the new base year value factored for inflation upon removal of the exclusion is 
$883,265 ($800,000 multiplied by the 2 percent adjustment for 5 years). 

Example 7-2: Qualifying Subsequent Eligible Transferee: Exclusion Retained. Instead of renting 
the property to a third party, Daughter moves in within one year of Son moving out (which is 5 years 
after the transfer from Parent) and meets all intergenerational transfer exclusion requirements. Since 
the property became the principal residence of another eligible transferee (Daughter) within one year, 
the intergenerational transfer exclusion is not removed. Therefore, the New Taxable Value, which is the 
taxable value, of the principal residence remains at $165,612. 

Example 7-3: Qualifying Subsequent Eligible Transferee: Partial Exclusion Removal, Partial 
Change in Ownership. Instead of renting the property to a third party, Daughter moves in within one year 
of Son moving out (which is 5 years after the transfer from Parent) and meets all intergenerational 
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Proposed Changes to Rule 462.520 

transfer exclusion requirements. At the time Son moves out, he sells his 60 percent interest to Daughter 
when the full cash value of the principal residence was $900,000. Although the property became the 
principal residence of another eligible transferee (Daughter) within one year, since 60 percent interest in 
the principal residence was transferred to Daughter by Son, 60 percent of the exclusion is removed and 
60 percent interest in the principal residence is reassessed, since there is no exclusion from 
reassessment for transfers between siblings. Therefore, the New Taxable Value upon partial removal of 
the exclusion is $606,245, which is equal to the reassessed amount of $540,000 ($900,000 multiplied by 
the 60 percent interest sold to Daughter) plus Daughter's retained factored base year value of $66,245 
($165,612 multiplied by Daughter's 40 percent interest). 

Example 7-4: No Qualifying Subsequent Eligible Transferee: Full Exclusion Removal, Partial 
Change in Ownership. Son sells his 60 percent interest to Daughter when the full cash value of the 
principal residence was $800,000. Daughter rents the property to a third party. Since 60 percent interest 
in the principal residence was transferred to Daughter by Son, 60 percent of the principal residence 
must be reassessed, since there is no exclusion from reassessment for transfers between siblings. 
Therefore, the reassessed amount is $480,000 ($800,000 full cash value multiplied by the 60 percent 
interest sold toDaughter). Additionally, Daughter's 40 percent interest no longer qualifies for the 
exclusion. However, Daughter's 40 percent interest is not subject to reassessment at this time, but 
instead becomes a portion (40 percent) of the new base year value that was established at the time of 
the original transfer ($800,000), adjusted by the inflation factor for five years, which was previously 
excluded from reassessment by the intergenerational transfer exclusion. Since the inflation factor was 2 
percent each of those five years, that amount is $883,265 ($800,000 multiplied by the 2 percent 
adjustment for 5 years). $883,265 multiplied by the 40 percent interest in the real property retained by 
Daughter is equal to $353,306. Therefore, the new base year value upon partial reassessment and then 
removal of the remaining exclusion of the principal residence is $833,306 ($480,000 plus $353,306). 

Example 8: Calculation of Taxable Value on Exclusion Removal. Parent transfers their principal 
residence 50 percent interest to Son and 30 percent interest to Daughter, retaining the remaining 20 
percent interest. On the date of transfer, the principal residence has a factored base year value of 
$150,000 and a full cash value of $800,000. Since 80 percent interest in the principal residence was 
transferred, the principal residence's new base year value as determined in subdivision (b) is $670,000 
($800,000 full cash value multiplied by the 80 percent interest transferred to Son and Daughter plus 
$150,000 factored base year value multiplied by the 20 percent interest retained by Parent). 

Part A: Qualifying Eligible Transferee. Son meets all intergenerational transfer exclusion 
requirements, and the exclusion is applied. The New Taxable Value of the principal residence, pursuant 
to subdivision (c), at the time the exclusion is first applied is the factored base year value of $150,000. 

Part B: No Subsequent Qualifying Eligible Transferee: Full Exclusion Removal, Partial Change in 
Ownership, Partial Interest Retained by Transferor. Three years later, Son moves out of the principal 
residence. If the inflation factor was 2 percent each of those three years, the taxable value of the 
principal residence is $159,181 ($150,000 multiplied by the 2 percent adjustment for 3 years). At the 
time Son moves out, he sells his 50 percent interest to Daughter when the full cash value of the principal 
residence was $900,000. Daughter does not use the property as a principal residence and, thus, does not 
qualify for the intergenerational transfer exclusion. Therefore, the intergenerational transfer exclusion is 
removed in its entirety. Since 50 percent of the real property was transferred from Son to Daughter, a 
transfer between siblings for which no exclusion applies, 50 percent of the real property is reassessed. 
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Proposed Changes to Rule  462.520  

That amount is $450,000 ($900,000 full cash value multiplied by the 50 percent interest sold to 
Daughter). Additionally, the $670,000 new base year value established at the time of the transfer 
multiplied by the 2 percent adjustment for three years is equal to $711,009. This amount must be 
multiplied by the percent ofthe real property retained by former eligible transferees (Daughter's 30 
percent), which is equal to $213,303. Finally, the portion of the factored base year value of Parent's 
retained 20 percent interest is $31,836 ($159,181 multiplied by 20 percent). Therefore, the New Taxable 
Value upon removal of theexclusion of the principal residence is $695,139 ($213,303 plus $450,000 plus 
$31,836). 

(e) DEFINITIONS. The following definitions govern the construction of the words or phrases used in this 
section. 

(1)  "Children" means any of the following: 

(A)  Any child born of the parent or parents, except a child, as defined in subparagraph (D), who 
has been adopted by another person or persons. 

(B)  Any stepchild of the parent or parents and the spouse of that stepchild while the relationship 
of stepparent and stepchild exists. For purposes of this paragraph, the relationship of stepparent and 
stepchild shall be deemed to exist until the marriage on which the relationship is based is terminated by 
divorce, or, if the relationship is terminated by death, until the remarriage of the surviving stepparent. 

(C)  Any son-in-law or daughter-in-law of the parent or parents. For the purposes of this 
paragraph, the relationship of parent and son-in-law or daughter-in-law shall be deemed to exist until 
the marriage on which the relationship is based is terminated by divorce, or, if the relationship is 
terminated by death, until the remarriage of the surviving son-in-law or daughter-in-law. 

(D)  Any child adopted by the parent or parents pursuant to statute, other than an individual 
adopted after reaching 18 years of age. 

(E) Any foster child of a state-licensed foster parent, if that child was not, because of a legal 
barrier, adopted by the foster parent or foster parents before the child aged out of the foster care 
system. For purposes of this paragraph, the relationship between a foster child and foster parent shall 
be deemed to exist until terminated by death. However, for purposes of a transfer that occurs on the 
date of death, the relationship shall be deemed to exist on the date of death. 

(2)  "Disabled veterans' exemption" means the exemption authorized by subdivision (a) of section 4 
of article XIII of the California Constitution. 

(3)  "Eligible transferee" means a parent, child, grandparent, or grandchild of an eligible transferor. 

(4)  "Eligible transferor" means a grandparent, grandchild, parent, or child of an eligible transferee. 

(5)  "Factored base year value" means the amount determined pursuant to subdivision (f) of section 
110.1 of the Revenue and Taxation Code. 
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Proposed Changes to Rule 462.520 

(6)  "Family farm" means any real property which is under cultivation or which is being used for 
pasture or grazing, or that is used to produce any agricultural commodity, as that term is defined in 
section 51201 of the Government Code as that section read on January 1, 2020. As of January 1, 2020, 
Government Code section 51201 defined "agricultural commodity" as follows: "Agricultural commodity" 
means any and all plant and animal products produced in this state for commercial purposes, including, 
but not limited to, plant products used for producing biofuels, and industrial hemp cultivated in 
accordancewith Division 24 (commencing with Section 81000) of the Food and Agricultural Code. 

(7)  "Full cash value" means full cash value, as defined in section 2 of article XIII A of the California 
Constitution and section 110.1 of the Revenue and Taxation Code, with any adjustments authorized by 
those sections, and the full value of any new construction in progress, determined as of the date 
immediately prior to the date of a purchase by or transfer to an eligible transferee of real property 
subject to this section. 

(8)  "Grandchild" or "grandchildren" means any child or children of the child or children of the 
grandparent or grandparents. 

(9)  "Homeowners' exemption" means the exemption provided by subdivision (k) of section 3 of 
article XIII of the California Constitution. 

(10) "Legal parcel" means any parcel of real property that may be separately sold in compliance 
with the Subdivision Map Act (Division 2 (commencing with Section 66410) of Title 7 of the Government 
Code), or for which a certificate of compliance has been recognized and recorded. 

(1011) "Principal residence" means a dwelling that is eligible for a homeowners' exemption or a 
disabled veterans' exemption as a result of the transferor's or transferee's ownership and occupation of 
the dwelling."Principal residence" includes that portion of the land underlying the residence that 
consists of an area of reasonable size that is used as a site for the residence. 

(A) A principal residence shall include property owned by a decedent’s estate, whether directly 
or through a trust, if it was the decedent’s principal residence immediately prior to their death. 

(B) A principal residence shall include an accessory dwelling unit or junior accessory dwelling 
unit in its appraisal unit if the accessory dwelling unit or junior accessory dwelling unit is not separately 
alienable from the title of any other dwelling unit on the property and the eligible transferee occupies 
one of the structures as their primary residence. 

(i) "Accessory dwelling unit" has the same meaning as defined in subdivision (j)(1) of 
section 65852.2 of the Government Code. 

(ii) "Junior accessory dwelling unit" has the same meaning as defined in subdivision (h)(1) 
of section 65852.22 of the Government Code. 

(1112)"Real property" means real property as defined in section 104 of the Revenue and Taxation 
Code. Real property does not include any interest in a legal entity, except as provided in this paragraph. 
For purposes of this section, real property includes any of the following: 
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Proposed Changes to Rule 462.520 

(A)  An interest in a unit or lot within a cooperative housing corporation, as defined in 
subdivision (i) of section 61 of the Revenue and Taxation Code. 

(B)  A pro rata ownership interest in a mobilehome park, as defined in subdivision (b) of section 
62.1 of the Revenue and Taxation Code. 

(C)  A pro rata ownership in a floating home marina, as defined in subdivision (c) of section 62.5 
of the Revenue and Taxation Code. 

(1213)"Transfer" includes, and is not limited to, any transfer of the present beneficial ownership of 
property through the medium of an inter vivos or testamentary trust. 

(1314)"Transfer between parents and their children" means either a transfer from a parent or 
parents to their child or children or a transfer from a child or children to their parent or parents. 

(1415)"Transfer between grandparents and their grandchildren" means a transfer from a 
grandparent or grandparents to their grandchild or grandchildren or a transfer from a grandchild or 
grandchildren to their grandparent or grandparents. 

(f) FILING. 

(1) Homeowners’ or Disabled Veterans’ Exemption Claim. 

(A)  A transferee who files a claim for the homeowners’ or disabled veterans’ exemption within 
one year of the purchase or transfer of the family home shall be entitled to a refund of taxes previously 
owed or paid, as a result of not having filed a homeowners’ or disabled veterans’ exemption, between 
the date of the transfer and the date the transferee claims the homeowner's exemption or disabled 
veteran’s exemption. 

(B)  A transferee who is otherwise eligible for this exclusion and files a claim for the 
homeowners’ or disabled veterans’ exemption after one year of the purchase or transfer of the family 
home shall only receive the intergenerational transfer exclusion commencing with the lien date of the 
assessment year in which the claim is filed. The adjusted full cash value of the family home in that 
assessment year shall be the adjusted base year value of the family home in the assessment year in 
which the excluded purchase or transfer took place, factored to the assessment year in which the 
exemption was filed for both inflation as annually determined in accordance with paragraph (1) of 
subdivision (a) of section 51 of the Revenue and Taxation Code and any subsequent new construction 
occurring with respect to the family home. 

(12) Exclusion Claim Form. To request the intergenerational transfer exclusion, an eligible transferor 
and eligible transferee shall file a claim form, designed by the State Board of Equalization, with the 
county assessor in the county in which the principal residence is located. 

(A)  The claim form shall include a written certification signed and made under penalty of 
perjury,of the following: 
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Proposed Changes to Rule 462.520 

(i) that the transferee is a parent, child, grandparent, or grandchild of the transferor and 
that the transferor is their parent, child, grandparent, or grandchild. 

(ii) in the case of a grandparent-grandchild transfer, that all the parents of the grandchild 
or grandchildren who qualify as children of the grandparents were deceased as of the 
date of the transfer. 

(iii) that the transferor will not file a claim to transfer the base year value of the property 
under either section 2, subdivision (a) or section 2.1, subdivision (b) of article XIII A of 
the California Constitution. 

(iv) that the real property is the transferor's principal residence or family farm; and 

(v) that the real property is or will become within one year the transferee's principal 
residence or family farm and a homeowners’ exemption claim form will be filed, the 
property will continue to be the principal residence or the family farm of an eligible 
transferee, and the eligible transferee will notify the assessor if the real property is no 
longer the principal residence or the family farm of an eligible transferee. 

(B)  The claim form may be filed and the certification made by the transferor's or eligible 
transferee's legal representative, the trustee of the transferor's or eligible transferee's trust, or the 
executor or administrator of the transferor's or eligible transferee's estate. 

(C)  If there are multiple transferees, the claim form may be filed and the certification made by 
anyone of the eligible transferees. 

(D)  The claimant shall provide substantiation of any matter certified pursuant to this paragraph 
at the request of the county assessor. 

(23) Except as provided in paragraph (34), any claim under this section shall be filed within three 
years after the date of the transfer of real property for which the claim is filed, or prior to transfer of the 
real property to a third party, whichever is earlier. However, a claim shall be deemed to be timely filed if 
it is filed within six months after the date of mailing of a notice of supplemental or escape assessment, 
issuedas a result of the transfer of real property for which the claim is filed. 

Example 9: Exemption and Exclusion Forms Filed at Time of Transfer. Parent transfers their principal 
residence to Son and Daughter on March 1, 2021. The property is also the principal residence of Son. 
Son files a claim for the homeowners' exemption and the intergenerational transfer exclusion claim 
form at the time of the transfer. Because the homeowners’ exemption claim form was filed within one 
year of the date of transfer as required by subdivision (a)(1)(A) and the intergenerational transfer 
exclusion claim form was filed within three years of the date of the transfer of the property as required 
by subdivision (f)(2), both filing requirements have been satisfied and, as long as Child meets all other 
eligibility requirements, the New Taxable Value as of March 1, 2021, will be calculated pursuant to 
subdivision (c) of this section. 

Example 9-1 Exemption and Exclusion Forms Filed at Time of Transfer to Subsequent Eligible 
Transferee. A number of years later, Son moves out of the principal residence and Daughter moves in, 
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Proposed Changes to Rule 462.520 

making it her principal residence. Since Daughter was an eligible transferee of Parent, as long as 
Daughter files a homeowners’ exemption claim form within one year and the intergenerational transfer 
exclusion claim form within three years, the property remains eligible for the intergenerational transfer 
exclusion. 

Example 10: Exemption and Exclusion Form Filed Within One Year of Transfer. Parent transfers their 
principal residence to Child on March 1, 2021. The property is also the principal residence of Child. Child 
does not file a claim for the homeowners' exemption at the time of transfer, but files the homeowners' 
exemption and intergenerational transfer exclusion claim forms on February 1, 2022. A change in 
ownership will be processed as of March 1, 2021, and a new base year value established as of that date. 
Assuming Child meets all other eligibility requirements, a New Taxable Value as calculated in subdivision 
(c) of this section will be restored as of March 1, 2021,and Child shall be entitled to a refund of property 
taxes previously paid or a cancellation of taxes previously owed between March 1, 2021 and January 31, 
2022. 

Example 11: Exclusion Form Filed Within Three Years of Transfer. Parent transfers their principal 
residence to Child on March 1, 2021. The property is also the principal residence of Child. Child files a 
claim for the homeowners' exemption at the time of the transfer. Child still owns the property as their 
principal residence on March 1, 2023, and files the intergenerational transfer exclusion claim form on 
that date. A change in ownership will be processed as of March 1, 2021, and a new base year value 
established as of that date. Assuming Child meets all other eligibility requirements, a New Taxable Value 
as calculated in subdivision (c) of this section will be restored as of March 1, 2021, and Child shall be 
entitled to a refund of property taxes previously paid or a cancellation of taxes previously owed 
between March 1, 2021 and February 28, 2023. 

Example 12: Exclusion Form Filed Three Years After Transfer. Parent transfers their principal 
residence to Child on March 1, 2021. The property is also the principal residence of Child. Child files a 
claim for the homeowners' exemption at the time of the transfer. Child does not file an 
intergenerational  transfer exclusion form and receives a notice of supplemental assessment on April 1, 
2025. As long as Child files the exclusion claim form within six months of April 1, 2025, and meets all 
other eligibility requirements, the principal residence will be assessed at its New Taxable Value as of 
March 1, 2021, calculated pursuant to subdivision (c) of this section. Child shall be entitled to a refund of 
property taxes previously paid or a cancellation of taxes previously owed between March 1, 2021 and 
March 31, 2025. 

(34) If the principal residence real property has not been transferred to a third party, a claim for 
exclusion filed subsequent to the expiration of the filing periods set forth in paragraph (23) shall be 
considered by the assessor; however, 

(A)  Any exclusion granted pursuant to that claim shall apply commencing with the lien date of 
the assessment year in which the claim is filed. 

(B)  Under any exclusion granted pursuant to that claim, the value of the real property upon 
which property taxes shall be based in the assessment year described in subparagraph (A) is the 
factored base  year value calculated with full cash value determined as the date the property first 
qualified for the intergenerational transfer exclusion. 
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Proposed Changes to Rule 462.520 

Example 13: Parent transfers their principal residence to Child on March 1, 2021. The property is 
also the principal residence of Child. Child files a claim for the homeowners' exemption at the time of 
the transfer. Child receives a notice of supplemental assessment on April 1, 2022, and files the exclusion 
claim form one year later, on April 1, 2023. Assuming Child meets all other eligibility requirements, the 
principal residence will be assessed at its New Taxable Value on March 1, 2021, as calculated pursuant 
to subdivision (c) of this rule, adjusted for inflation factor increases pursuant to subdivision (a) of section 
51 of the Revenue and Taxation Code. 

(5) If the exemption claim required by subdivision (a)(1) of this rule is filed one year after the 
transfer for which the claim for exclusion required by subdivision (a)(4) of this rule is filed then the 
exclusion shall be granted commencing with the lien date of the assessment year in which the last of the 
two claims is filed 

(46) For purposes of this subdivision, a “third party” is any person, including any legal entity, who is 
not a transferor or transferee in the transfer for which the claim is being filed. However, a transfer of real 
property to a parent or child of the transferor or to a grandparent or grandchild of the transferor shall 
not be considered a transfer to a third party. 

(g) ADJUSTMENT OF $1,000,000 

(1) On February 16, 2023, and every other February 16 thereafter, the one million dollar 
($1,000,000) amount described in subdivision (c)(1)(B) of this rule shall be adjusted by the same percent 
change in the  House Price Index for California for the prior calendar year, as determined by the Federal 
Housing Finance Agency. 

(2) The State Board of Equalization shall calculate and publish the adjustments required by this 
subdivision. 
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RULE 462.540. CHANGE IN OWNERSHIP – BASE YEAR VALUE TRANSFERS. 

Authority: Section 15606, Government Code. 
References: Article XIII A, Sections 2 and 2.1, California Constitution; and Sections 60, 69.5 and 69.6, Revenue and 

Taxation Code. 

(a) GENERAL. Beginning on and after April 1, 2021, any person who is over the age of 55 years, or 
severely and permanently disabled, or a victim of a wildfire or natural disaster may transfer the factored 
base year value of their primary residence to a replacement primary residence located anywhere in this 
state, regardless of the location or value of the replacement primary residence, if all of the following 
conditions are met: 

(1) The person sells the original primary residence within two years of the purchase or new 
construction of the replacement primary residence. Either the sale of the original primary residence or 
the purchase or new construction of the replacement primary residence, but not both, may occur before 
April 1, 2021. 

(2) The real property is the person's original primary residence either at the time of its sale, or at the 
time when the original primary residence was substantially damaged or destroyed by misfortune or 
calamity, or at the time the person became a victim of a wildfire or natural disaster, or within two years 
of the purchase or new construction of the replacement primary residence. 

(3) The original primary residence undergoes a change in ownership that either: 

(A) Subjects that property to reappraisal at its current full cash value; or 

(B) Results in a base year value determined in accordance with this section, or sections 69 or 
69.3 of the Revenue and Taxation Code, because the property qualifies as a replacement primary 
residence, dwelling, or property under any of those provisions. 

Example 1: A brother and sister are equal co-owners of a primary residence. The sister sells her 
50 percent interest to her brother and purchases a separate residence. Even if the sister is otherwise 
qualified, she is ineligible to transfer her portion of the base year value of the primary residence to her 
new residence, since the original primary residence did not undergo a 100 percent change in ownership 
that resulted in a reappraisal of the property at its current full cash value. 

(4) The replacement primary residence is purchased or newly constructed within two years of the 
sale of the original primary residence. The land on which a building, structure, or other shelter 
constituting a place of abode is newly constructed need not be purchased within two years of the sale of 
the original primary residence. 

Example 2: Owner sells their original primary residence for $515,000. Owner and two other persons 
together purchase a replacement primary residence for $500,000. If Owner is otherwise qualified, the 
factored base year value of their original primary residence can be transferred to the replacement 
primary residence. Even though Owner owns only a one-third interest in the replacement primary 
residence, 100 percent of the original primary residence changed ownership and 100 percent of the 
replacement primary residence underwent a change in ownership within two years. Only Owner is 
considered a claimant, even if the other co-owners will benefit from the Owner's base year value 
transfer. 
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Proposed Changes to Rule 462.540 

Example 3: Owner is the sole owner of a primary residence, which has a market value of $500,000. 
Co-owner purchases a 50 percent interest in Owner's property for $250,000. Co-owner sold their 
original primary residence for $200,000 and meets all other requirements. Co-owner may not transfer 
the base year value of their original primary residence to their 50 percent interest in Owner's primary 
residence, since Owner's primary residence did not undergo a 100 percent change in ownership. 

(A) If the replacement primary residence is, in part, purchased and, in part, newly constructed, 
the date the "replacement primary residence is purchased or newly constructed" is the date of purchase 
or the date of completion of new construction, whichever is later. 

(B) The factored base year value of the original primary residence shall not be transferred to the 
replacement primary residence until the original primary residence is sold. 

Example 4: Owner sells their original primary residence on February 1, 2021. Owner purchased a 
replacement primary residence on January 10, 2023. Subject to all other conditions and requirements of 
this section, Owner may transfer the base year value of their original primary residence to their 
replacement primary residence as of January 10, 2023, since the replacement primary residence was 
purchased within two years of the sale of the original primary residence. 

Example 5: Owner purchased a replacement primary residence on March 10, 2020 and sells their 
original primary residence on May 5, 2021. Subject to all the other conditions and requirements of this 
section, Owner may transfer the base year value of their original primary residence to their replacement 
primary residence as of May 5, 2021, since the replacement primary residence was purchased within 
two years of the sale of the original primary residence. 

(5) The person seeking to transfer the factored base year value of their original primary residence 
pursuant to this section shall file a claim form, in accordance with subdivision (d), with the assessor of 
the county in which the replacement primary residence is located. 

(6) At the time the claim is filed, the purchased or newly constructed dwelling qualifies as the 
person's replacement primary residence. 

(7) The person has not previously been granted, as a claimant, the property tax relief provided by 
this section more than two previous times. This paragraph shall not apply to claimants that are victims 
of wildfires or natural disasters. 

Example 6: Husband and wife own an original primary residence as community property. Husband 
has been granted the relief provided by this section three times previously. Wife has never been granted 
such relief. Subject to all other conditions and requirements of this section, Husband and Wife may sell 
their original primary residence and transfer its factored base year value to a purchased or newly 
constructed replacement primary residence if Wife files a claim for exclusion, since Wife has not used 
the exclusion more than two previous times. 
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Proposed Changes to Rule 462.540 

(b) VALUATION. 

(1) If the full cash value of the replacement primary residence is of equal or lesser value than the full 
cash value of the original primary residence, the new base year value of the replacement primary 
residence shall be the factored base year value of the original primary residence. 

Example 7: The factored base year value of Owner's original primary residence is $300,000. Owner 
sells their original primary residence for $550,000. Owner purchases a replacement primary residence 
for $500,000. Since the full cash value of Owner's replacement primary residence ($500,000) is less than 
the full cash value of the original primary residence ($550,000), the new base year value of the 
replacement primary residence is $300,000. 

(2) If the full cash value of the replacement primary residence is of greater value than the full cash 
value of the original primary residence, the new base year value of the replacement primary residence 
shall be the difference between the full cash value of the replacement primary residence and the full 
cash value of the original primary residence adjusted pursuant to subdivision (c)(2) of this rule, plus the 
factored base year value of the original primary residence. 

Example 8: The factored base year value of Owner's original primary residence is $300,000. Owner 
sells their original primary residence for $550,000 on June 1, 2021. Owner purchases a replacement 
primary residence for $600,000 on August 1, 2021. Since the full cash value of Owner's replacement 
primary residence ($600,000) is greater than 105 percent of the full cash value of the original primary 
residence ($577,500 = $550,000 x 1.05), the new base year value of the replacement primary residence 
is $322,50,000 ($300,000 factored base year value of original primary residence plus $50,000 22,500, 
which is the difference between the full cash value of the replacement primary residence ($600,000) 
and the adjusted full cash value of the original primary residence ($550,000 577,500)). 

(3) For purposes of this section, the full cash value of the original primary residence shall be 
determined as of the date of its sale. The full cash value of the replacement primary residence shall be 
determined as of the date the replacement primary residence is purchased or newly constructed. 

(c) DEFINITIONS. For purposes of this section: 

(1) "Claimant" means any person claiming the property tax relief provided by this section. 

(2) “Equal or lesser value” means that the amount of the full cash value of a replacement primary 
residence does not exceed one of the following: 

(A) One hundred percent of the amount of the full cash value of the original primary residence if 
the replacement primary residence is purchased or newly constructed prior to the date of the sale of the 
original primary residence. 

(B) One hundred and five percent of the amount of the full cash value of the original primary 
residence if the replacement primary residence is purchased or newly constructed within the first year 
following the date of the sale of the original primary residence. 
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Proposed Changes to Rule 462.540 

(C) One hundred and ten percent of the amount of the full cash value of the original primary 
residence if the replacement primary residence is purchased or newly constructed within the second 
year following the date of the sale of the original primary residence. 

(23) "Factored base year value" means the amount determined pursuant to subdivision (f) of section 
110.1 of the Revenue and Taxation Code as of the date immediately prior to the date that the original 
primary residence is sold by the claimant, or in the case where the original primary residence has been 
substantially damaged or destroyed by misfortune or calamity and the owner does not rebuild on the 
original primary residence, determined as of the date immediately prior to the misfortune or calamity. If 
the replacement primary residence is purchased or newly constructed after the transfer of the primary 
residence, “factored base year value of the primary residence” also includes any inflation factor 
adjustments permitted by subdivision (f) of Section 110.1 for the period from the date of its sale by the 
claimant to the date on which the replacement primary residence was purchased or newly constructed. 
The base year or years used to compute the “factored base year value of the primary residence” shall be 
deemed to be the base year or years of any property to which that base year value is transferred. 

(34) "Full cash value" means full cash value, as defined in section 110 of the Revenue and Taxation 
Code. In the case where the claimant is a victim of a wildfire or natural disaster, the full cash value of the 
original primary residence is determined in accordance with section 110 of the Revenue and Taxation 
Code immediately prior to the wildfire or natural disaster, as determined by the county assessor of the 
county in which the property is located, plus the adjustments permitted by subdivision (b) of section 2 of 
article XIII A of the California Constitution and subdivision (f) of section 110.1 of the Revenue and 
Taxation Code, for the period from the date of its sale by the claimant to the date on which the 
replacement primary residence was purchased or newly constructed. 

(A) For purposes of this section, the full cash value of the original primary residence shall be 
determined as of the date of its sale. 

(B) In the case where the claimant is a victim of a wildfire or natural disaster or the original 
primary residence has been substantially damaged or destroyed by misfortune or calamity, and the 
owner does not rebuild on the property, the full cash value of the original primary residence is 
determined in accordance with section 110 of the Revenue and Taxation Code immediately prior to the 
wildfire or natural disaster or misfortune or calamity, as determined by the county assessor of the 
county in which the property is located, plus the adjustments permitted by subdivision (b) of section 2 of 
article XIII A of the California Constitution and subdivision (f) of section 110.1 of the Revenue and 
Taxation Code, for the period from the date of its sale by the claimant to the date on which the 
replacement primary residence was purchased or newly constructed. 

(C) The full cash value of the replacement primary residence shall be determined as of the date 
the replacement primary residence is purchased or newly constructed. If new construction is completed 
after a base year value transfer claim has been approved as provided for in subdivision (f) of this rule, 
the full cash value of only the new construction will be determined as of the date of completion of new 
construction. 

(D) The full cash value of the replacement primary residence, both the land and the building, 
structure, or other shelter constituting a place of abode, shall be determined as of the date the building, 
structure, or other shelter constituting a place of abode is newly constructed. 
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Proposed Changes to Rule 462.540 

(5) “Greater value” means a value that is not of “equal or lesser value”. 

(46) "Natural disaster" means the existence, as declared or proclaimed by the Governor, of 
conditions of disaster or extreme peril to the safety of persons or property within the affected area 
caused by conditions such as fire, flood, drought, storm, mudslide, earthquake, civil disorder, foreign 
invasion, or volcanic eruption. 

(57) "Original primary residence" means a building, structure, or other shelter constituting a place of 
abode, whether real property or personal property, that is owned by a claimant as their principal 
residence, and any land owned by the claimant on which the building, structure, or other shelter is 
situated. For property substantially damaged or destroyed by wildfire or natural disaster, "original 
primary residence" includes vacant land on which a claimant's primary residence was located as of the 
date of the disaster. 

(68) "Over 55 years of age" means any person who has attained the age of 55 years or older at the 
time of the sale of the original primary residence. 

(79) "Person" means any individual, but does not include any firm, partnership, association, 
corporation, company, or other legal entity or organization of any kind. "Person" includes an individual 
who is the present beneficiary of a trust. 

(810) "Primary residence" and "principal residence" mean a residence eligible for either the 
homeowners' exemption authorized by subdivision (k) of section 3 of article XIII of the California 
Constitution or the disabled veterans' exemption authorized by subdivision (a) of section 4 of article XIII 
of the California Constitution, and includes any land owned by the claimant on which the building, 
structure, or other shelter is situated. 

(911) "Replacement primary residence" means a building, structure, or other shelter constituting a 
place of abode, whether real property or personal property, that is purchased or newly constructed by a 
claimant as their principal residence, and any land owned by the claimant on which the building, 
structure, or other shelter is situated. 

(1012) For purposes of defining "original primary residence," "primary residence," "principal 
residence," and "replacement primary residence," the following shall apply: 

(A) Land constituting a part of the property includes only that area of reasonable size that is 
used as a site for a residence, and "land owned by the claimant" includes: 

(i) Land for which the claimant either holds a leasehold interest described in subdivision (c) 
of section 61 of the Revenue and Taxation Code or a land purchase contract; and 

(ii) An ownership interest in a resident-owned mobilehome park that is assessed pursuant 
to subdivision (b) of section 62.1 of the Revenue and Taxation Code. 

(B) Each unit of a multiunit dwelling shall be considered a separate primary residence. 
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Proposed Changes to Rule 462.540 

(C) For purposes of this paragraph, "area of reasonable size that is used as a site for a residence" 
includes all land if any nonresidential uses of the property are only incidental to the use of the property 
as a residential site. 

(1113) "Sale" means any change in ownership of the original primary residence for consideration. 

(1114) "Severely and permanently disabled" means any person described in subdivision (b) of 
section 74.3 of the Revenue and Taxation Code. 

(1215) "Social security number" also includes a taxpayer identification number issued by the Internal 
Revenue Service in the case in which the taxpayer is a foreign national who cannot obtain a social 
security number. 

(16) Property is “substantially damaged or destroyed by misfortune or calamity” if either the land or 
the improvements sustain physical damage amounting to more than 50 percent of either the land’s or 
the improvement’s full cash value immediately prior to the misfortune or calamity. Damage includes a 
diminution in the value of property as a result of restricted access to the property where the restricted 
access was caused by the misfortune or calamity. 

(1317) "Victim of a wildfire or natural disaster" means the owner of an original primary residence 
that has been substantially damaged as a result of a wildfire or natural disaster that amounts to more 
than 50 percent of the improvement value of the original primary residence immediately before the 
wildfire or natural disaster. For purposes of this paragraph, "damage" includes a diminution in the value 
of the original primary residence as a result of restricted access caused by the wildfire or natural 
disaster. 

(1418) "Wildfire" means an unplanned, unwanted wildland fire, including unauthorized human-
caused fires, escaped wildland fire use events, escaped prescribed fire projects, and all other wildland 
fires where the objective is to extinguish the fire. 

(d) CLAIM FILING. 

(1) A claimant shall not be eligible for the property tax relief provided by this section unless the 
claimant provides to the assessor, on a form designed by the State Board of Equalization and that the 
assessor shall make available upon request, the following information: 

(A) The name and social security number of each claimant who is a record owner of the 
replacement primary residence. 

(B) Proof that the claimant was, at the time of the sale of the original primary residence, at least 
55 years of age, or severely and permanently disabled, or the victim of a wildfire or natural disaster. In 
the absence of available proof that a person is over 55 years of age, the claimant shall certify under 
penalty of perjury that the age requirement is met. Proof of severe disability shall be considered a 
certification, signed by a licensed physician or surgeon of appropriate specialty, attesting to the 
claimant's severely and permanently disabled condition. In the case of a severely and permanently 
disabled claimant, either of the following shall also be submitted: 
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Proposed Changes to Rule 462.540 

(i) A certification, signed by a licensed physician or surgeon of appropriate specialty that 
identifies specific reasons why the disability necessitates a move to the replacement 
primary residence and the disability-related requirements, including any locational 
requirements, of a replacement primary residence. The claimant shall substantiate that 
the replacement primary residence meets disability-related requirements so identified 
and that the primary reason for the move to the replacement primary residence is to 
satisfy those requirements. If the claimant, or the claimant's spouse or guardian, so 
declares under penalty of perjury, it shall be rebuttably presumed that the primary 
purpose of the move to the replacement primary residence is to satisfy identified 
disability-related requirements. 

(ii) The claimant's substantiation that the primary purpose of the move to the replacement 
primary residence is to alleviate financial burdens caused by the disability. If the 
claimant, or the claimant's spouse or guardian, so declares under penalty of perjury, it 
shall be rebuttably presumed that the primary purpose of the move is to alleviate the 
financial burdens caused by the disability. 

(C) The address and, if known, the assessor's parcel number of the original primary residence. 

(D) The date of the claimant's sale of the original primary residence and the date of the 
claimant's purchase or new construction of the replacement primary residence. 

(E) A statement by the claimant that they occupied the replacement primary residence as their 
principal place of residence on the date of the filing of their claim. 

(F) Any claim under this section shall be filed within three years of the date of the purchase of or 
the completion of new construction of the replacement primary residence. 

(2) A claim for transfer of base year value under this section that is filed after the expiration of the 
filing period set forth in subparagraph (F) of paragraph (1) of subdivision (d) of this rule shall be 
considered by the assessor, subject to all of the following conditions: 

(A) Any base year value transfer granted pursuant to that claim shall apply commencing with the 
lien date of the assessment year in which the claim is filed. 

(B) The base year value of the replacement primary residence in the assessment year described 
in subparagraph (A) of paragraph (2) of subdivision (d) of this rule shall be the base year value of the 
replacement primary residence, as calculated in subdivision (b) of this rule, for the assessment year the 
replacement primary residence was purchased or newly constructed, adjusted to the assessment year 
described in subparagraph (A) of paragraph (2) of subdivision (d) of this rule for all of the following: 

(i) Inflation, as annually determined in accordance with paragraph (1) of subdivision (a) of 
section 51 of the Revenue and Taxation Code. 

(ii) Any subsequent new construction occurring with respect to the subject real property 
that does not qualify for property tax relief pursuant to the criteria set forth in 
subparagraphs (A) and (B) of paragraph (4) of subdivision (e) of this rule. 
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Example 9: Owner purchased a replacement primary residence on March 1, 2021 for $680,000. 
Owner sold their original primary residence on March 1, 2022 for $700,000. The factored base year 
value of the Owner's original primary residence at the time of sale was $300,000. Owner files a claim for 
a base year value transfer on February 3, 2025. While the Owner is still eligible to file a claim for the 
base year value transfer, since the claim was not filed within three years of the purchase of the 
replacement primary residence, the base year value of the original primary residence is transferred to 
the replacement primary residence as of lien date January 1, 2025, the lien date of the assessment year 
in which the claim is filed, rather than the date the original primary residence was sold. Thus, the new 
base year value to be enrolled for the 2025-26 fiscal year is $300,000 multiplied by the inflation 
adjustment factor each year until 2025. 

(3) To ensure no claimant exceeds the limit on transfers imposed by paragraph (7) of subdivision (a) 
of this rule, county assessors shall report quarterly to the State Board of Equalization that information 
from claims filed in accordance with subdivision (d) of this rule and from county records, as is specified 
by the board, necessary to identify fully all claims under this section allowed by assessors and all 
claimants who have thereby received relief. The board may specify that the information include all or a 
part of the names and social security numbers of claimants and the identity and location of the 
replacement dwelling primary residence to which the claim applies. 

(4) A claim filed under this section is not a public document and is not subject to public inspection, 
except that a claim shall be available for inspection by the claimant or the claimant's spouse, the 
claimant's or the claimant's spouse's legal representative, the trustee of a trust in which the claimant or 
the claimant's spouse is a present beneficiary, and the executor or administrator of the claimant's or the 
claimant's spouse's estate. 

(e) TIMING OF TRANSFER. 

(1) Upon the timely filing of a claim for relief under this section, the assessor shall adjust the new 
base year value of the replacement primary residence in conformity with subdivision (b) of this rule. This 
adjustment shall be made as of the latest of the following dates: 

(A) The date the original primary residence is sold. 

(B) The date the replacement primary residence is purchased. 

(C) The date the new construction of the replacement primary residence is completed. 

(2) Any taxes that were levied on the replacement primary residence prior to the filing of the claim 
on the basis of the replacement primary residence's full cash value at the time of purchase or new 
construction, and any allowable annual adjustments thereto, shall be canceled or refunded to the 
claimant to the extent that the taxes exceed the amount that would be due when determined on the 
basis of the adjusted new base year value. 

Example 10: Owner purchased a replacement primary residence on March 1, 2021. The assessor 
processed a change in ownership and reassessed the property. Owner sold their original primary 
residence on March 1, 2022. Owner files a claim for a base year value transfer on February 1, 2024. 
Since the claim was filed within three years of the purchase of the replacement primary residence, the 
base year value of the original primary residence is transferred to the replacement primary residence as 
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of March 1, 2022, if owner meets all the other conditions and requirements of this section. Any taxes 
that were levied on the replacement primary residence for the period March 1, 2022 to January 31, 
2024, as a result of the change in ownership processed on March 1, 2021, will be canceled or will be 
refunded. 

(3) Notwithstanding section 75.10, chapter 3.5 of the Revenue and Taxation Code (commencing with 
section 75) shall be utilized for purposes of implementing this subdivision, including adjustments of the 
new base year value of replacement primary residences acquired prior to the sale of the primary 
residence. 

(f) NEW CONSTRUCTION 

(41) In the case where a claim under this section has been timely filed and granted, and new 
construction is performed upon the replacement primary residence subsequent to the transfer of base 
year value, the property tax relief provided by this section shall also apply to the replacement primary 
residence, as improved, and, thus, there shall be no reassessment upon of the replacement primary 
residence upon completion of the new construction if to the extent both of the following conditions are 
met: (A) Tthe new construction is completed within two years of the date of the sale of the original 
primary residence and the owner notifies the assessor in writing of completion of the new construction 
within six months after completion. 

(B2) If Tthe full cash value of the new construction on the date of completion, plus the full cash 
value of the replacement primary residence on the date of acquisition, is of equal or lesser value than 
the full cash value of the original primary residence adjusted pursuant to subdivision (c)(2) of this rule, 
the new base year value of the replacement primary residence shall remain the factored base year value 
of the original primary residence. 

Example 11: Owner sold their original primary residence on May 10, 2021 for $700,000. Owner 
purchased a replacement primary residence on March 1, 2022 for $500,000, and filed a base year value 
transfer claim on March 15, 2022. On April 1, 2022, Owner began to construct an addition to the 
replacement primary residence and completed new construction on March 1, 2023. The value of the 
completed new construction was $100,000. Owner notified the assessor of the completion of the new 
construction on May 1, 2023. Subject to all the other conditions and requirements of this section, since 
the full cash value of the new construction ($100,000) plus the full cash value of the replacement 
primary residence on the date of purchase ($500,000) is not more than the full cash value of the original 
primary residence ($700,000), the new construction will not be reassessed. 

(3) If the full cash value of the new construction on the date of completion, plus the full cash value 
of the replacement primary residence on the date of acquisition, is of greater value than the full cash 
value of the original primary residence adjusted pursuant to subdivision (c)(2) of this rule, the new base 
year value of the replacement primary residence shall be the difference between the full cash value of 
the replacement primary residence plus the value of the new construction and the full cash value of the 
original primary residence adjusted pursuant to subdivision (c)(2) of this rule, plus the factored base 
year value of the original primary residence. 

Example 12: Owner sold their original primary residence for $700,000 when the factored base year 
value was $300,000. Several months later, owner purchased a replacement primary residence for 
$500,000, and filed a base year value transfer claim. After the claim was accepted, Owner began to 

21 



  
 

 
 

  
    

  
    
    

    
      

    
   

 
   

      
      

 
  

  
  

 
    

    
  
    

 
    

    
    

     
 

     
    

   
   

 
     

     
     

 
 

   
 

  
   

    
 

 

Proposed Changes to Rule 462.540 

construct an addition to the replacement primary residence and completed new construction later that 
year. The value of the completed new construction was $250,000. Subject to all the other conditions and 
requirements of this section, since the full cash value of the new construction ($250,000) plus the full 
cash value of the replacement primary residence on the date of purchase ($500,000) is more than the 
adjusted full cash value of the original primary residence ($735,000 = $700,000 x 1.05), the new base 
year value of the replacement primary residence is $315,000 ($300,000 factored base year value of 
original primary residence plus $15,000, which is the difference between (1) the sum of the full cash 
value of the replacement primary residence ($500,000) plus the full cash value of the new construction 
($250,000), and (2) the adjusted full cash value of the original primary residence ($735,000)). 

(f) MULTIPLE OWNERS. The property tax relief provided by this section shall be available to a claimant 
who is the co-owner of an original primary residence as a joint tenant, a tenant in common, a 
community property owner, or a present beneficiary of a trust subject to the following limitations: 

(1) If a single replacement primary residence is purchased or newly constructed by all of the co-
owners and each co-owner retains an interest in the replacement primary residence, the claimant shall 
be eligible under this section whether or not any or all of the remaining co-owners would otherwise be 
eligible claimants. 

(2) If two or more replacement primary residences are separately purchased or newly constructed 
by two or more co-owners and more than one co-owner would otherwise be an eligible claimant, only 
one co-owner shall be eligible under this section. These co-owners shall determine by mutual 
agreement which one of them shall be deemed eligible. 

(3) If two or more replacement primary residences are separately purchased or newly constructed 
by two co-owners who held the primary residence as community property, and both spouses would 
otherwise be an eligible claimant, only one spouse shall be eligible under this section. They shall 
determine by mutual agreement which one of them is eligible. 

(4) In the case of co-owners whose original primary residence is a unit in a multiunit dwelling, the 
limitations imposed by paragraph (3) of subdivision (f) of this rule shall only apply to co-owners who 
occupied the same primary residence within the multiunit dwelling at the time the dwelling was the 
claimant’s original primary residence. 

(g) MULTIUNIT PROPERTY AND MOBILEHOMES. The property tax relief provided by this section shall be 
available if the claimant's original primary residence or the replacement primary residence, or both, 
includes, but is not limited to, either of the following: 

(1) A unit or lot within a cooperative housing corporation, a community apartment project, a 
condominium project, or a planned unit development. 

(A) If the unit or lot constitutes the original primary residence of the claimant, the assessor shall 
transfer to the claimant's replacement primary residence only the factored base year value of the 
claimant's unit or lot and their share in any common area reserved as an appurtenance of that unit or 
lot. 
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(B) If the unit or lot constitutes the replacement primary residence of the claimant, the assessor 
shall transfer the factored base year value of the claimant's primary residence only to the unit or lot of 
the claimant and their share in any common area reserved as an appurtenance of that unit or lot. 

(2) A manufactured home or a manufactured home and any land owned by the claimant on which 
the manufactured home is situated. 

(A) If the manufactured home or the manufactured home and the land on which it is situated 
constitutes the claimant's original primary residence, the assessor shall transfer to the claimant's 
replacement primary residence either the factored base year value of the manufactured home or the 
factored base year value of the manufactured home and the land on which it is situated, as appropriate. 
If the manufactured home that constitutes the original primary residence of the claimant includes an 
interest in a resident-owned mobilehome park, the assessor shall transfer to the claimant's replacement 
primary residence the factored base year value of the claimant's manufactured home and their pro rata 
portion of the real property of the park. No transfer of factored base year value shall be made by the 
assessor of that portion of land that does not constitute a part of the original primary residence, as 
provided in paragraph (10) of subdivision (c) of this rule. 

(B) If the manufactured home or the manufactured home and the land on which it is situated 
constitutes the claimant's replacement primary residence, the assessor shall transfer the factored base 
year value of the claimant's original primary residence either to the manufactured home or the 
manufactured home and the land on which it is situated, as appropriate. If the manufactured home that 
constitutes the replacement primary residence of the claimant includes an interest in a resident-owned 
mobilehome park, the assessor shall transfer the factored base year value of the claimant's primary 
residence to the manufactured home of the claimant and their pro rata portion of the park. No transfer 
of factored base year value shall be made by the assessor to that portion of land that does not 
constitute a part of the replacement primary residence, as provided in paragraph (10) of subdivision (c) 
of this rule. 

(3) Accessory dwelling units or junior accessory dwelling units. 

(A) Accessory dwelling units or junior accessory dwelling units shall not be considered a separate 
primary residence or a separate replacement primary residence if: 

(i) there is a dwelling unit on the property; 

(ii) the only other units on the real property are accessory dwelling units or junior accessory 
dwelling units; 

(iii) any accessory dwelling units and junior accessory dwelling units are not separately 
alienable from the title of any other dwelling unit on the property; and 

(iv) the claimant occupies one of the structures as their primary residence. 

(B) "Accessory dwelling unit" has the same meaning as defined in subdivision (j)(1) of section 
65852.2 of the Government Code. 
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(C) "Junior accessory dwelling unit" has the same meaning as defined in subdivision (h)(1) of 
section 65852.22 of the Government Code. 
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